We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, Poor shower facilities (flooding)”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Hotel was fairly full during my overnight stay and was put up in a disabled room. The shower head broke off during our shower, for better or worse, as I later discovered the room was flooded, from the bathroom out to the room carpet and further to the corridor. Housekeeping knocked on our door to alert us to this and helped with drying up the carpet.

Maintenance came but was of little help as we agreed that the flooding was due to the poor design of the disabled bathroom: the drain was raised with no drainage gradient visisble thus making drainage poor and causing the water to flow outwards to the room instead. Being a disabled room, there was no bath, and only had a shower with a slightly lowered floor (which was pointless as the drain was raised).

Staff were helpful throughout the whole ordeal and offered to move as to another room of similar category which was unfortunately a lot warmer as it was on the top floor, and smaller as it wasn't a disabled room. We declined the room, and decided to stay as the staff insisted the hotel was fully booked and did not have any other alternative room to put us up for the night.

The shower head was fixed but due to flooding concerns we decided against showering. The Junior Manager later offered Deutz Brut Cuvee and chocolates as an apology which we accepted. I felt that we should have been instead upgraded as I later discovered via their website that they had higher category rooms available for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machimaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,931)
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,548 - 1,554 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. We got a romantic package. The room and service was great, and the wine and chocolate strawberry tower was perfect. We however got woken up at 6am in the morning, with building maintainance. We werent warned about this when we booked or when we checked in. It was very loud and when we were wanting to sleep in, it was a very big letdown. I complained at the sevice desk , but they just said sorry. I had to email the complaints department and they offered us a free upgrade next time we stay. It is a good hotel other than this experiance.

Room Tip: ask if theres any building happening when your there.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here overnight after all day flight to Auckland - room was clean and comfortable, check in/out pleasant and efficient. Concierge staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Worth visiting the Sky Tower, wonderful views of Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaccy_13_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best,
Admir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and chose this hotel because of the location - in the heart of the cbd. And very close to public transport + it had restaurants etc so didn't need to venture far. As soon as we arrived the staff were attentive and very welcoming.
Our room was spacious and clean and comfortable. After settling in we decided to go the Jade Dragon Restaurant, food was yummy! The waiting staff were ok.
We didn't get to check out most of what the hotel had to offer as we checked in pretty late and was really tired. We will definitely return again and this time it will be a longer stay and adults only! Me and my girlfriends are planning a stay here so can't wait.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exodusdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear "exodus diva"

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel.

I was pleased to read you were look after by our staff and that you found the rooms to be spacious and comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again and we will be delighted to look after you and your girlfriends on your next trip to Auckland.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us.

Kind Regards

Admir Mullaaliu | admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Hotel Operations Manager | SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Will be my first choice of hotels in Auckland from now on. Great location, helpful staff, and good facilities combine to make this a very nice hotel. Rooms are relatively spacious and mini-bar adequately stocked.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eds64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear 'eds64'

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for recommending SKYCITY Hotel to other travelers.

I am very pleased we now are your first choice of hotels in Auckland and trust we will continue to deliver to your expectations.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I travel to Auckland for business at least once a month and always choose to stay at SKYCITY Hotel when possible. Since the renovations were completed October last year, I have nothing but great things to say about the Hotel and the Hotel Staff. The new bars & restaurants next to SKYCITY are a welcome addition (saves having to walk down to the Viaduct for a good meal). The rooms are always spotless & the beds are very comfortable. The blackout curtains are great if you are jetlagged and need to catch up on some sleep during the daylight hours. The Air Con could be quieter, but it's not a major issue.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear "Jeremy J"

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel.

I am pleased to read you continuously receive great service from SKYCITY Hotel team and that you find our rooms spotless and the beds comfortable.

I agree that the blackout curtains are a great room feature to make the morning sleep-in a little bit sweeter!

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Good location at the base of the Auckland Skytower. Near shopping, restaurants and most services. Casino is on premises but we didn't play. Internet services were available in our room but WiFi was only available in the lobby and free once per day for a maximum of 30 minutes. Very inadequate for my iPad and inconvenient for myself. For this reason, I would not stay hear again unless WiFi services improved. Especially for a hotel of this stature who charges the rates it does.

Room Tip: Was given a room with a view of inside court. Perhaps request a view of city.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear "RicknElsie"

I am pleased you had a good stay and I thank you for your constructive TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel.

SKYCITY Hotel team looks forward to welcoming you again soon. I will get in touch when we have our W-Fi installed throughout the Hotel which is planned to happen in the first half of 2012.

Kind Regards.

Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Operations Manager
SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £102 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing