We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel centrally located at a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel centrally located at a great price!”
Reviewed 24 February 2010

This was amongst one of our best hotels on our 3 week trip to New Zealand. Good value for a 4 star hotel (paid $90 CAD/night), booked through Travelocity. Location was very central to downtown, minutes to Queen Street and an easy 10 minutes walk to the harbour.

Clean, very modern rooms with a kitchenette and all-in-one washer/dryer. We had a very comfortable queen-sized bed. There was free in-room internet too, which came in handy as the washer/dryer didn't come with the best instructions. Best of all there was Air Conditioning (which was very rare in New Zealand!)

Only drawback would be that the bathroom was a little tight but that was consistent throughout New Zealand accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    457
    243
    140
    87
See reviews for
148
518
140
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

This was the last stay on our trip to New Zealand and we needed somewhere to just chill out and relax before the flight home. We stayed here for two nights and it was great. The room was clean and fresh with a view over the harbor. There is a nice small bar whcih sells a limited menu (good food), but was a bit strange, that at breakfast time, people ate where the lifts are in the corridor?? There is also a small gym, sauna and spa, and free wifi for guest.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

after a long flight, welcoming staff and a well equipped room eased the transition, everything we needed was there and we stayed at the start and finish of our trip , would book through the hotel website as booking direct in our experience the room had a better view and was at the end of the corridor rather than by the lift with no view when we booked through a web agent. definitely a good place to stay in central auckland

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postiemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat Victoria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Our first night in NZ. We were very impressed with the service and the initial appearance of the hotel,entrance and restaurant. Whilst the rooms were small, the bed was amazing! Dont' think we have slept so well for years. Yes, the bathrooms are very small but this didnt matter to us. Small kitchenette but all that we needed. The service of staff was excellent - the food very enjoyable. Thank you for making our first stay (3 nights) an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenix1442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I'd booked a one bedroom apartment in this hotel in early November and had asked for a quiet room with a view. Their photos showed a washing machine in the kitchen which we'd need after touring and for our 4 night stay before our flight home. On arrival the room was without the washing machine and overlooked the delivery area and air conditioning of the Hyatt next door - so no view and not exactly quiet! My husband talked to reception and they agreed to move us the next day, which they did. This time to a 19th floor room with good view and w.m. So no complaints there. There was also free wifi whilst we were there. The odd thing, which gave me the mixed feelings, was that on arrival we were given a free drink voucher to use in the bar. This was for one free drink not two, obviously they wanted guests to buy another one. This to me is a mean gesture, whenever we've been given a voucher like this before it has always been for 2 drinks. I think it would be better to give nothing than to give one only! I still remember a hotel we stayed at years ago that provided tea and coffee bags for one night and then wanted you to buy them for the remainder of your stay!
Apart from that oddity, it's a smart hotel, the rooms are comfortable but not large and there didn't appear to be air conditioning which was hard the first night as we couldn't leave the window open and had to use the stand up fan which took up valuable floor space! The hotel is also on a hill which means a walk down to town and of course back up which was rather tiring. Three nights in Auckland would have been more than enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andaluciantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed at the Quadrant in March/April 2009 whilst we were over in NZ for our wedding blessing/celebrations, for the Auckland part of our trip.

Our room was okay, we had a very small bathroom a smallish bedroom with wardrobe and a kitchen with washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge and cupboards etc. We also had sofa and dining area. The bathroom was just a shower/WC/sink, but that didn't bother us too much. It was in the other part of the hotel, which was a bit of a pain getting to and from, especially with luggage!

Overall we found it not too bad really, as others have said it is on a large hill but we were okay with that - there is a shuttle bus that you can get around Auckland if you're too tired to hike the hill!

We had breakfast there a couple of times and didn't think it was too bad or expensive. However, we found a lovely cafe for breakfast at the bottom of the hill, near all the shops - can't remember the name of it, but we'll be back for sure.

The reception staff were nice and they helped me out by printing off the names for our guest table plan, which was ever so kind of them.

We're returning to NZ this March, but this time going to stay at the Chancellor instead.

Oh, if you like spa treatments, can thoroughly recommend the Hyatt Regency spa, which is located just next door to the Quadrant.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkyKiwi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at the Quadrant Hotel in Auckland for our night after arriving into New Zealand. We arrived early in the morning into Auckland after a trans-Pacific flight, so we arrived at the hotel shortly after 10 am. While clearly our room as not yet available, they did allow us to check our bags and took them to our room for us once it was ready in the afternoon.

We had prepaid our reservation for a studio queen bed, and the room was exactly as it had been described upon booking. Our room was on the 12th floor, and while small, had everything we could need for a one-night stay, plus more, including as others have mentioned a washer, kitchen, dishes, and a pitcher which was handy for chilling water.

The linens were clean, hip and comfortable and the decor of the room matched the feel of the linens and the decor in the remainder of the hotel.

The hotel is close by to all the main attractions in Auckland and within walking distance through Albert Park (which is quite lovely itself). The walk back uphill through the park is a bit steep for those who aren't used to hilly walks (like myself), but it definitely can be done.

Parking overnight is $25 for valet, and this was the main trouble point for our stay, as the pull in for the hotel accommodates very few cars, so navigating through when turning the car over to valet and then to retrieve the car again can be a bit nerve-wracking, especially for those of us who are trying to find our legs while getting used to driving on the other side of the road. It can be done though, but if you're staying in Auckland for a day or two and don't have a need to park here, this is something that can be avoided as well.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Quadrant and if we found ourselves in Auckland again, we would stay again, as we found the accommodations to be quite reasonable for the price!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing