We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wannabe that will never be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wannabe that will never be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

What a disappointment. After staying at great hotels in Sydney and Cairns, we arrived in Auckland for a couple nights stay at the Quadrant. When you walk in- you get a sense of a trendy, upscale hotel that hires a lot of very young people and caters to a very young crowd. That is until you take the elevator to your room. If you are on the 7th, 8th and possibly 9th floors in an even number room-- your view is the trash bins and noisy trash compactor that is used early in the morning. No worries because the balcony didn't have a table or chairs to sit outside anyway. The room itself is nice--- looks like they took an outdated hotel and tried to retrofit with cheap veneered furniture but it was comfortable and had a fridge, microwave and even a dishwasher. I should point out that we had a studio that was actually smaller than many standard sized rooms and that there is NO air conditioner or heater! The bathroom was very small and the shower has no light so it's kind of dark but you were still able to see the ample mold growing inside. Location is so- so. Wi-fi, while free is super slow.
Bottom line- I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkd-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear PuertoGal,

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you took the time to write a review based on your experience.

I note that you were in a non-refurbished room on the 7th floor, you will be glad to know that we have completed the 7th floor and the 6th floor is the last floor left as a part of our renovation.

I hope you will consider The Quadrant upon your next visit, our new rooms will certainly be more up to your liking.

Please contact me on: udai@vrgroup.co.nz- I would be happy to help.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    449
    238
    139
    86
See reviews for
147
512
137
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Spent 3 nights here for vacation, live the design of building and courtesy and helpfulness if all the staff. Easy walk to Queen Street and ferry building. Free waher-dryer in unit saved some $ (didn't figure out his to get clothes 100% dry in the machine but they finished air drying OK).
Cons, it is top a steep hill, wifi is really weak.
Nevertheless consider this (get 1 bedroom for only a little more $)and go to all sites for best price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calJCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Good location for a hotel to discover the city but the room (and certainly the bathroom) itself was too small. Free wifi internet was very much appreciated. Great disadvantage: no airco in the room which led to one sleepless night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Tim,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I note by your review that you have booked one of our last rooms that are going through a refurbishment. The Quadrant Hotel is in the last stages of completing a major upgrade of our rooms where air-conditioning, new carpets, paid etc are being finished as well as the public areas.

Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future - we will have air-con in all rooms shortly!

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed three nights. Room very clean, large, with kitchenette. Just a few blocks from great restaurants, wharf area and reliable bus service. Would definitely recommend for a stay in Auckland city.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MingymooBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Only stayed here one night before travelling north but this hotel was very good and very close to Queen Street....just a 10 min walk. Extremely comfortable and clean which is all one needs really. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieAnn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom while over-nighting. Very small rooms and bathrooms but good value - Pullman is next door so options are there - free wireless which is a huge bonus. Nice towles and bed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyButFair100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I travel a lot and needed a hotel near Vector Arena. Found this one. thought I was booking through the hotel website but it was a broker (Centralr). I selected the executive one bedroom. Upon arrival, they gave me a tiny one bedroom, did not say the room had been changed. When I called in the morning to say, you gave me the wrong room the manager (Harry) said sorry nothing we can do you booked through a broker. To make a long story short, I had to argue with multiple people at the front desk that it is simply wrong that I pay for the a room I was not given. They were rude and arrogant. It was an awful experience. and too boot, even the tiny room had outdated decor and a bathroom is like a small closet.

Room Tip: Make sure you book through the hotels website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1monkeymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBOQ, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Monkey Mam,

Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate honest feedback as it helps us as a property to improve.

I note from checking your booking that you were in fact refunded the difference of the room you booked and the room you were moved in to, further my Duty Manager Harry also provided you with a complimentary buffet breakfast in our restaurant due to your inconvenience. I am glad Harry showed this sort of initiative in our industry.

Take care and safe travels back Oakura

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing