We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SKYCITY Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Econo Lodge City Central(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Elliott St Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heritage Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,092)
Filter reviews
2,092 results
Traveller rating
930
813
256
49
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
930
813
256
49
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky city hotelfortuna restaurantbusy hotelfederal streetupgraded to a suitevalet parkingcentral locationnew zealandroom was largegreat roomthe heart of the citychecking outmini barstayed one nightbuffet breakfastqueen streetdicky
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,768 - 1,773 of 2,092 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Hotel was within walking distance to Viaduct and shopping district. Our room was clean, and spacious. Staff were friendly. Restaurant and Amenities were excellent. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear 'Holidayers007'

Thank you for your positive review, we appreciate it and look forward to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Great room quiet and spacious. Staff excellent reception form Hawkes Bay and doorman from Gisborne made stay excellent in big hotel some personal touches

Room Tip: Internal to avoid street
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear 'Hawky1'

Thank you for your positive review, we appreciate it and look forward to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the Skycity hotel in Auckland at the end of July and its handy for Queen street but not as handy for the Viaduct or waterfront.

We had pre paid for our hotel via a Travel Agent so when we checked in we expected everything to go very smoothly, but we were told we needed to give them a credit card for incidentals etc. We dont have credit cards just Debit cards, so they wanted us to take out $500 to give to them for our stay even though we had already paid! Apparently they won't use Debit cards as security, not sure why? They were quite rude and said we couldn't stop unless we gave them the money, we refused so they said they would just take $200, which we begrudgingly gave them. This all took time and we felt far from welcome. We had to wait for 15 minutes from checking out to get our $200 back, they didn't even check the room, so not sure what the story was there! It would be nice to have known about this before arriving. The room was fine although very noisy and quite a lot of work going on for the world cup which they did tell us about upon check in. We have stopped here before with our three children but we wouldn't stop again, there are a lot more convenient and friendly places to stop in Auckland. The casino on one of the floors makes it feel like a large profit organisation, rather than a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My partner and I stayed here, I thought it was great! We got a romance package, it came with good champagne on arrival, strawberries dipped in chocolate, valet parking, late check out, and a good bag of soaps/bath bombs. It was good value we only paid about $220 NZ a night. Oh and it came with room service breakfast too. The bed was a massive king size bed.

The only complaint, is that they were supposed to bring the
champagne/chocs for every night
we were there, but they didn't. I
didn't call to complain though so i guess thats my fault. Also, they tried to curve us for valet parking when we checked out, even though it was included in the package. But I picked up on it and they fixed it up. Other than that it was a beautiful hotel and great location.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amywelch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear 'AmyWelch86'

Thank you for your great review, we appreciate it and are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

I am sorry we did not arrange the amenities for your second night.

Please get in touch with me as I would like to offer these on your next stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We've been to SkyCity several times before. It's been a great place to stay.

Currently however they are doing some renovations on the upper floors. We were unfortunate to stay in the rooms immediately below the renovation area last week. We were not informed of this in advance and to our knowledge the place was fully booked so no possibility of moving rooms. We had a letter telling us about this on our arrival and saying that some noise was possible. We thought oh well we won't be in during the day, so no big deal.

But the noise went on until MIDNIGHT and began again at 5.00am! Not constant whirring noise but sudden thumps and tapping of nails with a hammer. Sounded like they were putting in carpets. Three days of disturbed sleep is no joke. We didn't complain because there was nowhere to go and work was paying. We were planning to stay an extra two nights privately, but decided to move elsewhere.

So...unless you are a very sound sleeper I would recommend you avoid this place or specifically ask for a room away from the restorations. As we could hear all this banging it makes me wonder if these upper rooms will have insufficient noise insulation to be a good choice in the future. If we ever go there again we will certainly be asking for floors other than those immediately below this new public area.

Additionally, but less important for us, the letter will also tell you that as the pool in SkyCity is being renovated you can use the pool in the Sky City Grand Hotel across the road. Great? Nope that is ALSO being renovated and the pool is empty with workers in the pool and a barrier across the door.

All very disappointing and obviously has left us with a poor opinion of the hotel currently. It has shown us that there are cheaper alternatives of a higher standard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Int_Academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Dear 'Int_Academic'

Thank you for your review and your continuous feedback about our property.

I was disappointed to hear you experienced noise disruption during your stay, due to current developments.

I would like to extend to you and your partner my sincere apologies.

In future I would recommend that if you experience this service please let our staff know so we can best look at options to and find a suitable outcome.

Construction is in the final stage with a finish date mid-August 2011, we look forward to welcoming you again soon and we trust you will have an enjoyable time at SKYCITY Hotel.

Sincerely,

Admir Mullaaliu

Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews