We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could need from travellers accommodation, and cheap!”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Centrally located, well designed, and everything is provided inc dishwasher and washing machine - even detergent! Perfect for a city escape if you are on a budget but still want a clean fresh modern 'pad'

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagephx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for VR Auckland City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

I appreciated the fact that the room had a kitchenette, which was convenient and saved me from eating out each day. The room was comfortable but not extraordinary. The bathroom lacked sufficient lighting, and there was very little space for storage of clothing and other items. The location was within walking distance of city center, but having a homeless shelter just down the street made me slightly uneasy. Nonetheless, the hotel was worth its price and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jms1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Booked and paid for our room in advance, went to the hotel around midday to drop off our car and leave our bags, before heading out for my hens party. Returned at about 9pm only to be told that there was a “computer glitch” and they didn’t have a room for us.

They told us they had a room for us at a different hotel, to say I was angry was an understatement! I said they would have to pay for a taxi to get us there and back in the morning to get our car, the very rude and unconcerned staff member said “yes yes I call taxi, you don’t have to pay” well just as we are getting into the taxi we confirmed that the hotel had made arrangements for the taxi to be paid, only to be told that no nothing had been arranged. I guess he was hoping we that we wouldn’t find this out until we got to where we were going.

They knew when we left our car that they didn’t have a room, and they managed to drop off our “breakfast” which consisted of some very stale cereal and pieces of bread in a glad bag to the other hotel but they never told us nor did they take our bags down! They could have tried to call us at any point during that day but they didn’t bother! I am so disgusted that Auckland City Oaks can treat us this way and almost ruin my hens party!

Do yourself a favour and don’t waste your time with this joke of a hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Amy_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

It was a well appointed apartment, having everything you needed for your comfort and leisure. Quiet rooms, plenty of room to move, clean and serviced daily. Staff went out of their way to please. Overall a great experience and would definitely stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerronious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

A group of four booked for a pre-wedding hen/stag do, we reqested a slightly earlier check-in of 11.45-12 noon, flatly refused, told by a very surly receptionist we could not get in until the advised time. In fact, according to her, not one room was available??? all dirty at this time of day considering the cleaners are on duty early. On arrival, the hotel computer was not even working, we were told we could have a car park but we need to pay $20 now. We requested two door access cards as male/female guests going to different events and returning at different times, there was no way she was giving us two cards. Another group of four attending same event, were also trying to book in, told come back later at night, when this group did get back to the hotel at 8pm, having booked and paid through Wotif, there was no room available for them, the hotel had overlooked their booking. Their credit card had the money taken from it. Couldn't of cared at all, the four young girls were devastated, the hotel had booked at another hotel, and hotel staff rushed their continental breakfast around to the other hotel (so they knew very well they hadn't made the booking), we demanded they pay the the taxi for these young girls to get to the other hotel.

At 9.10am the next morning, there was a knock on the door, staff asking when we were leaving?? we saw the cleaners were waiting down the hallway.

The female receptionist was the rudest and most unobliging hotel staff member, the night time male staff members were just about as bad. Perhaps you are all trained to be that way.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Auckland City Oaks, we always appreciate constructive feedback.

Please be aware of the following:

1) At Auckland City Oaks we are always happy to give guests early check in-s where possible, our staff are always the first ones to help.

2) We had a computer glitch on the day of your arrival which caused some problems during your check in. We have taken the steps needed to have this rectified. I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I appreciate your comments about our staff, we regularly conduct staff training sessions and the issues identified by yourself will be mentioned and acted upon.

Please contact me on sales@aucklandcityoaks.co.nz if I can be off any further assistance.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

It is easy to find and get to. The facilities are top notch. Staff are wonderful and helpful. The hotel is lovely and the prices are really generous for what you get. It's within walking distance of sky tower and everything is a short drive, walk or bus trip away. Would stay there over and over again and i would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice comfortable hotel that isn't overly expensive. Look forward to staying withyou guys next time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xJosiax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear about your great stay with us.

I am grateful that the effort put in by both staff and management is paying off with great comments / stays like yours that are posted on Trip Advisor.

We literally have 1000's of positive feedback forms from guests who say there is no better place in Auckland that is better value for money, we totally agree.

We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Booked online as it got decent reviews and was cheap enough to be in our price range. Asked for a higher floor, which we got. Checked in (which was painless) and headed to our 1-bedroom apt. on the 7th floor. The room was really clean and organized well. Even better was the balcony, which was a bit of an unexpected surprise. The views over the city were very nice and the room was quiet even with the busy Hobson St. below (possibly because of the high floor). Really nice breakfast provided every morning, with toast and jam, cereal, milk, and a large bottle of tasty juice. Didn't buy breakfast once in Auckland! Location was great; walking distance to Queen St. shopping, the waterfront/ferries, Albert Park, SkyCity tower/casino, and a airport shuttle stop. Hotel was kind enough to let us store our bags for the day after we checked out since our flight wasn't until 7pm. Got a rental car one night, parking was a bit expensive and is very limited, but if you get in early, it's fine. We got the car in by about 5pm and had no problems. Honestly, our only real issue was the complete lack of real grocery stores nearby (we never did find one), which, unfortunately, made the kitchenette a bit useless. Otherwise, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboJJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for the fantastic review of Auckland City Oaks in Auckland.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that both the hotel being value for money and great housekeeping contributed to your memorable experience.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back so that we can provide you with the exceptional service that we are renowned for.

Please do let me know if I can be any assistance.

Kind regards

Udai Sarin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £68 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing