We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VR Auckland City
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Parnell Pines Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$178
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tudor Court Motor Lodge(Auckland Central)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
US$135
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$170
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$190
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$92
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$54
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveller rating
248
443
298
108
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
443
298
108
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinesky towerhobson streettwo bedroom apartmentcomplimentary breakfastself containedqueen streetauckland citycooking facilitiesfull kitchenoakswasherkitchenetteovenharbourstovelaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved the fact the fact the it was close and reasonable walking distance to the main attractions in Central Auckland. Two bedroom apartment was lovely, washing facilities was Great, shame about the room service . Had to enquire after a week if the apartment was vacuumed and how often. Told every other day, but still no evidence of this happening. Kitchen and bathroom flooring was never cleaned. Traveling companion tested this by dripping tea on the floor. The stain where still there after 16 days of staying there. Fridge needed defrosting and there where times when no washing up cloth was left for our use.
One occasions came back to find dirty towels still on a pile on my bedroom floor. Clean towels just left on bed as usual. So this is room service!
Breakfast was unsatisfactory, A box of cake slices or muffin, yoghurt, banana, fruit juice and cereal bar was not doing it for us. Would of enjoyed a continental breakfast in its true form.
Free view/ sky TV two main movie channels was out for over four days. Told someone was looking into it on the roof. Internet data allowance only offered if you asked for it. Told this after day one allowance stop working on day three. When we enquires as to why it was no longer working. Felt the staff could of been more forthcoming with information. If you didn't ask you where left in the wilderness.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the corridor on each floor are less likely to experience the noise of the A/C system.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaqueline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper to follow up. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Rooms were clean enough, though towels were grey and not white. Apartment was way to small, 2 bedrooms with no room for luggage or even enough seating for 4 people. Breakfast wasn't great, slices of cake, which were stale by morning, cheap cans of lemon iced tea made in Malaysia - I think it was lemon iced tea there wasn't alot of english writing on it, yoghurt and bananas. Wine was good but unfortunately not delivered until between 6 and 8pm so not good if you want a drink before going out for tea.
Wind whistled through apartment really loudly all night long, which made for a wakeful night.
Our room looked out on the back of the Auckland Central Police Station yard, so not the best view.
Basically you get what you pay for, and this is a reasonable price for Central Auckland. Whilst it wasn't bad it wasn't great either and there are plenty of better hotels around.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Proximity to city and amenities
Clean and functional rooms - serviced every day though too small (see below)
Free wifi
Helpful staff
Working kitchenette.

Cons :
Rooms are two small - we stayed in two bedroom apartment but did not have space to put suitcase in either room. Daughter had hardly any room to walk/run. Not enough sofa to seat four people in a two bed flat.
Breakfast quality can be much better. A prepacked Sandwich instead of a cake would probably be my preference. (its not impossible with today's technology to ask this as an option to the guest himself)
Parking for guests is atrocious at $25 a night and requires pre booking. We ended up parking on the street outside and ensured we put in the ticket from 8am onwards.
Close to the mission but that's hardly the hotels fault. We walked in the other side of the street to avoid it.

Would I recommend it?
No: if your expectations are to high.
Yes: if you are ok with the cons above

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Ankeet0156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As said in previous posts this motel is in a terrible location. Right near a mission so the people hanging around when you return at night at very shady. Unfortunately we weren't familiar with Auckland so this was trial and error for us. It is on a noisy road too. We were on level 1 at the front of the motel. We had 3 incredibly bright lights shining directly into our room- it was like day light in our room when we were trying to sleep. Luckily we were exhausted from travelling and slept ok.
We were in a one bedroom 'apartment' which was absolutely tiny. We had no one to put our suitcases. The 'breakfast' was not good and staff were just meh- did not look interested in being there or helping. Thankfully after 2 nights we moved onto Queenstown which was fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room at the back of the motel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, it's a terrible experience that ever had, inconvenient, staff is not helpful and impolite. Room size is horrible and next to the main road, very noisy. Agree with Michelle C, next door to social services and a homeless shelter when go back late, it's quite scary. It mentioned "continental breakfast" but it's just kidding us - cake and cookies.....damn it!!! No slippers, no tooth brush, no toothpaste! The only thing is good - free wifi but with limited usage!! What a bad choice this time!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor is more quiet and privacy!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jackielababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Jackielababy
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
As you have rightly mentioned, Auckland City Mission is a government organisation that is located 500 meters away from us close to Auckland Sky Tower - we have no control on where the City Mission is located and instead encourage the Mission that is in place by the government by donating items weekly instead of shying away from the organization in which we have no control over. We do not see the Mission as a problem as it is over 5 minutes walk away from us and we have no instances thus far during the properties life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews