We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed for 1 night on two separate occasions as part of a trip around the North Island. The suite was on the small side, but the bed was comfortable and it was fine for 1 night. However, the bathroom was teeny tiny and maintenance was questionable as there was quite a bit of mildew in the shower. I felt like I was in an airplane bathroom. Only one soap was provided but since the bathroom is tiny, you can grab the soap from the shower when you use the sink without even having to take a step. View was not so great as we faced a building in very close proximity.

During the first visit, we discovered blood stains on the blanket in multiple places. Gross. We brought this to management's attention who offered free breakfast for our upcoming visit and tossed in free valet parking upon requesting it. The second visit was better as the suite had a water view and there was no mildew in the shower. We used the laundry machine during the second visit and while it did the job, be mindful of the dryer setting as it got very hot and melted the reflectors off my husband's dri-fit shirt.

Wifi access only allows for one device to connect at a time. We both have iPad's so this was not so convenient. The hotel was booked through our travel agent as part of our itinerary of the North Island. If the itinerary had not been prepaid in advance, I would have chosen a different hotel for our return to Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladylolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with two early teen kids, it was terrible from the moment we arrived. Service was terrible, english speaking employees hard to come by. Place is dirty and very unkept. We stayed on the 22 floor and hall way was piled with rubbish for two days! Our rooms were terrible, dirty and smelly. Shower screen broken, linen torn and dirty, kitchen consists of 2 pans and 4 piece dinnerset only. No wash cloths, tiny tiny towels, missing furniture - list goes on - worst place i have ever stayed for the money we paid!!
Dont do it!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank springcleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.

The standard of housekeeping you experienced is of concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team.

Nevertheless I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property.

It is disappointing to hear that our service was not up to the standard that we strive to provide to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Lovely staff, great location, rooms spacious, clean, really modern. Good kitchen facilities with washer included.

I stayed here over the Christmas period and me and my fiancée cooked our Christmas dinner in the hotel room. Had a great Christmas and couldn't have asked for better accommodation. Definitely recommend and the hotel certainly lives up to its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Oxchops

We are very glad to hear that our little touches enhanced your stay and that you, and your fiancée, had an enjoyable Quadrant experience. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel.

Thank you and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The staff at the Quadrant were very accomadating. Our flight from UK arrived into Auckland at 7 am but the hotel staff looked after our baggage until we could check in later in the day. When we did check in our bags were in the room waiting for us. Good black out curtains and quiet which was great for getting over the jet-lag. Love the hill top location, just a short walk from the CBD and harbour. Good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ynysdewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Lisa M

It is great to hear that you were well looked after by our staff and that you found the room features were very helpful. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests.

Please stay in touch with us via twtter or facebook and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here for just one night in December, and the room and service we had when we stayed in December was spot on.

Front desk staff was attentive, polite, and even enabled us to check in early. Rooms are fitted out nicely, although they are small - but given what we were paying per night, this seemed perfectly reasonable. There's small things around that remind you this isn't a 5* hotel - some chipped paint, older door handles, but nothing that detracts from the overall aesthetic of the rooms and the hotel. The quasi-outdoor bar looked nice as well.

The hotel's in a good location in the CBD - just up the hill near Albert Park, and a quick walk to anywhere - both the CBD, the Waterfront, and even Vector.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAJason80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear CAJason80,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive stay! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hotel has very good rooms, it has a convenient location and nice views, but the wireless internet connection was very poor - that is rather strange for a hotel that advertises with it! The breakfast was very tasty, but at the first day of our stay we had to wait for an hour before we were served.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Mark_Janneke

Thank you for your review and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced due to poor WI-FI and the extended wait during breakfast service.

I understand how frustrating this would have been for you. We have recently updated all of our hardware throughout the building. I am following up with our team to ensure that we are providing our guests with immediate support should technological issues arise.

Also in regards to the inconvenience during the breakfast period, I understand that an hour wait is unacceptable. I am therefore investigating the current rostering process to ensure this issue does not arise in the future.

On a positive note, I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay, and I do hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Staff barely speak English. No dish cloth in room or teabags. Took an hour to get someone from housekeeping to come up. Tried to give me a box of tissues instead of a dishcloth. Serviced room and no clean towels or soap. Tried to get a coffee in the coffeeshop downstairs but walked out as staff were so unfriendly. Made us feel like we were a nuisance for wanting to buy a coffee. Appalling service for everything we asked for in the hotel, Perhaps management needs to hire people who speak English and have a good attitude. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldtraveller146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear WorldTraveller146

Thank you so much for your feedback. We work hard to continuously improve and provide our guests with a high standard of service. Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to hear about your experience.

In light of your inconvenience pertaining to a language barrier and service, we have made a concerted effort to better train our staff in all departments. This is to ensure that similar inconveniences do not arise.

We look Forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#38 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £112 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing