We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
London
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hip hotel”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I stayed here for two nights and booked it through hotels.com based on price and positive comments. Although the location is slightly out of the way it is a 10 minute walk to SkyCity although it is one hell of a uphill walk to get there. The hotel itself is hip and funky e.g. music videos played in the lifts. The room was great it was bright, clean, a great shower, a big balcony and a very well equipped kitchen. I paid 83 pounds sterling and thought it was great value. I also stayed a night at the Mecure Hotel on Customs Street for 43pounds for one night and the Quadarant was far far far superior.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    460
    243
    142
    87
See reviews for
148
522
140
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Very nice hotel in a good location. Rooms were quite small but adequate. Breakfast good but you do get charged extra for tea/ coffee etc

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gutwrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We had a fantastic stay at the Quadrant. It was centrally located within decent walking distance of the waterfront, K Road, the Domain and everywhere else we wanted to go. Auckland is hilly, but we liked walking around and found it to be a very walkable city. Also, The Quadrant was across the street from Albert Park which was nice. We booked it on the Quadrant website and got a discounted rate for our two night stay with no housekeeping. We requested an early check-in and when we arrived at 11:00 am were able to check in with no hassle. The front desk reminded us that we did not have any housekeeping and told us if we needed it we could pay for an upgrade. Our room was small, but comfortable and clean. We requested an upper level floor and had a great view from our small balcony. The room was well equipped with a stove, fridge, washer/dryer as well as dishes/cookware/etc. The Quadrant is trying to hard to be hip...and that is the only place that it misses the mark a little bit. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturemurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Booked hotel online and paid about $75 Australian a night ($89 NZ). Great hotel - spacious rooms, comfortable beds and great amenities in the room - kitchen, washing machine etc. Bathrooms were a bit cramped and smelled damp. Stayed in two seperate rooms on two occasions. Given an updgrade on check in, which was welcome (and our friends we travelled with). Only down side was not offered room on same floor on either occasion (and the lift will only take you to your floor). Pleasant location, easy stroll to Queen St or the wharf. Big hills are everywhere in Auckland... And, they should try and promote their food more. Never knew where to order etc.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The location was good, the staff could not have been more helpful, and the price could not be beat. This is a great hotel if you are looking for an apartment type hotel with a few extras. The rooms had free internet service, but the hotel did not have a business center (although it was advertised as having one).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN_Traveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I stayed in this hotel back in Feb. 2009 for two nights, before flying off to Tahiti. The hotel is clean and convenient. However, the rooms are a tad bit small. This isn't much of an issue for me, as I'm accustomed to seeing small rooms when I travel through asia. As for service, the reception staff are polite and professional. One of the receptionists (alas, I forgot her name) went out of her way to assist us when we discovered that my father had lost his luggage ( with medication that cannot be purchased outside of Canada). She attempted calling all local shuttle companies whenever she had a moment to spare. We were very grateful for her service and kindess--especially so, since it was her last day working for this hotel! I honestly couldn't thank her enough. Because of this experience, I was very impressed by the service and kindness of NZers in general. We Canadians certainly have much to learn from NZers!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoAsiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

LOCATION:
It's beside the central area, and only about a 5-10 minute walk to downtown. Note that it is at the top of a fairly steep hill so that may be a factor for some to consider. It's beside another hotel, near the university and beside a major road, near a park and generally a pleasant area.

FRONT OF HOUSE SERVICE:
Staff were more perfunctory, just saying the basics and not going out of their way with pleasantries or any other conversation.

ROOMS:
This was the disappointment, being billed as a two bedroom, but the 'rooms' turned out to be one small one, and one poky one that wasn't a room so much as an area with a divider. The divider itself was okay, but the size of the rooms plus the remainder of the living area made everything cramped for 4 people.

Disappointingly for what was billed as a trendy (i.e. stylish, upmarket) hotel including gaming facilities, the television was only an old mid-size CRT. The kitchen was consistent with the size of the room, and washing/dryer facilities were available. The bathroom/toilet was again small.

This would be goof for a long term stay for one or two people, but not really for what it is advertised to be.

AMENITIES:
The lobby area gives a good initial impression. A small gym and spa were working but the gym didn't appear to be in great condition.

OVERALL:
The room size and shape was a disappointment - it was really only a 1BR though promoted as two. The style although being marketed as trendy, had certain touches, but the service was uninvolved and somewhat indifferent.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OdysseusTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Quadrant_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 14 January 2010
Thank you for indicating that you would recommend The Quadrant Hotel to others despite the issues highlighted in your posting on 18 December 2009. Glad to see that we succeeded in getting the service side of things right despite the constraints of smaller than expected Hotel bedrooms … In a similar vein, with regards to our bedrooms, we are currently upgrading all Hotel TV’s. Coupled with the above, we are about to embark on an extensive Guest Service Skills training course for all frontline staff, so I am sure that when next you return your welcome and stay will be a positive one !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
942 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing