We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The Quadrant is a well appointed hotel located near Albert Park and the university. Staff are not particularly friendly or helpful and parking is expensive. Try and park around the metered street parking which applies from 8am to 6pm Monday to Friday from memory.
Rooms have a small balcony and ours came with a view out over the container terminal.

I found The Quadrant to have everything you need but lacking any character or human touch. First impressions count and after my initial run in with the girl at check in I think my attitude changed. No such thing as the customer is always right here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemountainkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    464
    246
    142
    89
See reviews for
150
526
142
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illawarra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We managed to get a good rate online (just over 70AUD) and for that it was great value. Neat little studio room with double bed, balcony, reasonable kitchennette, but super-narrow bathroom. If you are claustrophobic or a large person the bathroom may be a reason to avoid this hotel (less than a meter wide - but shower and toilet still ok, but very small sink). The room was nothing special, but comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel is right next to Albert Park (close to university) and it is about 15min walk SW to town hall, and about 15min NW walk to viaduct harbour, so this is quite convenient. Parking is expensive in the area - The Quadrant offers valet parking for 28$/night - on weekends it is cheaper to park yourself either behind the hotel or in the small car park between the hyatt and the quadrant (8$/day), but during the week you may as well use the valet parking. Overall would recommend this hotel as good value, if you can get a special rate - but the full rate may be a bit dear for the size of the room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We were upgraded to a 19th floor apartment with panoramic views of the harbour. Had we not had the stunning view it would have merited 4 stars. Although the apartments are not large they are well equipped for a short stay. Parking is non-existant outside so be prepared to hand over the keys for valet parking. No matter because its an easy walk down the hill to the waterfront areas.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickiePhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The rooms in this apartment hotel are mimimalist, although for what you pay here in a City Centre Hotel, what more can you expect? There is everything you need for a comfortable stay.
There is very little parking in front of this hotel, so being dropped off and picked up is a problem, especially as the staff offer no help with the luggage.
On the whole, we were neither dissatisfied, nor particularly impressed with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deauvilledame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Overall we had a enjoyable stay. Some of the younger staff were a bit useless, however there was one guy at the front desk who was very helpful

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davequick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Stayed in The Quadrant just after arriving to New Zealand for the first time. The rooms there are in fact mini-apartments. On the space equal to that of a large hotel room you get three small rooms plus a kitchen, a miniature bathroom and a closet. Kitchen is fully equipped - it has even a dishwasher and a set of dishes and cutlery. In the closet you get a washing machine.

I did get a room on the 20th floor with a great view over the harbor and towards the Western part of Auckland (Parnell etc.). I really did enjoy it, especially when waking up at dusk etc. until my jet-lag was over. The downside of this was however that WiFi connection was barely working due to interference from all the other APs my laptop was picking up.

The room was clean and cleaned every day. The washing machine was a godsend on a prolonged trip like this, especially as they provide a couple of small packs of the washing powder - just for one load. It also had a dryer built in, so I was able to depart for my next destination with clean clothes - greatly appreciated.

Only complaint is something that - as I learned later - is a common problem of all buildings in New Zealand: poor insulation and lack of heating systems. As practically all outside walls were huge sliding windows when the evening came I started to feel quite cold in my room. Not finding an aircon control or anything that would resemble it I finally called the reception. An electric heater was promptly brought to my mini-apartment. It helped to remove the chill in the room it was put into, but it failed to raise the temperature to what I would call a comfortable level through the apartment. This was end of Oct / early Nov (so early Sprint) and overall great weather - I wonder how cold it must be at The Quadrant in the middle of winter? Frankly, while I would wholeheartedly recommend it in the summer I would be afraid do stay there in winter.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Very comfortable rooms. The small kitchen with washer/dryer is a big plus. The staff were friendly and efficient. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is up the hill from the quay, but it is only a short walk, so the location is good. Modern furnishings, with flat screen TV. This hotel is a very good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltLakeCityStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing