We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend escape to Skycity”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We took a weekend escaEepe to Auckland for the weekend. The staff at Sky City were helpful and very friendly.The venue is fantastic with everything under one roof, if you wanted to you could be kept amused without leaving the building.The hotel is busy but I expect they were a little quiter due to Auckland aniversery weekend.The casino was fun and the sky jump is a must do if you have a spare $200 to play with.
Thanks Sky City hotel for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear "Natman72"

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel.

I am delighted you found our team helpful and very friendly as we take great pride in delivering great customer service to our guests.

Also, many thanks for the recommendations of the SKYCITY facilities, I agree that there is so much do and see at SKYCITY and I am very pleased you were kept entertained.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,597 - 1,603 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Apparently a 4star residence, it's very dated and cheesy.
Not great value for money, pay slightly more for the Skycity Grand or skip altogether and go for the Heritage, similar price and nicer.
Also, the Sky Tower isn't really central Auckland.... most of the bars and restaurants are down the hill at britomart or viaduct area, this is quite a walk to and from and good luck getting a taxi to take you such a short distance!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumboshrimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear "jumboshrimpy"

Thank you for your constructive review of SKYCITY Hotel.

We take great pride in our products & services and continue to improve our facilities with various refurbishments.

Since your last visit in June 2011, here at SKYCITY we have been busy completing the development of 4 new Restaurants and Bars and the refurbishment of the popular Fortuna buffet restaurant.

Many visitors find the SKYTower, an Auckland icon, central and in the heart of the city and I am disappointed you felt otherwise.

We look forward to welcoming you back at SKYCITY and I trust you will enjoy selecting one of the 24 Bars and Restaurants on site.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent a night in the Hotel. The rooms are large with good sized bathrooms. The front desk was understaffed and as a result it took a while to check in. The staff are very helpful. we were there in the first week of January and all the restaurants were not open but those that were provided good service.

This is a great hotel to stay at if you are in Auckland. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear “EricJ123”

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I am pleased you found our rooms comfortable and of good size. I am sorry the check in process took longer than our standard practice but I am satisfied that you found our team members helpful, which often makes the difference.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The staff at Sky City are awesome. Nothing is a problem and they are always willing to help. Special mention to concierge Tiki who had things done even before you knew you wanted them done.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear “Mike B”

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I was delighted you received fantastic service from our team members, in particular from our concierge Dicky who is always friendly and enjoys every guest interaction.

Dicky will be most pleased with the feedback received, thank you!

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights on the 1st of January.
.
When you pull up to the hotel you may be overwhelmed by the amount of people around due to it also being the lobby of the casino. However, it is a nice enough lobby. Check in was smooth with a good/friendly receptionist. We had buffet breakfast included and parked our own car. Room was clean with nice decor and beds. Not a good view as we were on the 7th floor looking at the stem of the sky tower.

Pool was nice but was located in the sister property Sky grand hotel. So it is a bit of a walk and you have to go through the casino and convention centre to get there or exit the hotel and re-enter the Sky grand hotel in a different street. Good gym. Breakfast was nice enough although a lot of the staff looked unorganised and inept.
.
Only real problem we had is waiting one day to have or parking validated. After waiting 20 minutes at reception the female receptionist was that busy with clients that she gave me the wrong exit card. After going to the underground car park i realised she did not think we were staying out the hotel so did not have get the cheaper rate of $20 a night. I had to go back up and wait another 10 minutes before a different receptionist fixed the problem. He looked very proficient and was apologetic for his colleague.
.
We stayed at this hotel as we wanted to go up the Sky tower and see some local attractions. Overall a good stay for a tourist. If the hotel allowed 2 adults and 2 children in the Sky grand hotel we would stay there next time to avoid the casino patrons.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeye007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear “yeye007”

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I was pleased to read overall you had a good stay. Apologies you had a delay with the exiting the carpark and I am pleased the team did fix the problem for you.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back at SKYCITY Hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

If you are in Auckland and want to visit the sky tower it will cost you about $29-00 per head but if you want some good advise book into the OBSERVATORY Restaurant for a great meal cost around $69-00 per head which alows you to go up sky tower 45 minutes before your meal enjoy the scene,have a buffet meal terrific food,seafood,hot and cold meats,salads,deserts ,tea or coffee all for about $40-00,fantastic value as you will find out..

Room Tip: all rooms are quite and peacful just ask at desk when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear “Rex W”

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I was pleased to read you had another enjoyable stay.

I am sure other TripAdvisor members would appreciate your advise, I agree Observatory is great value for money and the spectacular views of Auckland just make it even more unique.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back at SKYCITY Hotel soon.

Kindest regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

All the staff that we came across were fantastic and more than met our expectations. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, and added to a very relaxing holiday for my whole family. Can't speak highly enought about our whole experience. Oh and theEggs Benedict and French toast on the breakfast buffet was great too, I will miss it for sure!!

Room Tip: For families the connecting rooms are a great option. Pay a little extra and get breakfast included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear “Andy L”

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I was delighted to read you and your family had a relaxing stay and that our team members made sure you were well looked after.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you and your family back at SKYCITY Hotel soon.

Kindest regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £115 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing