We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, but grubby elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, but grubby elsewhere”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Service was pleasant, and the rooms were adequately presented. However, the messiness in the hallways, including some bags of laundry (and rubbish?) that sat beside the elevators for the entire day made us question the cleanliness. Hallway floors look like they could use a good vacuum, as they were the filthiest I had seen in any hotel.

May be good for a long stay, but if you're looking for somewhere to enhance a short trip to Auckland, look elsewhere.

Also, seem to be a lot of long-term student residents, which lowers any four-star pretence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments about our rooms presentation however It is disappointing that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the hallways and corridors. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do to be better as a property.
We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.

Warm Regards,
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    464
    246
    142
    89
See reviews for
150
526
142
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
865 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Nothing major wrong with this hotel, but the hotel scale has great range (think Four Seasons at the upper end) so this place lands in the middle. Nice clean and quiet room, with a kitchen (no oven but a microwave). Washer/dryer worked so I actually came home with a suitcase full of clean clothes. How often can you say that on a trip?

Very small bathroom with no storage and inadequate lighting. That was the worst feature, and it was liveable. Would have been more of a problem with more than one person in the room, however. My wife would not have been as generous about it.

No ethernet port, but sufficient plugs (albeit not that well located). Balky elevators that require you to insert room card key, and getting to work right was tricky. By the time some residents got their card recognized, the elevator had already missed their floor. Location okay, but it all depends on where you are going and how mobile you are. It's a 15 minute walk to the harbor. Not so many nearby restaurants, and I didn't try the hotel restaurant (which never seemed overwhelmed with patrons). All in all, I'd stay here again without much hesitation. No charm, but no real shortcomings either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I am glad you enjoyed what our apartments have to offer rather than traditional hotel rooms.
There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. We certainly endeavor to do all we can to ensure you have a pleasant stay at our property.
We hope to see you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was recently in Auckland for a meeting at the University, so the location was perfect for me. The little kitchen, dishwasher and washing machine were very nice to have, and I had a nice view overlooking the harbor. The staff were very helpful, and pro-actively so. The room was so quiet -- I never heard another guest or people in the hall, so I think the insulation must be excellent. It was nice modern hotel with extra conveniences, and a great base for 5 days in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for the great feedback..We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. It is wonderful that you embraced and enjoyed what we offer here at The Quadrant. Your feedback is a great driver in ensuring that we work hard to maintain the high standards we have. Thanks for your encouragement and support.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Warm Regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

On the plus side, the room was clean and the staff was friendly. But this is just not my kind of place.

My wife and I are middle aged Americans and were just beginning our New Zealand adventure. We like quaint accommodations that reflect local character. The Quadrant is a pseudo-modern, high rise stack of efficiency apartments located directly across the street from a large college campus. The room itself was adequate with good utility, but the bathroom was quite small (I am not a big guy, thankfully!). Our window looked down on some commercial property. We had no sense that we had just begun our vacation into an exciting new land…we could have been in any USA downtown.

While it is not their fault, the location of the property was also not a good fit for our vacation travel plans. So, barring astounding ambience, poor Quadrant stood little chance of making our highlight reel from the outset. It is located over 20 kilometers NORTH of the airport, while our itinerary took us SOUTH back through that same airport at rush hour again the next morning. Never having driven on the left side of the road, the trip into a city center around a zillion roundabouts in an unfamiliar car, after dark, at rush hour, in the rain was quite stressful. Upon arrival, we discovered that there is very little parking close by, so we had to fork over $28 for valet to earn our way into the lobby. By then we were gassed and just wanted to grab a quick bite and a beer as close to home as possible. The restaurant and bar are located by the elevators across the hall from each other and were staffed by one person. The décor and menu were very, very basic. The food was OK though and the bar tender/waiter was extremely pleasant from the time he brought us our complementary glass of wine until we retired for the evening. Front desk staff and valets were helpful and punctual on check in and check out.

For those looking for basic accommodations in the center of Auckland this could be a fine place. For travelers who want to really feel that they are in New Zealand and have an itinerary that takes them south of the city, I suggest exploring other alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It is good to read the lovely comments about our staff and the overall ambience.
We are however disappointed that we did not match your expectations. Yes we are a modern hotel in a contemporary style and you were probably wanting to stay in one with a local character, which unfortunately you do not have many Auckland. It is sad that the location although very central and plus point for most of our guest also did not go very well with your itinerary.
But we appreciate all your constructive comments, giving us a better idea on future improvements.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Warm Regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Quadrant Hotel straight from the airport after a long flight, fighting the jet lag, and we found it was just what we needed. Our room was nice and quiet with a kitchen, so you could cater for ourselves if you wished, and a view over rooftops from the verandah. Only problem was the tiny bathroom with a basin too small to wash your face and shave.
It's in a quiet part of the city with good restaurants only a few minutes walk away. We had excellent service from the friendly and helpful staff who happily let us in before check-in time and check out an hour late.
We arrived in a hire car and the valet parking was useful, although there is a charge. It would have been better to use the airport shuttle and arrange the car hire for when we left Auckland.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Bursledon,

Thanks for the wonderful feedback. We are so glad to see that you liked and enjoyed what we offer here at our property. It is great that our friendly and efficient staff helped in making your stay better. I can also assure you that our valet parking charges are among the lowest you could find in the central city.
Feedback really is a great driver in ensuring we as a property can keep striving to the high standards we have.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards,
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Have been staying there for 3 months (long term tenant). I can write longggg bad experiences about Quadrant hotel

1. The first day in, found a couple of issues
- washing machine not working (they forgot to turn the switch on...situated below the sink)
- dishwasher not working (when I asked to repair it, asked me to pay)
- filthy toilet and permanent stains.
- 1 of the lamps dead

2. During my stay
- Super slow internet connection (accessible for 1 user only). I am serious...this is the slowest connection I have ever experienced in New Zealand.
- When the washing machine (glass) cracked due to NORMAL usage, they asked me to pay 150 dollars for it.

It may have competitive rates, but if you have other choices, do your homework....don't make the same mistakes I did. They dont respect tenants. Met a couple of their staffs, they are simply rude...they dont treat guests as they should. I will never ever stay at this hotel anymore and will never recommend to anyone. Your dollars deserve better place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank teakwood t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Teakwood,
I have followed up with the respective deparments regarding your feedback and it has been found that the room you were staying in and talking about is not our under hotel management at all.
We have a few apartments in the building managed privately and yours was one of them.
So this review has nothing to do with our hotel management. We would appreciate if it is taken off from our page.

Regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I recently was placed at the Quadrant Hotel whilst on a work trip, my Mum turned up last minute and it was absolutely no hassle to book her into a room and at a great price. The staff at the service desk were extremely friendly and accommodating to our needs; I was very impressed. The hotel restaurant was great value, only complaint their was too much food on the plate. Rooms were spacious and had a really good view of Auckland. Handy to have a little kitchen and washing machine in the room. Really close to restaurants and shops. Hope work sends me back here to stay

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Lauren O,

We appreciate your valued feedback and thank you for taking time to post it. It was an equally delightful experience for us to have you as our valued guest.

Your valuable feedback is very encouraging and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing