We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff; good utility; not great ambience for vacationers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 8 July 2013

On the plus side, the room was clean and the staff was friendly. But this is just not my kind of place.

My wife and I are middle aged Americans and were just beginning our New Zealand adventure. We like quaint accommodations that reflect local character. The Quadrant is a pseudo-modern, high rise stack of efficiency apartments located directly across the street from a large college campus. The room itself was adequate with good utility, but the bathroom was quite small (I am not a big guy, thankfully!). Our window looked down on some commercial property. We had no sense that we had just begun our vacation into an exciting new land…we could have been in any USA downtown.

While it is not their fault, the location of the property was also not a good fit for our vacation travel plans. So, barring astounding ambience, poor Quadrant stood little chance of making our highlight reel from the outset. It is located over 20 kilometers NORTH of the airport, while our itinerary took us SOUTH back through that same airport at rush hour again the next morning. Never having driven on the left side of the road, the trip into a city center around a zillion roundabouts in an unfamiliar car, after dark, at rush hour, in the rain was quite stressful. Upon arrival, we discovered that there is very little parking close by, so we had to fork over $28 for valet to earn our way into the lobby. By then we were gassed and just wanted to grab a quick bite and a beer as close to home as possible. The restaurant and bar are located by the elevators across the hall from each other and were staffed by one person. The décor and menu were very, very basic. The food was OK though and the bar tender/waiter was extremely pleasant from the time he brought us our complementary glass of wine until we retired for the evening. Front desk staff and valets were helpful and punctual on check in and check out.

For those looking for basic accommodations in the center of Auckland this could be a fine place. For travelers who want to really feel that they are in New Zealand and have an itinerary that takes them south of the city, I suggest exploring other alternatives.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It is good to read the lovely comments about our staff and the overall ambience.
We are however disappointed that we did not match your expectations. Yes we are a modern hotel in a contemporary style and you were probably wanting to stay in one with a local character, which unfortunately you do not have many Auckland. It is sad that the location although very central and plus point for most of our guest also did not go very well with your itinerary.
But we appreciate all your constructive comments, giving us a better idea on future improvements.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Warm Regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
There are newer reviews for The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

We arrived at the Quadrant Hotel straight from the airport after a long flight, fighting the jet lag, and we found it was just what we needed. Our room was nice and quiet with a kitchen, so you could cater for ourselves if you wished, and a view over rooftops from the verandah. Only problem was the tiny bathroom with a basin too small to wash your face and shave.
It's in a quiet part of the city with good restaurants only a few minutes walk away. We had excellent service from the friendly and helpful staff who happily let us in before check-in time and check out an hour late.
We arrived in a hire car and the valet parking was useful, although there is a charge. It would have been better to use the airport shuttle and arrange the car hire for when we left Auckland.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Bursledon,

Thanks for the wonderful feedback. We are so glad to see that you liked and enjoyed what we offer here at our property. It is great that our friendly and efficient staff helped in making your stay better. I can also assure you that our valet parking charges are among the lowest you could find in the central city.
Feedback really is a great driver in ensuring we as a property can keep striving to the high standards we have.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards,
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Have been staying there for 3 months (long term tenant). I can write longggg bad experiences about Quadrant hotel

1. The first day in, found a couple of issues
- washing machine not working (they forgot to turn the switch on...situated below the sink)
- dishwasher not working (when I asked to repair it, asked me to pay)
- filthy toilet and permanent stains.
- 1 of the lamps dead

2. During my stay
- Super slow internet connection (accessible for 1 user only). I am serious...this is the slowest connection I have ever experienced in New Zealand.
- When the washing machine (glass) cracked due to NORMAL usage, they asked me to pay 150 dollars for it.

It may have competitive rates, but if you have other choices, do your homework....don't make the same mistakes I did. They dont respect tenants. Met a couple of their staffs, they are simply rude...they dont treat guests as they should. I will never ever stay at this hotel anymore and will never recommend to anyone. Your dollars deserve better place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank teakwood t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Teakwood,
I have followed up with the respective deparments regarding your feedback and it has been found that the room you were staying in and talking about is not our under hotel management at all.
We have a few apartments in the building managed privately and yours was one of them.
So this review has nothing to do with our hotel management. We would appreciate if it is taken off from our page.

Regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I recently was placed at the Quadrant Hotel whilst on a work trip, my Mum turned up last minute and it was absolutely no hassle to book her into a room and at a great price. The staff at the service desk were extremely friendly and accommodating to our needs; I was very impressed. The hotel restaurant was great value, only complaint their was too much food on the plate. Rooms were spacious and had a really good view of Auckland. Handy to have a little kitchen and washing machine in the room. Really close to restaurants and shops. Hope work sends me back here to stay

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Lauren O,

We appreciate your valued feedback and thank you for taking time to post it. It was an equally delightful experience for us to have you as our valued guest.

Your valuable feedback is very encouraging and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Comfortable stay in a four star at budget rates, friendly and caring staff at residential section. Facilities in the room are comparable to at par with the best hospitality standards. Ambience is nice both interior and exterior. Prime and convenient location for commuting. Worth stay for short as well as long periods.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at 10th floor and above if you want to have a sea view from your room balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us and you enjoyed what we offer here at our property. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us soon.

Warm regards,
Minna dubey
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I really like this area of Auckland where The Quadrant is located - it is quieter, more green with parks and established trees and is amongst older buildings. Yes it is still within easy walk or a short taxi ride away to most of the city atractions, great restaurants etc so is very handy too! Rooms were spacious enough but showing signs of wear & tear and sloppy workmanship. It is good value though so would happily stay there again. Request a room away from the lifts as they are very noisy. The free wifi is great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjszea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Mjszea,

We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence.

We look forward to welcoming you again and offering you a delightful experience.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I and my partner had a chance to stay at this easy to find, well staffed hotel in the heart of the Auckland CBD. Well appointed in its star rating, with staff showing a professional edge in all areas. A must stay for anyone and everyone, with not only a restaurant onsite but eateries just around the corner. As a couple fresh off long haul flights, this hotel gave us a sleep which exceeded our needs and expectations, with front desk staff checking us in with speed and friendliness, concierge assisting us with our parking and baggage, again professional and friendly. We used the complimentary wine vouchers in the bar and found the staff both friendly and helpful to all visitors. We only stayed one night and we felt welcome from the moment we walked in to when we checked out. A most enjoyable experience. Thank you everyone at The Quadrant.

Room Tip: Grab the valet parking, excellent value for money.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Ian G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Such encouraging reviews ensure that we work hard to maintain our standards. Thank you for your support. Your feed back has been passed on to the team.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £86 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing