We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Station Backpackers
Ranked #75 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on two occasions, both times in a double room. Very nice hostel with friendly staff. The top floor is cool - they have gone for a 'homely' theme and it works. A cool place to chill out. I think this place will only get better over time, as it's very new. Staff are very helpful and the location is good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationAuckland, Manager at The Station Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Greeting Travelling164! - Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We've now upgrading all our private rooms (Double/Twin) with all brand new bedding, toiletries & tea/coffee facility. We truly believe it would make you feel more homely on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Auckland.

Kind regards,

Nancy
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    16
    14
    33
See reviews for
2
15
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This Backpackrs sets great travel standarts. very clean, extremly uncomplicated staff, fast service, new bed & blankets, good managemnt. i see that they are very experianced in what they do! i felt very well here. two thumbs up!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Swensun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationAuckland, Manager at The Station Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Greeting Swensun! - Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We're well-known for our new & comfortable beds. We understand how important a good night sleep is to our guests and that's something we're very proud of.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Auckland.

Kind regards,

Nancy
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hostel with very helpful staff. Free wifi and washing powder, very comfy beds! Nice and quiet but very central. Perfect! Great communal kitchen with plenty of utensils and a comfy communal area with sofas and cable tv. Beats base backpackers any day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CescaCescaCesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationAuckland, Manager at The Station Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Greeting CescaCescaCesca! - Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your comments are very valued to us.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As we know our guests work/travel hard during the day and you need good sources of energy to get you to the next day, so we now offer free rice & pasta as a compliment to our lovely guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Possibly one of the nicest, cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in. Its only just opened so everything is brand new, new beds, new furniture, new everything. The staff were very nice and helpful and we ended up staying here for over 2 weeks while looking for work and it felt more like a home than a hostel. There's free WiFi as well which is a welcome change from paying for the crappy setups in most hostels. Its not the fastest internet I've ever seen but its free and it gets the job done. Its not far from the city either, 5 mins should have you in the city and there's a large supermarket just a minute down the road as well. There's an off Licence just beside the hostel as well. There's a nice common area and you can bring your own booze into the hostel which is great.
I would definitely recommend the hostel to anyone. I loved it there and will definitely be staying there next time I'm in Auckland.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TommyMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationAuckland, Manager at The Station Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Greeting TommyMayo! - Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your comments are very valued to us. We're glad to know that you enjoy staying with us during your time in Auckland.

We understand how important Wi-Fi/Internet service is to all travellers. We're currently in a process of upgrading our connections to provide a better service to our guests.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us & We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 120 in Auckland
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
1.4 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#18 of 120 in Auckland
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
1.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 120 in Auckland
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Backpackers

Property: The Station Backpackers
Address: 131 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Station Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Station Backpackers. Our quality hostel is set in a beautiful 1930's building, bursting with character & charm. We are vibrant, stylish, secure and situated in Downtown Auckland. Our friendly staff can fill you in with stories from our richly layered past which includes hosting former guests like legends Bob Marley & the Beatles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Station Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing