We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to lots of things”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We stayed at the Auckland City Oaks Hotel for 3 nights during mid November. The building was very secure. Only those with keys can even get past the front desk. The rooms were very nice, clean, and modern. They included a washer/dryer, stove top, dishwasher, and while we were there they got new flat screen TVs. It was truly nice, after 9 days in Fiji, to have a place to wash our clothes properly. I had planned to just wash them in the sink, but was pleasantly surprised to find the washer/dryer.

The hotel is only about 3 blocks away from the Sky Tower. It is also only a few blocks away from Queen Street, where we found many of the shopping and eating establishments. With only a few minute walk we found ourselves on Quay Street and in Viaduct Harbour.

We plan to find similar hotels in the future on our other trips around the world. Really a great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdawg40sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

This hotel is centrally located. Being 4 and 1/2 star self rated, the room and furnitures are relatively new. However the air conditioner makes loud noise but does not deliver cool air. We called the service desk who advised us to wait until morning for someone to have a look. That same night I was awake sweating all over, learnt that the air conditioning was fully stopped due to a power failure. The staff was not very helpful in providing good solution.

We found the kettle was leaking and was told that it was not possible to change another one, the staff says 'I will check other rooms to see if there are any ones I can swap with your room", but never turned up.

Me any my partner believe they are way, way far from the claimed 4 1/2 star. The service was extremely unsatisfying.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Was only here for a night but that was more than enough. The 2 bedroom room was tiny, the couch uncomfortable and the TV an old CRT.

The view was of the Police carpark, but even with the windows open I wasn't bothered by it at all.

Was provided a continental 'breakfast' and tea/coffee etc were also available. There was use of free internet in the lobby and left luggage facilities (in someones office) were available too.

For the price I paid it was fine, but any longer than 1 night and I'd stay elsewhere, and I wouldn't go out at night on foot, didn't know at the time but its in a pretty seedy looking area of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nix_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Checked in to a double room apartment, although we'd booked for a studio apartment.

This place is great, with all facilities properly maintained. It is just a short walk between 5 to 15 mins to Queen St, SkyCity & Viaduct Harbour. If you have a car, it is just a short 10 mins drive to Parnell & Newmarket.

Washing machine with built-in dryer is provided, suitable for those who visit NZ for a long period of time to get their laundry done, even just a night stay there. Parking is provided as part of the package we got, so we would say it is definately value for money!. Convenience store is just around the corner (if you wish to cook some simple meal) and plenty of takeaway from the hotel to Queen St as an added bonus!

Read a few review citing it is noisy, I beg to differ. Our room were quiet and it is comfortable. The only drawback is the TV is tiny (Wifey like to stay in night time for some tv time) compare to other Service Apartment I'd stayed in NZ (iStay and Auckland City Hotel).

Do message me if you have any question. I will be happy to help in any way I could.

Cheers,
HK

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimHongKiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Certainly cheap. Common areas dirty. Very noisy with a lot of traffic along Hobson Street, police cars coming and going all night from the police station next door, and very noisy partying foreign students who seem to live there and attend the nearby English language schools. Reception staff seem to have had little customer service training and had no idea what to do about my complaint about the noisy residents. Mostly they just said "sorry" and shrugged their shoulders. On the plus side the apartment has a separate bedroom, a basic but functional kitchen, and a washer/dryer that worked well but took hours to finish a wash cycle. Shower pretty small and basic. Reasonably short walk to town centre and convention centre where I was on most days but had to walk through a fairly seedy part of town to get there, including a homeless persons centre which is on the next block. I found Gold's Gym which is about 10 minutes walk away. One of the best real muscle gyms I have ever been to, and very popular with the locals, with some of the biggest guys I have ever seen. Probably good value for the low price, but I would stay in more comfortable and quiet digs next time in Auckland.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighton33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

If you are looking for a clean place, a good value and good location be sure to stay here. The staff is very accomodating and will help you with all of your questions. Free internet in the lobby. Continental breakfast in the mini fridge in the room. Washer/Dryer. Small kitchen with dishes/silverware, toaster etc...There is a bus to and from the airport that drops you off just blocks from the hotel. There are also city buses that makes getting around the city quite easy. Take the hop on hop off bus for a tour of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jllang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

our accommodation was rooomy, self contained 2 bedroom apartment with a balcony, clean and friendly staff. we stayed here twice when we were in new zealand. 5 days and then 3 nights before flying back to australia. a very strange loud noise between our bedrooms that kept as awake all night. the receptionist was notified and aware that there's a noise in rooms 802 and 502 but did nothing to it. they said it's the first time anybody complained about the noise in room 502. anyway, over all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilipinasMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
998 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
976 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £75 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing