We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very clean and tidy, comfortable beds. Very awful breakfast though, small, disgusting write bread and no butter, not enough milk for the coffees...and so on.. Also no dish washing liquid or tea towels available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Marie-Louise
Thank you for your comments about the complimentary light in room breakfast pack (fresh fruit, freshly baked muffin, fruit juice, spreads, premium tea coffee including Moccana and Dilmah, fresh yogurt and a New Zealand made muesli bar). We are one of the few properties in New Zealand that offer complimentary breakfast to all guests. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have. This is something we will address and fix – perhaps there are other options we could look at such as a choice of cereals and milk – none the less, thank you for your feedback – it is something that will help in rectifying the problem for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for VR Auckland City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel is in a great location, once our car was parked we were able to walk everywhere - to the dock, to the cinema, to the skycity casino and restaurants!! Free wifi for an hour per person per night was great as it allowed me to do a bit of research on where i was heading next and loved that you could log out and time would not be lost (so the hour could stretch over 3 or 4 hours).
My husband and I booked a standard room which was basic, a bed, shower, toilet, mini bar fridge... but we were provided with a clean, comfortable room every night due to housekeeping and it was perfect for a few nights stay in the city...where we spent most of our time out and about. I was a little un-easy at first handing over my car keys to the hotel when parking in their facilities, but it was well looked after and very secure behind large floor to ceiling gates. Staff were helpful and available at all hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouieBlue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Jessica
We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great service, Great price, Great location. Its good to hear you can take advantage of our free wifi, please note we are offering 24 hours free wifi, not only 1 hour per day. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is very central, but that also poses a problem if you have a car because parking is at a premium. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. Located next door to police headquarters. Free Wi Fi is excellent quality.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors have less street noise if you want to open a window
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

city Oaks right in the middle of Auckland CBD. Staff were great [ even though we didnt arrive until midnight we were still greeted warmly] Room good size, although carpets could do with an update. so quiet you wouldnt know you were in the central city. continental breakfast brought to the room every day.would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on West side are quieter, although no deck or view, we could see the Sky Tower. also on bottom...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannypHerveyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just 10 minutes walk to the Viaduct, 5 minutes to the CBD, easy access from and to the Motorways and excellent value for money! We have stayed in both a two bedroom apartment with the family and a studio as a couple, both were very nice.

Room Tip: High floor at the back of the building for a quiet night!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Peter G
I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The front entrance is a bit depressing. Reception staff surprisingly cheerful and helpful despite their surroundings. We had booked a two bed apartment for the price of a one bed so were able to use the second bedroom for luggage as the bedrooms are quite small. The apartment was well equipped and clean although the showerroom could have done with a deep clean and redecoration. We were not affected by the police sirens as others have been. Only a five minute walk to the main street and public transport. The city loop buses take you to all the main attractions and are excellent value. The breakfast is repetitive. Five days of bananas and sponge cake was a bit much. Some variation would have been welcome. But for a major city $160 represented good value

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is very well equipped with washing machine, dryer, and all the cooking facilities you could need. The room is not especially spacious - bedroom cramped and we had nowhere to put luggage.
Reception staff friendly and helpful. Cleaning was fine, although 1 day was a holiday so the room wasn't serviced at all.
The hotel is centrally located so the city centre and all it's facilities are only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabingates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear sabingates
Thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our friendly staff, in room facilities and great location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £68 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing