We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable say with everything we needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 3 February 2011

It was wonderful to receive the warm, friendly greeting when we arrived at this hotel after more than 40 hours spent traveling in planes and airports.

The hotel was very nice and we were very happy with our room. It was compact but contained everything we needed - and it was a wonderful bonus to have the washer/dryer in our room.

The location was wonderful as we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We received good directions from the man at the counter that allowed us to avoid the very steep hill at the corner!

The staff working the front desk was very helpful throughout our stay. On the day we checked out they called and scheduled a cab for us and kept our luggage in a room behind the counter for several hours until we were ready to leave. It made everything very easy for us!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed at the Quadrant during our honeymoon in New Zealand. It is a trendy hotel that is in a decent location in the city. The room wasn't huge, but it had a balcony and a nice view of the park. We had to walk a bit more to get to some of the tourist attractions in Auckland, but the hotel is in a nice neighborhood and we were able to valet our rental car in the hotel's garage. The staff were very friendly (everyone in NZ is) and were happy to give us suggestions for restaurants and places to sightsee. They were also very nice about letting us keep our luggage by the front desk (and our car in the garage) a few hours after check out the next day. This was we were able to continue to sightsee before heading to our next destination.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Yes, it's on a hill. The city's full of them. I thought the location was great. A quick walk and you could be in the downtown core to access ferries, restaurants, etc. Yes, the place is under-staffed and the staff that are here are clearly somewhat inexperienced. (The concierge doesn't return emails and doesn't know much about the area's attractions or restaurants.) And, the soundproofing could be a bit better around the doors. But, look, you get a small, well-appointed room (I stayed in a studio for three nights) with kitchenette, laundry, free wifi and access to a gym and sauna...for a pretty good price. I think that's the key part...what price you pay. I booked through a 3rd party site and paid about 50% less than what the hotel quoted me. If I'd paid their rate..I would not have been as satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We were extremely fortunate to happen upon this hotel when we needed an extra night in Auckland and were unable to secure a spot at the hotel where we had spent our first two nights. Lucky for us! The Quadrant hotel was the nicest, cleanest, and best hotel we stayed at during our recent trip to Australia and New Zealand. It is just a few blocks from the city center, up a very steep hill, across the street from a lovely park. Although it takes a few minutes to get there (walking), it is well worth the strenuous climb. Although we arrived early at 11:00 and were prepared to have to wait for our room, they checked us in immediately. The room we had booked was a studio, but we were given a one bedroom instead. Although we were right across from the elevator, there was very little noise, and the room itself, although compact, was lovely. We had a small kitchen, complete with dishes and cooking utensils, a washer/dryer for clothes, dishwasher, fridge, and microwave. The bathroom although small, was new and well equipped. We had a balcony with a view of the water, and a sliding glass door, as well as quiet and efficient air conditioning. It was really nice to be able to feel what the temperature was like outside, by just walking out on the balcony. The hotel security is such that only those staying on a particular floor can key the elevator so that it will go to this floor. We were so impressed with our stay that we returned to this hotel once more upon our return. They will park your car, but check the rate, as it can be expensive. If you don't mind walking up and down hills, this is a great place. Note there are many inexpensive car rental places down the street on Beach, and a very large Supermarket down the hill near the water as well. This is a great place to stay for an extended period and caters to many families, couples, and various other travelers. And yes! Free internet access in your room! Amazing, but true!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The hotel rooms/apartments are nice and spacious. However, the location of the hotel is on a steep hill, which means that if you're coming back from the city centre you have to climb it (really hard). It's OK if you have a car, or you don't mind taking taxi's. Another option is to take the tourist bus that stops near by, but it's not that frequent and you have to wait and wait... so, FYI.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ismizrachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The service at this hotel could use improvement. They made many efforts to be accommodating but were often stretched too thin. We often waited for our car to be brought up by the valet because they were too busy. We also waited so long for our luggage to be brought up to our room (as they insisted) that we went down and brought it up ourselves. The cleaning staff were friendly, but mis-took several of our items for garbage (wine luggage box, razor case) and threw them out and the hotel never replaced them.

The room had everything we needed but it was small. The bathroom was especially cramped.

The location is very close to the port and other nice villages - although is located on a steep hill. We enjoyed the hot tub but the gym was very small. Breakfast was not included and was a fortune.

We liked the location and the style of the hotel but were always nervous to approach the front desk incase they were in a bad mood.

I would recommend the Hyatt next door which is only a little but more expensive each night (we stayed there for one day before the Quadrant because they were booked up and wouldn't accommodate early check-in). it has excellent concierge and amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitsoon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Wow!! Made a reservation for two nights at this hotel for our last two days on vacation in wonderful New Zealand. I was so very impressed with our stay there. Very, very helpful staff. We booked a great rate that included free high speed internet. Reserved a one bedroom apartment. Extremely clean and a fairly well stocked kitchen - we even cooked one night. Great small refridgerator; very comfortable bed. The bathroom was small, but quite big enough for the two of us. Shower was great. Brilliant tv. Great distant view of the harbour. Delicious breakfast and coffee. The bar looked wonderful, too. Would go back tomorrow if I could. Oh, before I forget - the location is perfect. Right next to Albert Park, close to Queen St., great shops, fantastic restaurants. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#38 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,154 reviews
0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,423 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £87 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing