We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SKYCITY Hotel
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,114)
Filter reviews
2,114 results
Traveller rating
948
815
257
49
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
948
815
257
49
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky city hotelfortuna restaurantbusy hotelfederal streetupgraded to a suitevalet parkingcentral locationnew zealandroom was largegreat roomthe heart of the citychecking outmini barstayed one nightbuffet breakfastqueen streetdicky
Filter
Updating list...
1,747 - 1,752 of 2,114 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had a wonderful anniversary stay here and the added bonus of a free upgrade to a king suite. Awesome sized bed and room, very clean and great views. Location perfect for getting around Auckland too, very close to Sky Tower, Queen St, cinemas and heaps of restaurants. We had the in-room breakfast which was delivered promptly but we felt a tad over-priced. Also when checking out we were hit with a 1.5pc surcharge on paying by credit card. Very annoying. Businesses should suck these costs up, just charge the room out extra and no-one ever know!
Aside from that, it is an excellent hotel with great rooms and very attentive staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear "nzfox"

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

Happy anniversary, I am pleased you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade and the comforts of our Premium Suites.

In regards to the credit card surcharge, credit card transaction fees are now commonly charged across all sectors of the economy. The travel industry is no exception, with businesses such as airlines, travel agents and taxis having these fees in place for several places.

There is no profit margin included in the transaction fee. The fees are set at a level which assists us to recover the merchant fee costs. Any future reduction in the merchant fees charged to SkyCity Hotel will be immediately passed on to our guests

I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback as we continue to strive for improvement.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

SkyCity has a great location. It is centrally located so that you can walk to a lot of places. We only had 1 night there so it was important that the hotel we chose was close to all the sights. The hotel is really big. It has the Sky tower in it and you can do the Sky walk (which we did) or the Sky jump there. The casino was a nice size although there were no good old fashion "vegas-like" slot machines, all video now. The room had a really nice view of the harbor and was a decent size. Overall, for what I paid, it was definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear "qtpie815"

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I am glad you had an enjoyable experience and that you found the location convenient.

We look forward to welcome you back at SKYCITY Hotel.

Kind regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel just kept giving. We picked this hotel because of its location at the same cost as an average motel. It fulfilled every possible need and more. Casino, restaurants, bars, pool exclusive spa, excellent service. We were spoilt for choice, if only we could have stayed longer. Will come back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bohemian_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear bohemian_traveller

Thank you for your recent review on SKYCITY Hotel.

I am glad you had an enjoyable experience and found our many facilities to your satisfaction.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcome you back in New Zealand for your next holiday.

Kind regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This is the 7th or 8th time I have stayed at Skycity/Grand Hotel and I enjoyed every minute of it.
I do prefer Skycity to the Grand because everything you need is under one roof and you don't have to cross the street to get there.
The reception staff is professional and polite and the concierge are quick and helpful.
The rooms have lots of space, decor modern and cool, bathroom so clean.
I have stayed at other hotels in the CBD and around Auckland but none of them compares to
Skycity Hotel.
Keep up the good work guys.
See yous when I check in again.

Viki JOHN

Room Tip: If you want a quite room and want to sit outside to enjoy the sun and breeze ask for a courtyard room on H1, the room doors opens out into the courtyard. If you want a room with the city view ask for corner suites on the upper floors
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikiJ460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear Viki,

Welcome back and thank you for your recent review on SKYCITY Hotel.

I am most pleased you had an enjoyable experience and found our staff professional and polite.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcome you back.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with your next room allocation and we will ensure we can accommodate you in a courtyard room or a city view room, whichever you prefer the most.

Kindest regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The hotel has nice rooms and it's walking distance to all of downtown. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices, but, aside from the yogurt, the food wasn't very good. There is not enough light to read at night except in the bathroom. They allow you 30 minutes of wi-fi per 24 hours of hotel stay, and only in the lobby. (What century are these hotels in?). Casino is enormous and was being remodeled while we were there. Hotel is very convenient if you want to gamble or do the sky-city walk around the top of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear Ready2Go2008,

Thank you for your recent review of SKYCITY Hotel.

I was pleased you found the hotel rooms to your satisfaction and the hotel location convenient.

Thank you also for your constructive feedback and we will continue to strive for improvement.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcome you back in New Zealand on your next holiday.

Kind regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews