We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money large rooms continenatal breakfast provided in your room”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Most of Auckland is hilly this is a short walk down to the Viaduct 10 mins downhill uphill all the way back as is most of Auckland not far from the Casino 2 blocks. I would stay again didnt really have much to do with the staff. If you book early you will get a balconcy suite parking $20 a night and you can park before you book in on the day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travaler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience of Auckland City Oaks with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

I am glad you have advised others to get a balcony room early and book a car park space. This seems to be a trend among travellers, you are right indeed, booking a car park is essential to avoid dissapointment.

The team and I look forward to your return in the not so distant future.

With kind regards

Udai Sarin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2011

This Hotel has the best staff evert, when we arrived we had quit a lot of problems, but where helped in a way that was much more then you could demand! Good location and clean, good choise!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasbult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for the fantastic review of Auckland City Oaks.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that both the hotel and staff contributed to your memorable experience.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back so that we can provide you with the exceptional service that we are renowned for.

Please do let me know if I can be any assistance.

Kind regards

Udai Sarin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Great location, great hotel, great value for money. Separate bedroom with very comfortable bed, well-equipped kitchen, washer&dryer and your own balcony. THE TOWER is 5 minuted walk from hotel's door. There is a computer in the lobby for hotel guests (free of charge), also a wireless in every apartment. The staff are very helpful.
IMPORTANT: when making reservations, you have to make arrangements for a parking space!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie33753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience of Auckland City Oaks with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly. I want to assure you that I have communicated your praise with the team. They are pleased that they were able to contribute to your enjoyement.

The team and I look forward to your return in the not so distant future.

With kind regards

Udai Sarin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment, each with 2 queen beds. The unit has a bathroom with a shower & a washing machine, a kitchenette, a living area with TV & sofa (but a bit old), and a dining table with chairs. Breakfast was served as continental (some breads with jam & butter, and milk & juice). It is a compact unit, but modern, and pretty comfortable for my group. Bedrooms were nice and comfy. I got a good deal from wotif.com for 2 nights stay.
Parking area is limited and expensive due to small basement space.
Overall we enjoy our stay here because the location is in the city and very close to Skytower.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FutureBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Other than good location and OK rooms there is nothing good to talk about this hotel. Imagine getting your car towed by the hotel where you are staying! The warning sign was hidden behind tree branches. They did not even have the courtesy to say sorry or compensate. We had to shell out $225. They did not even enquire if we had car during check-in. They were adamant that it was not their fault, but said they will show the sign clearly and cut down the branches only after we pointed it out. The housekeeping staff mostly part time students were not professionals and did not clean the rooms (Leaving the bread crumbs on the dining table, not making the bed, not vaccuming and sweeping the floor, sink not cleaned, etc.). When brought to their attention, they were argumentative. Really horrible experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank utheking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I travel to Aucklandf every 2 months for business and every time I go I stay at The Auckland City Oaks.

The rooms are so cheap if booked through Expedia, and they are brand new, everything is stylish and the service is always good.

They give you a great continental make your own breakfast and a huge juice every morning..... the hotel has good parking yet it's sometimes hard to manouvre your car in and out of the garage.

The internet is always fast in the rooms, and so close to the Viaduct and main areas of business in Auckland.

I definitely recommend this hotel for business.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miapeders83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

it is conveniently located in the CBD even though not directly in the live area.
the rooms are well equipped with modern style. there is also a kitchen for being more independent. it is not a hotel, but serviced apartments so no breakfast room or restaurant (they give you a few things for breakfast in the fridge only, for the rest you need eat out or buy your food and keep it in your fridge).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raffore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
972 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £79 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing