We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality staff but budget furniture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Hamilton, NZ
Level Contributor
168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“High quality staff but budget furniture”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has fantastic staff who give amazing service. Every time I had a ‘contact’ with a staff member here I was surprised at the good service and the pleasant way that I was treated. I chose this hotel for its location and I wanted a hotel room that had the bedroom separate from the living room.

The living room is fairly small and the layout of the furniture meant that there was only one place you could sit to watch TV: ie the (2 person) couch. Apart from the dining room furniture there was no other seating in the lounge.

We had trouble turning on the air-conditioner (heater) and TV. We had to get a staff member to the room to get the air-conditioner going: this was inconvenient. With the air-conditioning unit going it is hard to hear the TV (on its limited full volume).

The hotel is good value but fairly basic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guynz,

Thank you very much for your valuable and encouraging feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your concerns have been noted carefully and I would like to assure you that appropriate actions have been taken to avoid such re-occurrence.

We wish to welcome you again and enhance your experience with us.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    460
    244
    142
    87
See reviews for
149
522
140
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked a room for one of my Directors for 2 separate nights. When booking you can choose different ways to "enhance your stay" I selected the full buffet breakfast however, when he went to get his breakfast the next morning, he was turned away as they didn't have record of him for the breakfast. I called the hotel and spoke to a woman who said there must have been a miscommunication. I said he had the same package in two nights time and don't want the same thing to happen again and was reassured that all would be fine on his next stay and what happens? He gets turned away from breakfast again! So even after trying to rectify the problem nothing changed.

I am bitterly disappointed as I had assured him everything would be fine this time.
I will not be booking again or recommending this hotel to anyone else. Which is a shame because apparently everything else was quite good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear AMay99,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We sincerely apologise for the miscommunication and that your Director did not have an enjoyable stay with us.

We have noted your concern very carefully and I assure you that appropriate actions have been taken to avoid any such re-occurrence.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we would like to welcome you again to change your experience with us.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Only come to Aucks for events not a fan of city but make the most of it when we do! Quadrant is convenient to sky tower, queen st and vector - awesome. good to safely park the vehicle and walk everywhere. Staff were friendly and efficient very appreciated. Room was clean suitable size if only using to sleep. Great stay thanx ka pai!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trudi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Trudi N,

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. We truly value your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always make an effort to delight our valued guests like you.

We wish to welcome you soon and offer you a delightful experience during your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed a few nights here in December 2013.

The reception area is welcoming and the reception staff were great.

My room was comfortable. The bathroom is compact. My room was close to the lift shafts and when I went to sleep I could hear the lifts operating, which kept me awake for a bit. Liked the balcony and the view towards the harbour.

The restaurant was tiny and the food I had was average.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmed1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear charmed1977,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have noted your concerns carefully and I would like to assure you that appropriate actions have been taken.

We would kindly like to inform you that we have improvised our bar and restaurant menu.

We wish to welcome you again and change your experience with us.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlAin UAE
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Clean room but a little tired needs new pillows etc.The smallest bathroom ever encountered in an Hotel.Elevator frequently took a long time to come as there is no service elevator and cleaning staff tied up one or two at times,food available in the Bar was excellent and the bar staff welcoming and helpful,however breakfast took a long time to arrive and was not warm.Overall the staff were very good but some members of the front desk staff need further customer service training

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ShellyAlain,

Sincere thank you for your valuable feedback.

We have noted your concerns carefully and I would like to assure you that appropriate actions have been taken to avoid any such re-occurrence.

We wish to welcome you again and enhance your experience at The Quadrant.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the exterior and entrance the hotel appears quite chic, however, upon entering the room, I was struck by a slightly dank smell. The room was spacious with a large living area, however the layout is poor and the fittings look worn.
It was challenging to find space in the bedroom to place my case without climbing over the bed, and the shower was tiny.
When I rang for breakfast room service in the morning, I was told there was no muesli, however that was eventually located and the milk was delivered in a paper cup.
On the positive the views across the water are great and the location is calming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ms_CC,

We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We have noted your concerns carefully and I would like to assure you that appropriate actions have been taken to avoid such re-occurrence.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again and enhance your stay with us.

Warm Regards,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A little wary following reading previous reviews, however it was a grab one voucher and we had theatre tickets so we thought it worth the gamble.....oh dear sorry we did.
On arrival first impressions of the contemporary reception are impressive..............it ends there.
The first room we were allocated within two minutes we were back at reception requesting a move, it was next door to the lift and the bathroom had an aroma a kin to a sewer, at first we thought perhaps it's because we have a grab one voucher????
I asked for high floor room away from the lift.....we were elevated by two floors and away from the elevator.
The room was small but hey it was only for one night.....the bathroom is tiny, we had one toilet roll, one flannel, it was dark, when using the shower the over flow in the bathroom overflowed with foam, there are two towels and no hand towel. The shower temperature changes quickly between hot and cold, both unpleasant and dangerous potentially. We were unable to fill the sink as the plug did not fit.
The room had two light bulbs which weren't working and both bedside lamps had stained shades and both had bulbs which did not fit. Wires were open from the trunking behind the bed. The mattress had a topper but you tended to roll into the centre.
The room being so small was warm. As the air con filter was hanging out of the top of the air con unit, we chose to open the balcony door during the night, rather than risk putting it on.
The phone was so low next to the bed it was below the bedside cabinet and behind it, basically unreachable.
Even with a grab one voucher this wasn't worth it, sorry Quadrant you could do much better, yes the rooms are tired but you have paid so much attention to the front of house you have neglected the guest rooms and their overall experience, shame as the position is good and small doesn't mean you can't be good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Carl777,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We apologise that you did not have a pleasant stay with us.

At The Quadrant Hotel, we always keep our rooms and public areas in top shape for the comfort and convenience of our guests. We always make an effort and are always delighted to treat all our guests equally.

However, it would be helpful to investigate. If you can share some details such as your stay dates and name under which the reservation was made.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites


Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing