We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Auckland hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good location for Auckland hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

hotel is in good location -- close to tourist attractions and easy walk to ferry docks and cruise-ship port. Front desk staff are helpful. we walked to the museum, the Skytower, and down to ferry docks to tke ferry to Devonsport

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear honeybee1951

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us, via facebook or twitter, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind Regards
Jaishri Mudaliar
Corporate Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    460
    243
    142
    87
See reviews for
148
522
140
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

It was an easy walk to town or the Maidment Theater by the University. Quiet rooms and quiet hotel! Easy parking although a little dear. Next to Albert Park fountains and walks just off Symonds Street Auckland City

Room Tip: Non smoking was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HokiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear HokiTraveller,

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests.

Please stay in touch, via facebook of twitter,and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Jaishri Mudaliar
Corporate Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Great location, walking distance to downtown shopping, ferries and restaurants. Across the street from the University and Albert Park. We stayed for one week in a one bedroom suite and on our way home stayed in a studio for one night. Some reviews call the space small but it was adequate for us. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Both rooms had great views and were clean. Wifi free but was a little inconsistent in the rooms, the staff were helpful with this problem. Kitchen was equiped for basic cooking and washer/dryer combo was useful (we never did figure out the dryer)There was a small balcony which was great to store our 2 bikes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeridervancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear bikeridervancouver

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Kind Regards
Jaishri Mudaliar
Corporate Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I believe the person who classed this hotel as four star is off their rocker. This hotel is definitely not a four star hotel or apartment block. 3 star is above all I'd class it and that's being nice. The gentleman on reception completely ignored me when I asked for the wifi code. Not only were some staff rude but the 1 bedroom apartment I booked was nothing more than a small basic room converted to a one bedroom with a fold away door. I've seen budget hotel rooms with more space than this supposed 1 bed apartment. I not a big person nor is my friend but we both struggled for space. The decoration in the reception, restaurant and our room was cheap and of poor quality(lots of flat pack stuff). The carpets in the lift and halls to our room were extremely dirty. The one good this is the location otherwise a terrible place

Room Tip: 1 bedroom apartment is extremely small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We have stayed at the Quadrant in Auckland numerous times and been quite satisfied, however that run has come to an end. On our arrival yesterday we were given a room with a "king" bed, that most uncomfortable situation where 2 doubles are pushed together to make 1 bed. After 30 years of travel I have yet to see it make 1 comfortable bed, so we quickly requested a change of room.
We were accommodated, and took possession of our new room immediately.
After my wife had a shower she noticed the usual hair dryer wasn't present. At the same time she noticed we had no trash can anywhere in the 1 bedroom suite, or for that matter any soap for the shower or sink. We called management about the oversights and assumed they would have a look at what else might be missing and resolve the situation.
We returned from having dinner out, and as we set out to go to bed we realized there wasn't a blanket anywhere in the suite. We went to phone down about this, and soon discovered there wasn't a phone either so we couldn't call about the newest issue! We also noticed we couldn't unpack properly as there were only 4 coat hangers in the closet. And then we realized the luggage rack was also missing, so we had to leave our suitcases on the floor. Wanting to relax whilst I went to the front desk downstairs, my wife realized there were no cushions on the couch that are the usual situation provided here. There were indeed now a trash bin, a bar of soap and a hair dryer present, so they had been in the suite, I suppose they simply didn't look around while there.
When I went down again and explained to the front desk we had no blanket, and were missing numerous other items despite their trip to our room to replace missing things, I was flat out disbelieved. The fellow asked if I had looked properly. I persuaded him to come look, and please bring a couple blankets, but he came empty handed as he didn't believe. It was quite hilarious to watch him examine the bed for several minutes to convince himself there really weren't any blankets no matter how he moved those 2 sheets around! Normally funny, but tired after a day of travel, at 11 at night, not so funny.
He ended up bringing us 2 blankets a bit later, another bar of soap and a luggage rack. Then I asked him to check to ensure the AC worked as we were distrusting the room. After about 10 minutes he discovered that the AC was unplugged in a hidden spot under a desk, so he was finally able to get that working, thank goodness I asked, we would never have found the connection as it ran through the wall.
We still didn't have a phone, ( oh how he Looked for that!), so in the morning when we realized we had no "make up the room" sign to display, we couldn't phone down yet again to solve the problem. I found a housekeeper and borrowed the cleaning sign, went downstairs and told the manager every detail in a quiet but frustrated voice.
Given the litany of oversights we fooled ourselves into thinking management might have an apology waiting for us, or perhaps some token of their understanding of our patience. Alas, no. And though I can chalk up all the other silly oversights and significant number of errors and omissions, I do not have it in my heart to forgive management's silence and lack of accepting responsibility. I had told the manager that I informed him because as a business owner I would want to know of such a volume of oversights, but it appears it will end there.
We now have a phone (dead battery), 2 suitcase racks, pillows, blankets and trash cans and working AC, I suppose that is sufficient.

Room Tip: Check your room thoroughly upon entry for all the basics you assume will be there, they may not be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmartens51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear rmartens51

Thank you so much for your feedback and Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. This was clearly not the standard of service that we strive to offer our guests and I would like to reiterate my most sincere apologies.

Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love for you to contact me directly at quad.corporate@vrhotels.co.nz as there a number of issues you have raised in your review that are a real concern to me. I am not one to take such things easily and need to address them after receiving more information.

I look forward to hopefully hearing from you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jaishri Mudaliar
Corproate Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Very well positioned. Easy to get to main shopping area in Queen's Street and the bars and restaurants along the wharf. Well equipped rooms with washer/drier, fridge etc.If you have a car the hotel charge NZ$28 a day but there is secure parking nearby which is slightly cheaper.

Room Tip: Ensure your room has air conditioning and not just a free standing fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear Kathy S

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests.

Please stay in touch with us, via facebook or twitter, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jaishri Mudaliar
Corporate Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We spent one night at The Quadrant. It's a perfect downtown location next to the Albert Park.
The reception staff was attentive. Wifi was provided without charge (maybe because the city is full of free hotspots). Our room on the 15th floor was well-equipped, even including a washer/dryer combination, but it also felt small - especially the bathroom is kind of narrow. The room offered a good view from the balcony. Overall it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy G, Front Office Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Aotearoa-Holiday

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us via facebook or twitter and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
942 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing