We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 30 January 2012

One night stopover in Auckland after flying from Europe. Checkin staff very helpful, room extremely comfortable after a long haul flight! Comfortable bed, clean shower room. Was a surprise to have a small kitchenette with fridge in room. Very near the sky-tower (5min walk) and not too far from the Viaduct area either. If we were in Auckland any longer I would have happily have stayed here! We had a room on level 5 so no view and the balcony was compact but that's what you expect in a city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here in the week before Christmas, 2 adults and 2 teenagers in a 2 bed apartment.

We had booked for 1 double and 2 twins, however the room was made up as 2 doubles, not a good start but housekeeping did come and split the double bed in the main bedroom. It had to be that be that was split as the other double was crammed into the corner of the main living area with very little space around it. In theory there were doors that would close it off from the main room, however I am not sure they closed and if the did it would have been like sleeping in a dark cupboard without any natural light. The only closet space was in the main bedroom, it was about 2 foot wide and had 4 hangers, 1 each I guess.

Also in the room was a small living area with 1 TV, a broken sofa which you just sunk deep into if you tried to sit in it, 2 plastic chairs and a desk. Really not enough for 4 people.

The bathroom was tiny with no shelf space at all, just a sink, toilet and a small shower cubicle.

The only car parking was Valet and this was expensive.

On a positive note there was 1 free internet access code per room and it was close to Albert Park.

There must be much better value properties in Auckland.

There was a kitchen and the only positive was the washer/dryer.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear CB23,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I note by your review that you have booked one of our last 2 bedrooms that are going through a refurbishment. The Quadrant Hotel is in the last stages of completing a major upgrade of our rooms.

I appreciate your comments about our 2 bedroom being smaller than average. This interests me as our 2 bedrooms are actually 70 square meters in size which are bigger than average for an Auckland Apartment. I understand this may have not been up to the sizes you are used to and hope on your next visit to Auckland you find a place that is more suitable to your needs.

Take care and safe travels back to the UK.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

staying @TheQuadrant was the worst experience ever.
first of all, you need to be careful (if you are forced to stay here) from being cheated to stay at the quadrant apartments, rather than the hotel.
First of all i was ripped by paying the full rate of the hotel's price but when arriving after a 36hours journey from europe on the new years day, i didn't have much energy to argue or debate what i was offered, and the apartments were a nightmare.
It was basically just furniture, without even a soap to wash or even a bed cover to sleep on the beds.

The service was miserable, after i had to call the manager who booked for me, as no one from the available staff was able to even provide me with the needs to stay the night, the house keeping came and threw few bed cover and pillows and a small soap.

the toilets was almost like in an airplane.
i wouldn't even rate it a 2 star hotel, i have no idea where the hack is the NZ travel ministry from them.

it more like a backpackers place to stay for a night or two max.

but honestly, the sea view was amazing, it was more like staying in a rubbish bin on top of a building facing the harbor.

furthermore, i agreed with the manager that i will be leaving as soon as i find a better place within the upcoming hours, he volunteered to refund me the full amount, i agreed with him instead that i pay the nights which i will stay for. I stayed for less than 40 hours and agreed that he will deduct the 2 nights only and refund the rest, he said that he will need his manager's approval, they dragged for a week, and deducted the full one week that i had to pay upfront and ripping me again in a different way.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SabahAlKubaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear Sabah,

Thank you for your review. I note this review has been posted to the wrong property. The Quadrant Hotel Auckland is a full service Hotel and not a residential complex that you have booked and therefore had a service standards for.

I have contacted TripAdvisor and asked them to remove the review as it does not show a true reflection on the property.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights in Executive One Bedroom Apartment, the first thing we noticed was that this isn't so clean. Stains everywhere.

The room seems a bit refurbished, but still kind of worn. The cleaners did not do a good job. I'm not usually one of those guys who search for stains and dust, but in this hotel you can find them without searching. Ok, I got to mention that one major stain for couch was removed after one night. But, still we didn't sit one second on that couch.

Room is spacious, though.

The free Internet connection is so slow that it's really unusable.

It seems to be a CBD location, but for example a short trip from ferry station takes 15 minutes to walk because of the hills.

I received good and bad service from the desk, so I can't decide is this good or not.

I'm sure you will find better hotels in CBD.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommypee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Tommy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property.

I appreciate your concerns about the housekeeping and your feedback will be used to conduct further training with our team.

I can assure you that our photos are 100% actual rooms with no miss-representation via photography. I believe it was the cleanliness that you are most disappointed in. I can assure you that your concerns have been addressed.

You will be glad to know that we have just installed super fast fiber optic internet in our building as of 31 January 2012 and as a result on your next visit with us I can assure you the complimentary WIFI will be more to your liking.

Take care and safe travels.

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We spent 3 nights in a studio suite, which is the smallest accommodation. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever had (and we are picky!) Ours was queen-sized, and the mattress was a medium firmness that had some sort of foam topping that conformed to your shape. Linens and pillows were also nice.

The studio suite was essentially a standard hotel room with a kitchenette. The kitchenette was adequately stocked, and it was nice to have a small dishwasher as well. The bathroom was tiny--unnecessarily so since there was some wasted space in the room.

The room was nicely decorated in a contemporary style, but the furnishings were definitely in the "style over function" category. There was one small closet, but otherwise no storage, which is poor design for a place that is geared to longer-term stays. The nightstands were these small solid wooden cylinders that looked like tree trunks. Would have liked a drawer or shelf. The flat-screen TV was mounted on the wall, with a small table below it--enough to hold the remote and a magazine or two. No bureau, shelving, etc, which was a shame because there was plenty of space. Small table and 2 chairs by kitchenette, which was fine.

The hotel is in a quiet area across from a park and the Univ. of Auckland. There are not a lot of restaurants, shops etc. in the immediate area, but the CBD is about a 5-10 min walk (down a fairly steep hill).

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have nice views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We read a lot of reviews of this hotel and booked on the strength of these, we then saw some negative reviews about the place which did worry us a little.

The location is perfect and the very friendly and helpfulness of the reception was refreshing. After arriving into Auckland at 7am, taking the shuttle to the hotel it was nice to be greeted, checked in and advise when the room was available. The receptionist then spent time showing us a map of the city, advising where to go and eat and local attractions. As a traveller it is really nice to get this kind of attention.

The room was a one bed executive, with living room and kitchen, which is very spacious and a very comfortable bed. The downsides are very minor, but ultimately add or detract from the experience and here we have some very minor items, frayed carpets, loose toilet seat and a blown light bulb, nowhere near enough to detract from the overall experience.

All told a very pleasant experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel has a great location and good pricing however as many of the rooms are ex student apartments being converted over to hotel rooms sometimes the room doenst meet expectations.

Ours had no air conditioning, a fridge that didnt work and that had defrosted stinky water onto the kitchen floor, a washing machine that was different to the one detailed in the room instructions so was a frustrating curse inducing learning excercise and also had a broken door, missing light bulbs etc. Staff were really helpful in trying to move us to another room but couldnt and there was nothing done about the other issues. Breakfast is not included although they said it was and come check out - no discount on the bill for all their issues.

Hard to recommend this place really.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property.

I appreciate your concerns about the rooms, However: I am unsure where you had the feeling that The Quadrant Hotel Auckland was ex student accommodation? Since its opening in 2006 the property has been a corporate and leisure hotel.

On a positive note I am glad that our staff were great and looked after you.

You will be glad to know that we have just completed a major upgrade to the property and I am afraid your room must have been one of the last to have finished. Air-Con, new carpeting, paint, tiles, flat screen TVs have just been added. Hopefully on your next visit to us the property will meet the expectations you had on the first visit.

Please email me on udai@vrgroup.co.nz when you are next in Auckland and I will be happy to ensure you are looked after.

Take care and safe travels.

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
952 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
749 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,017 reviews
0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#17 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £86 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing