We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and well-equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Central and well-equipped”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We spent one night at The Quadrant. It's a perfect downtown location next to the Albert Park.
The reception staff was attentive. Wifi was provided without charge (maybe because the city is full of free hotspots). Our room on the 15th floor was well-equipped, even including a washer/dryer combination, but it also felt small - especially the bathroom is kind of narrow. The room offered a good view from the balcony. Overall it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Front Office Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Aotearoa-Holiday

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us via facebook or twitter and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    464
    246
    142
    89
See reviews for
150
526
142
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

On checking in, first shock was off site valet parking at $28 NZD/night ... discounted to $23 if you didn't book thru an agent. However, booking.com is considered an "agent"... don't understand when there's parking in the area for $14/day. Car was brought promptly on request, though. Second shock was a surcharge for using VISA or other credit card. Only place we stayed in a month that charged for using credit card. Who carries enough cash to pay for hotels for several weeks of travel? We were upgraded to a room with two beds. The kitchenette was not exceptionally clean. Had to wipe out the microwave before using it. No dishcloth provided. Oven available but no oven mitts. Called for a coffee plunger and was told "we don't normally provide one" ... but one was brought to the room quite quickly. No racks/stands for suitcases - had to place them on the floor. Bathroom small with no counter space for toiletries. Telephone was situated UNDER television at floor level ... so had to sit on the floor to use it. Paint was peeling from "art" on walls. Internet service was difficult to access and internet was down on second morning. Beds were comfortable with quality linens. It was helpful to have a washing machine to tidy up our laundry. Washing soap was provided. Food/beverages available for purchase in room at the usual highway robbery prices ... mostly junk and not anything we would eat. We looked at the spa area hot tub but didn't use it. Same with the sauna. Three or four machines in exercise area, also not used. Too many surprises, inconsistencies and surcharges for this to be rated a four star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Front Office Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear LA B


Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. This was clearly not the standard of service that we strive to offer our guests.

Your comments about the standard of housekeeping is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property.

However, I am very happy to hear that our team went out of their way to ensure that you were looked after, this to me is very important.

We do believe that our valet parking is reasonably priced, even though there are day parking options in the vicinity. These however do not allow you to park more than once and do not have the monitored security that we provide as parking is within the Hotel building itself.

The application of surcharge has now been standard for a number of years in all hotel chains throughout New Zealand and Australia.


Best Regards

Jaishri Mudaliar
Corporate Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

4 of us stayed in a su[perior 2 bedroom room on level 23. Bathroom was very dark with no natural light and only 1 very dim light, needed a brighter light bulb and some more lights around the mirror. Bedrooms/beds were comfortable but lounge lacked furniture and felt very empty. There was only 1 small couch in the lounge for 4 of us so 2 of us had to sit at the table. The room was a corner room and had 2 balconies, but no outdoor furniture so again had to use the table chairs to sit on the balcony. Overall quite good value for money, and a great location in walking distance to Queen St and Viaduct, staff were friendly and helpful but room was quite basic and empty.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Front Office Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear travels19

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Unfortunately we do not provide outdoor furniture in our rooms as occasionally the wind gusts can pick up the furniture and throw it over the balcony. Rather than risk harm to anybody walking underneath we believe it is best for there not to be any furniture in place.

Kind Regards

Jaishri Mudaliar
Corporate Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed at The Quadrent 2 nights in all so just a taster. but to sum up our experience we would totally recommend ...The reception staff were attentive polite and helpful... our room (not the biggest) but we are not planning to party here.. was very clean has everything we could need with coffee and tea, towels etc replenished as needed.. but for us the stand out performance of The Q was the exeptional meals we had .....these guys should be a whole lot busier... why would you hike into town and take the lottery of pub/resturant meals to then have to treck back when some of the nicest food out there is 2 mins from your room . The service in the resturant headed by the amazing Uday was exeptional he made us feel very special making our meals personally and to an awesomly high standard (Thanks Uday you made out weekend).. Rebecca the newest staff member coped extremely well and was very attentive considering it was her third day and there were staff shortages, and Chris (the new Tom Cruise) with his sense of humour and great cocktail skills will go far. the dining room is going through some changes as there is a lack of privacy and its not the biggest space (you have to realise that you cant have everything) but that aside we could not fault our experience. Cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: we had a room on 18th floor with a view over the harbou, air conditioning no noise and a great night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Front Office Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear simon r

Thank you so much for your praise of our staff members and of our menu. All our team actively read Trip Advisor and Guest Feedback and it is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write good things about particular members.

Feedback really is a great driver in ensuring we as a property can keep striving to the high standards we have.

We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.

Kind Regards
Jaishri Mudaliar
Corporate Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

I booked a one bed premier apartment for $180NZ a night, for 5 nights. For this I also got discounted parking at $23NZ a day.

On arrival I was surprised to hear it was a valet only parking service, no self park. Glad I paid in advance and got the discount rate. There were no major inconveniences, and no delays if I needed my car.

Check in was painless enough, although they required the first night to be paid in advance even though they had my card details.

I was given room 1818, a spacious enough corner room at the end of the 18th floor corridor, with 2 balconies, one overlooking the harbour/dock area, and the other the Auckland museum. Pleasant enough, with aircon in the lounge area.

Housekeeping was very good during my stay, although towel quantities were a bit random. No tea towel a couple of days, 6 bath towels one day! :o)

Unfortunately, that's about it for the good stuff :o(

The bathroom was quite small, and there was a drain hole in the floor which I had to keep covered with a towel else it stank. There were only large towels, no hand towels, and there was no extractor fan, so the mirror steamed up and the bathroom got very muggy after showering.

The free wifi didn't reach my room. I could get it in the corridor, but it was very slow, to the point of useless.

There was a TV in the lounge area, but the channels were very limited, and pay movies were expensive. No TV in the bedroom.

The kitchenette was more aimed at takeaway cuisine, rather than self catering. 3 x plates, cups, cutlery, etc, 2 x saucepans, toaster, kettle, microwave, and an oven/hob. No frying pan/wok, no serving bowls for salads, no oven trays.

The grill in the oven was on or off, with no temperature control, and the grill tray had no handle, so I had to use the tea towel (on the days I was given one).

There was a small dishwasher, but the plates didn't fit in it properly. Not being a fan of dishwashers anyway I used the sink, but the sink had no draining area for dishes, so I stood them in the dishwasher! :oD

The was a combination washing machine/tumble drier in the kitchenette, but I never used it. I did wonder why, with so much balcony space, there wasn't a clothes airer to hang clothes on tho.

Finally for the room, the front door rattled every time anyone else in the corridor opened their door. Ended up having to jam it with a bit of card.

My last bit for the Quadrant is mixed. There was a gym/spa/sauna, which is something I love in a hotel.....usually. The gym here is very small with no aircon, so 2 or 3 people at once is enough, even with the outside doors open. The sauna/spa is in an adjoining room, so the heat comes through to the gym making it quite humid. The spa itself didn't look too appealing so I never used it.

WOW! That was some write up! I hope it helps someone out, and maybe gives the management a few ideas?

I might be back one day ;o)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunthediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Front Office Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Shaunthediver

Thank you so much for your feedback. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

Unfortunately the only rooms we provide with a TV in the bedroom is our deluxe queen apartments and our Penthouse, all other rooms have the TV situated in the living room.

In regards to the our WIFI we are currently investigating various options on how to upgrade our hardware, this should increase the reach of our WIFI. We have recently upgraded the software to enhance the speed of our internet.

Thank you once again for your feedback

Kind Regards

Jaishri Mudaliar
Corporate Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I booked 5 single rooms about10 months before arriving but none of us were on the same level and that was the beginning.the shower is extremely small I couldn't turn around in the shower without knocking over my shampoo so annoying and also everytime you open the shower door it hits the sink not only that the water keeps changing from hot to cold so if you are a big person good luck. I don't know how they got a 5 star rating the room look more like a back packers stay than a hotel the rooms we receive didn't even have air conditioning you needed to call reception to bring you a fan bloody terrible never ever been to a hotel that doesn't come with air conditioning especially a 4star hotel.we stayed at the copthorne at the start of our hotel because of flight changes they gave us the best service extremely nice and helpful we receive free parking but the quadrant charges 28 dollars a day so just a warning to anyone driving.i suggest anyone who has a standard when it come to staying at hotels avoid this one your better going to copthorne free parking, great rooms and services.the spa and sauna is very small not ment for a hotel more for home use only can fit 3 maybe 4 people at once such a let down I thought it would make up for the other let downs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthewlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We (me, wife and baby girl) stayed at the Quadrant in a 'one bedroom' for about a week in October 2012.

The first room we received, while decorated nicely, but was looking straight into another building seemingly only a few feet away. The other catch with the first room was that it stank of smoke (it was a non smoking room, but that never seems to stop smokers, grrr).

The first couple nights the hotel was too busy to allow us to change rooms, but the third night the very friendly front desk staff arranged to have us moved. New room had a great view, no weird smells, all in all was a great room. The 'one bedroom' is just a closet door that separates it from the living area, but that was good enough for us so we could put our daughter down at 7pm when it was her bedtime (without us needing to go to bed also).

The wifi was a bit spottty, as it always seems to be at hotels, but worked for the most part.

One minor inconvenience that we didn't notice till we were there - Aukland has crazy steep hills in the middle of town, this hotel is at the top of one of those hills. Made walking down to the waterfront a real hike on the way home. Not the hotels fault, just something to be aware of.

Small restaurant served pretty good meals and staff were friendly and helpful. Prices seemed crazy high, but as we adjusted to NZ I realized high prices are endemic there.

Summary - some very nice rooms, friendly staff, modern decor, tall hill.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaincityMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Front Office Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear RaincityMatt

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience. The Quadrant prides itself on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Unfortunately, as you said, we can't do anything about the hills but at least it allows our hotel to have some amazing views.

Please stay in touch with us via facebook or twitter and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Kind Regards

Jaishri Mudaliar
Corporate Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
547 reviews
0.7 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing