We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have spent the last 14 days travelling around nz and this is by far the worst place we've stayed. It's in a seedy location, it's next door to social services and a homeless shelter. The hotel itself is drab and run down. Our room was drab. Breakfast was a joke, who eats cake for breakfast. The washing machine took 3 hours and my washing was wet in the dryer setting. The was no forks so we had to ask for some. The spoons were dirty, one had caked on food on it. We didn't even have a kettle, what kind of kitchen is that. Bed hard and uncomfortable and a fan or something was on all night somewhere above us in the roof so bad sleep.

Would never stay here again, go down to the vr on queen street. It's cheaper, new, has a good breakfast and is nice.

Room Tip: Goto the vr on queen st.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Michelle C
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch.There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. However, I am glad to hear you had a great stay in our sister property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for VR Auckland City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I liked this hotel. Only stayed 2 nights, had a bottle of red waiting in our room on arrival and some snacks for breaky delivered the nights before. I think the value for money was pretty good for the room size and location. Staff service was really good too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cootea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest
We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great staff, Great price, Great location. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I went here last June. Spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment is complete with almost everything even laundry and good view of the city. The room is cleaned everyday and breakfast sent to room. Internet was ok. Parking must be pre booked so as to avoid disappointment due to limited space. Service is good too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Adli S,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel to stay in. Nice and warm welcome. Friendly staffs, especially the night duty guys. Quick and good response. Simple and elegant breakfast. Enjoyed the business class stay. Hassle free environment. Easy access to city center. On the whole it's a nice place to stay in. Would surely recommend and also come again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Suresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Suresh K
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. Thank you especially for your kind comments on our staff, breakfast and location. I have passed your kind comments on to the team regarding their service so thank you for sharing this with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location is close to Sky Tower and shopping area - Queens Street. Great staffs working in the hotel who are willing to help with any information you need. Lovely rooms, free wifi and breakfast. Would come back again and tell my friends to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiGal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Valued guest
Thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our helpful staff and central location. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel. Thank you and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our 2 bedroom room was very small but had all the facilities were were after. A small kitchenette was very basic but we didn't need to use it anyway. There was not enough couch space for the 4 of us.

I had requested 2 single beds in the second bedroom which I was very pleased to get but there wasn't quite enough room to walk either side of the beds.

The breakfast provided was not our favourite but it was a start to the day. It consisted of a piece of cake, yogurt tub, a banana and a muesli bar.

Be prepared for an uphill walk from downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megsmel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I spent four days here. The location is great for downtown Auckland. The rates and cleanliness are ok. But the internet is dreadful. You are given a limited use username and password that you must constantly re-enter (it prevents saving). The speeds only support text email and simple browsing. The internet in the entire hotel failed not less than THREE times during my four day stay and was out for several hours. To top it off, there is a fiber optic internet connection running right under this building. Why they decided instead to contract out to some awful vendor I'll never know. I was unable to keep in touch with my overseas offices from this hotel and therefore cannot recommend it to any business travelers. Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew_Heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Valued guest
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you suffered as a result of the issues you experienced with our internet service. I understand how frustrating this would have been for you. We have recently updated all of our hardware, having the latest technology installed throughout the building. Technology is an area of our service that we continually focus on enhancing therefore we take your feedback very seriously. I am following up with our team to ensure that we are providing our guests with immediate support should technological issues arise. I am very sorry that your stay was marred in this way and I can assure you that the service issues you experienced will be investigated. Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback and I do hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 67 in Auckland Central
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 67 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 67 in Auckland Central
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £69 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing