We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Station Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
13
25
21
15
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
25
21
15
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wificity centreprivate roomcountdown supermarketqueen streetbedsuniversitybritomart
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hostel is located on the 5th floor of what seems to be a former hotel. The reception and lobby at ground floor still resemble the entrance of a hotel, and even the hallways of the hostel still have a hotel-y look to them. Altogether, I found the hostel to be very clean. The beds and bathrooms were completely new. I loved staying here, everything was very comfortable and new. Only the arrangements for the ladies' showers were a bit unusual, because there were no small changing romps in front of them, instead the shower doors opened right into the bathrooms.

The waste was not separated, everything jut got thrown into one dustbin, which on overflowed. There was a bit of confusion among the staff about which beds needed to be made and which ones were still in use, because they didn't ask people to bring their pillowcase upon check-out.
The staff, however, were always very friendly, helpful and extremely efficient.

Also, the hostel offers free WiFi, which is probably not the fastest at times, but hey, it's FREE!

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationAuckland, Manager at The Station Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Greeting Julie A! - Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

The management team has taken your suggestion about the female shower arrangements seriously and we're looking at the best option to make a change. We also like to inform you that we're now providing a big recycle bin on every floor throughout the building. We concern about our environment and want to do the best we can to protect our clean & green NZ.

Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Auckland.

Kind regards,

Nancy
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on two occasions, both times in a double room. Very nice hostel with friendly staff. The top floor is cool - they have gone for a 'homely' theme and it works. A cool place to chill out. I think this place will only get better over time, as it's very new. Staff are very helpful and the location is good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationAuckland, Manager at The Station Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Greeting Travelling164! - Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We've now upgrading all our private rooms (Double/Twin) with all brand new bedding, toiletries & tea/coffee facility. We truly believe it would make you feel more homely on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Auckland.

Kind regards,

Nancy
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This Backpackrs sets great travel standarts. very clean, extremly uncomplicated staff, fast service, new bed & blankets, good managemnt. i see that they are very experianced in what they do! i felt very well here. two thumbs up!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Swensun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationAuckland, Manager at The Station Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Greeting Swensun! - Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We're well-known for our new & comfortable beds. We understand how important a good night sleep is to our guests and that's something we're very proud of.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Auckland.

Kind regards,

Nancy
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hostel with very helpful staff. Free wifi and washing powder, very comfy beds! Nice and quiet but very central. Perfect! Great communal kitchen with plenty of utensils and a comfy communal area with sofas and cable tv. Beats base backpackers any day.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CescaCescaCesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationAuckland, Manager at The Station Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Greeting CescaCescaCesca! - Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your comments are very valued to us.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As we know our guests work/travel hard during the day and you need good sources of energy to get you to the next day, so we now offer free rice & pasta as a compliment to our lovely guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Possibly one of the nicest, cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in. Its only just opened so everything is brand new, new beds, new furniture, new everything. The staff were very nice and helpful and we ended up staying here for over 2 weeks while looking for work and it felt more like a home than a hostel. There's free WiFi as well which is a welcome change from paying for the crappy setups in most hostels. Its not the fastest internet I've ever seen but its free and it gets the job done. Its not far from the city either, 5 mins should have you in the city and there's a large supermarket just a minute down the road as well. There's an off Licence just beside the hostel as well. There's a nice common area and you can bring your own booze into the hostel which is great.
I would definitely recommend the hostel to anyone. I loved it there and will definitely be staying there next time I'm in Auckland.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TommyMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationAuckland, Manager at The Station Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Greeting TommyMayo! - Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your comments are very valued to us. We're glad to know that you enjoy staying with us during your time in Auckland.

We understand how important Wi-Fi/Internet service is to all travellers. We're currently in a process of upgrading our connections to provide a better service to our guests.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us & We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews