We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$274
US$250
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$181
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$289
US$220
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$204
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$279
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
US$100
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$170
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$197
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
US$156
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$128
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
298
479
262
150
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
479
262
150
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher dryeralbert parkfree wifistudio roomsteep hillvalet parkingqueen streetsmall balconynew zealandkey cardvector arenacooking facilitiesfull kitchencity centresky toweruniversityharbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After 35 hours from leaving home to arrive at our room was an utter disappointment. The website description did match the reality. A tiny toilet shower room badly lit and only a tiny soap. The room was not clean and everything felt grubby to the touch. Stubbed out cigarette butts on the balcony. 2 very noisy adjacent building air conditioning units. The phone did not work to ring down and complain so I had to walk back to reception. My wife and I had the same opinion, this is not what we expected and after travelling half way around the world we were not going to have our stay in Auckland compromised. So we rang our travel agent and booked another hotel.... we could not leave quick enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Kevin B,

We appreciate your valuable feedback. I am sorry that you did not have a very pleasant stay with us.

We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence.

It would be helpful to investigate, if you can share some details such as your stay dates and name under which the reservation was made.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The place has an excellent location at the heart of the city. The room I had was simple: not spacious but had all the essentials, including a washing machine and a balcony with a great view. Only minus was that the hotel wants to charge extra for a credit card use.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear John O,

Sincere thank you for your valuable feedback, it is much appreciated. We are glad to here that you found your stay with us very pleasant and we are equally delighted to have you as our valued guest.

We do provide variety of accommodation options ranging from the basic Studio apartments with standard amenities to spacious One Bedroom suites, Two Bedroom suites and the Penthouse apartment to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and to offering you yet another delightful stay at The Quadrant.

Warm Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our family (2 x teenage boys) stayed one night as part of a North Island road trip. Location of this hotel is excellent, up a moderate hill from Queen St, so very central and pleasant walking distance to the Viaduct area. Our 2 bedroom suite was small but well equipped with kitchen and laundry. The advertised in room SKY did not include movies which was disappointing. Great views of the harbour from our balcony. Good little gym and spa/sauna on site. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - making sure we had enough WiFi codes for all our devices, changing one on the double beds to twin beds and arranging extra towels. We got a great deal with breakfast and valet parking included which made this a bargain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Tom Q,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your valuable feedback. Your feedback is very encouraging and we are equally delighted to have you and your family as our valued guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again and to offering you yet another delightful stay.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I'd not stayed at this hotel for years and was looking forward to my return.

The Quadrant still looks like it did -- has a Japanese Garden and LONG hallway to the elevators -- it is a skinny lobby w/ almost mini-breakfast area and very small bar. The neon lighting at night makes it seem alternative, but from another era and from my POV not truly contemporary.

Checking in was easy. But getting going was not -- huge problem with wifi Internet access in the room -- SLOW Slow SLOW - going and impossible upon my arrival to have a skype call. Frustrating. I needed to iron a shirt and change clothes -- iron did not work -- had to call down and get new I-net access code and iron. Light in cramped bathroom did not work -made shaving difficult.

Not a good start -- the good news -- the staff responsive and high floors means little to no street noise. Additional bad news -- NOISY late night /early AM guests in hallway + right in the AM traffic helicopter flight path makes for a 4:45AM wake-up call.

Rooms are compact as the bathroom but contain lots of amenities including a washer/dryer -- but who's got time to use it on a business trip + a microwave and two burners.

Finally, Went to iron my only white shirt to attend a the conference and it smeared black on it this 2nd time all over the collar -- totally annoying -- fave white shirt -- had to regroup what to wear.

Complained to Manager and upon return -- shirt dry cleaned + fruit-plate and apology note.
Appreciated.

Shame these things happened but staff was attentive and tried to rectify.

If one is looking for a mid-range hotel, The Quadrant is an option -- it's up on the hill so always
a walk down first but then a hike up. Read the other reviews and decide for yourself. It's mixed.

Room Tip: Nice balconies but there have been troubles that haunt the place...narrow hallways...truly a compact building and sort of what you get in Japan at a 3-4 star hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaljoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear HaljoHal,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. At Quadrant Hotel, we take pride at our hotel's modern and upbeat look.

We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Quadrant and hope we can enhance your experience during your next visit to Auckland.

Warm Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My Husband had booked this hotel and after I read other reviews on here I was worried about what our stay would be like.
I was pleasantly suprised. It was not as bad as other reviewers had said it was.
We were checked in promptly and the concierge service was excellent. We were in a 2 bedroom suite and it was lovely and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with plates, pots and utensils for any cooking we wanted, the fridge was a good size and having a dishwasher was great.
The beds were very comfy and it was great to have a washing machine/dryer.
The provided toiletries were also very nice. The view from our room was beautiful.
We had the Breakfast in the morning and it was cooked well and there was a good selection of both hot and cold food. The fruit salad and mini smoothies were yummy.
The Hotel is also only a short walk to downtown Queen Street.
The Gym, Sauna and spa are great and the gym has everything that you need for a basic workout. Although more selection of weights in the dumbbells would have been nice
There were unfortunately downsides to our stay
The key card was temperamental in the lift and it took a few goes to make it work.
The TV reception was not good and two channels were missing and no sky tv.
The key to our room was hard to insert.
While close to Queen Street there is a bit of a hill to climb to get back to the Motel and not ideal after a long day in town. ( though of course this is out of the Hotels control)
We also booked the Easter package and our children did not receive their treast.
Look apart from the bad things we had a pleasant stay and would consider staying there again..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruralmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Ruralmum,

We thank you and appreciate you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was an equally delightful experience for us.

We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence.

Your valuable feedback is very encouraging and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Thank you,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews