We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, worth a visit.”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
paisley
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good hotel, worth a visit.”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed three nights in this hotel in a king room. Enjoyed my stay. In a good location. Quite near the city express bus stop. Be prepared for a short walk up a steep hill!
Room modern and clean. Has a bath and shower.
In a good location for shops and restaurants.
I had lunch at the fortuna buffet got there quite late. Only chicken or ham available at carvery, new Zealand and no lamb.baas!!!
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmbpaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear "hmbpaisley"

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel.

I am very pleased your had an enjoyable stay and found our rooms modern and clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back at SKYCITY, and we will no doubt have lamb in the menu of the popular Fortuna buffet restaurant on your next visit.

Many Thanks

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    744
    240
    49
    40
See reviews for
285
832
122
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We took a weekend escaEepe to Auckland for the weekend. The staff at Sky City were helpful and very friendly.The venue is fantastic with everything under one roof, if you wanted to you could be kept amused without leaving the building.The hotel is busy but I expect they were a little quiter due to Auckland aniversery weekend.The casino was fun and the sky jump is a must do if you have a spare $200 to play with.
Thanks Sky City hotel for a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear "Natman72"

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel.

I am delighted you found our team helpful and very friendly as we take great pride in delivering great customer service to our guests.

Also, many thanks for the recommendations of the SKYCITY facilities, I agree that there is so much do and see at SKYCITY and I am very pleased you were kept entertained.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Apparently a 4star residence, it's very dated and cheesy.
Not great value for money, pay slightly more for the Skycity Grand or skip altogether and go for the Heritage, similar price and nicer.
Also, the Sky Tower isn't really central Auckland.... most of the bars and restaurants are down the hill at britomart or viaduct area, this is quite a walk to and from and good luck getting a taxi to take you such a short distance!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumboshrimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear "jumboshrimpy"

Thank you for your constructive review of SKYCITY Hotel.

We take great pride in our products & services and continue to improve our facilities with various refurbishments.

Since your last visit in June 2011, here at SKYCITY we have been busy completing the development of 4 new Restaurants and Bars and the refurbishment of the popular Fortuna buffet restaurant.

Many visitors find the SKYTower, an Auckland icon, central and in the heart of the city and I am disappointed you felt otherwise.

We look forward to welcoming you back at SKYCITY and I trust you will enjoy selecting one of the 24 Bars and Restaurants on site.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
246 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent a night in the Hotel. The rooms are large with good sized bathrooms. The front desk was understaffed and as a result it took a while to check in. The staff are very helpful. we were there in the first week of January and all the restaurants were not open but those that were provided good service.

This is a great hotel to stay at if you are in Auckland. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear “EricJ123”

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I am pleased you found our rooms comfortable and of good size. I am sorry the check in process took longer than our standard practice but I am satisfied that you found our team members helpful, which often makes the difference.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The staff at Sky City are awesome. Nothing is a problem and they are always willing to help. Special mention to concierge Tiki who had things done even before you knew you wanted them done.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear “Mike B”

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I was delighted you received fantastic service from our team members, in particular from our concierge Dicky who is always friendly and enjoys every guest interaction.

Dicky will be most pleased with the feedback received, thank you!

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights on the 1st of January.
.
When you pull up to the hotel you may be overwhelmed by the amount of people around due to it also being the lobby of the casino. However, it is a nice enough lobby. Check in was smooth with a good/friendly receptionist. We had buffet breakfast included and parked our own car. Room was clean with nice decor and beds. Not a good view as we were on the 7th floor looking at the stem of the sky tower.

Pool was nice but was located in the sister property Sky grand hotel. So it is a bit of a walk and you have to go through the casino and convention centre to get there or exit the hotel and re-enter the Sky grand hotel in a different street. Good gym. Breakfast was nice enough although a lot of the staff looked unorganised and inept.
.
Only real problem we had is waiting one day to have or parking validated. After waiting 20 minutes at reception the female receptionist was that busy with clients that she gave me the wrong exit card. After going to the underground car park i realised she did not think we were staying out the hotel so did not have get the cheaper rate of $20 a night. I had to go back up and wait another 10 minutes before a different receptionist fixed the problem. He looked very proficient and was apologetic for his colleague.
.
We stayed at this hotel as we wanted to go up the Sky tower and see some local attractions. Overall a good stay for a tourist. If the hotel allowed 2 adults and 2 children in the Sky grand hotel we would stay there next time to avoid the casino patrons.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeye007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear “yeye007”

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I was pleased to read overall you had a good stay. Apologies you had a delay with the exiting the carpark and I am pleased the team did fix the problem for you.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back at SKYCITY Hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

If you are in Auckland and want to visit the sky tower it will cost you about $29-00 per head but if you want some good advise book into the OBSERVATORY Restaurant for a great meal cost around $69-00 per head which alows you to go up sky tower 45 minutes before your meal enjoy the scene,have a buffet meal terrific food,seafood,hot and cold meats,salads,deserts ,tea or coffee all for about $40-00,fantastic value as you will find out..

Room Tip: all rooms are quite and peacful just ask at desk when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear “Rex W”

Thank you for your recent SKYCITY Hotel review.

I was pleased to read you had another enjoyable stay.

I am sure other TripAdvisor members would appreciate your advise, I agree Observatory is great value for money and the spectacular views of Auckland just make it even more unique.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back at SKYCITY Hotel soon.

Kindest regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing