We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend stay”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had a lovely time staying in this well serviced place and had an lovely family time.The staff were pleasant and well mannered and we were very happy with the overall services.Would definitely recommend for stay here as all city attractions and facilities are very close and so also are all restaurants and entertainments.The rooms are very neat and all facilities available at hand.

We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prassh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for VR Auckland City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Home away from home. The service was impeccable, the room was outstanding.

I found the room's to be extremely clean, spacious and welcoming and the staff does a superb job at keeping the rooms clean and tidy. The overall experience was complete perfection. All the staff were so polite, friendly and helpful.

It was a very pleasant experience, Highly recommended and we will definitely come back to this hotel the next time.

Room Tip: Higher floors
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jasie11801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed the stay very much.

The room was quiet, very comfortable and with a nice view.
We booked a studio suite, which had it's own, small, kitchen with fridge and a washing machine/dryer.

We used the stay to plan the trip in New Zealand and went daily to the city center.
This is quite a walk, but that's usual if you visit a city for vacation that's usual to walk, isn't it?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Markus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great value for central auckland, staff were very friendly and helpful and rooms were clean and tidy. The maintenance however is well overdue, in our bathroom alone, the plug broke and was stuck down so couldn't use the basin for 2 days, the toilet seat almost slid off when you sat on it, the door handle is about to fall off and the shower door was missing a piece of the handle! Despite advertising every room having washing machine and drier, ours only had a washing machine. The continental breakfast was....interesting, fruit, yoghurt, muesli bar great, but dried up slice of cake in a box and fizzy coffee.... Not something I feed my children for breakfast....ever! But for all that, it was a great place to stay. Extremely quiet, the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. No street noise at all, didn't even notice the storm over Auckland at the time, comfortable beds, quite small apartments but fine if you aren't there much. Next time I would book a room with a balcony though as they seem a little bigger. Believe it or not I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room! And take your own breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hambill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

As mentioned by others the breakfast was a joke!! I agree who eats cake and drinks cans of iced tea for breakfast!?! I have 3 chefs in my family and when i asked them what a continental Breakfast was they said that it sure as hell wasn't what the hotel gave us!! The fact that there was myself hubby and our 6 year old..they only gave us 2 lots of their so called "Continental Breakfast" so they didn't even cater for all of us!! The washing machine took us 4 hours to wash our clothes and it turned our clothes grey/blue and i only put whites in the machine!! Not impressed by that!! The night we were there was the night NZ had those horrid strong winds and being on the 8th floor we could feel the whole unit rock constantly all night...We found the room service staff useless because they couldn't understand nor speak english so forget even attempting to communicate with them..and the staff were less than helpful not even an apology for stuffing up our"Continental breakfast" ..Don't waste your time with this hotel guy's if you do you're only setting yourself up for disappointment and a waste of money..i would however highly recommend the Auckland Harbour Oaks they are FANTASTIC!! Beautiful Hotel and staff were very friendly and caring and the view,,WOW!! Breathtaking

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Lisa
Thank you for your comments about the complimentary light in room breakfast pack (fresh fruit, freshly baked muffin, fruit juice, spreads, premium tea coffee including Moccana and Dilmah, fresh yogurt and a New Zealand made muesli bar). We are one of the few properties in New Zealand that offer complimentary breakfast to all guests. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have. This is something we will address and fix – perhaps there are other options we could look at such as a choice of cereals and milk – none the less, thank you for your feedback – it is something that will help in rectifying the problem for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Whenever we travel to Auckland we will be sure to stay in this centrally located, well equipped apartment-like hotel. There is a little balcony off a central living area, where you can sit at the end of the day and watch the sunset over the city. Underground parking garage, easy to stay here with your rental car, when you are flying out the next day. In the thick of the city, yet an easy commute to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ellenrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear ellenrh
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved the fact the fact the it was close and reasonable walking distance to the main attractions in Central Auckland. Two bedroom apartment was lovely, washing facilities was Great, shame about the room service . Had to enquire after a week if the apartment was vacuumed and how often. Told every other day, but still no evidence of this happening. Kitchen and bathroom flooring was never cleaned. Traveling companion tested this by dripping tea on the floor. The stain where still there after 16 days of staying there. Fridge needed defrosting and there where times when no washing up cloth was left for our use.
One occasions came back to find dirty towels still on a pile on my bedroom floor. Clean towels just left on bed as usual. So this is room service!
Breakfast was unsatisfactory, A box of cake slices or muffin, yoghurt, banana, fruit juice and cereal bar was not doing it for us. Would of enjoyed a continental breakfast in its true form.
Free view/ sky TV two main movie channels was out for over four days. Told someone was looking into it on the roof. Internet data allowance only offered if you asked for it. Told this after day one allowance stop working on day three. When we enquires as to why it was no longer working. Felt the staff could of been more forthcoming with information. If you didn't ask you where left in the wilderness.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the corridor on each floor are less likely to experience the noise of the A...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaqueline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper to follow up. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 67 in Auckland Central
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 67 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 67 in Auckland Central
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £69 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing