We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot go wrong”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cannot go wrong”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hotel is in the middle of everything in Auckland. Short strall to harbour, parks, restaurants and right at the bottom of Sky Tower. Next to Inter City bus terminal if you travel by bus. Short walk from Queen Street where buses from/to airport stop.
Big rooms and bathrooms, well maintained and quite. Comfortable bed. Did not try breakfast. Lots of eateries around.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear 'otk25'

Thank you for your positive TripAdvisor review.

I am pleased you found our facilities and service satisfactory, also I am glad you did the Sky Walk and Sky Jump combo - having done both myself, I agree it is a real fun experience. Thank you for recommending SKYCITY to other travellers.

I hope you had an enjoyable stay in New Zealand and a safe trip back home to Canada.

We look forward to welcome you back at SKYCITY Hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Admir Mullaaliu | admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Hotel Operations Manager | SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    744
    240
    49
    40
See reviews for
285
832
122
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you are in to Casinos - this is for you (I am not). Notwithstanding this the hotel is part of the overall Skycity Casino complex. You do not therefore have to go any distance for your gambling needs. There are plenty of different style eateries to satisfy most peoples tastes.The hotel reception is situated in the main complex foyer and can be a little confusing on first arrival. The rooms themselves are well appointed with modern facilities. Good views from the windows. Buffet breakfast available would have to offer the largest range of food i have seen anywhere....and for buffet food it is pretty alright. The Skycity complex is pretty handy to all downtown facilities including bars, restaurants, and Queen St shopping. It is only a 10/15 minute walk from viaduct harbour - where there is quite bit of night life. I would rate this place fairly highly for the overall experience a person or families can have within the complex and the surrounding area. This includes the Skytower with walks, and bungy all in one location. Staff at the hotel are always very attentive and friendly. Great parking facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardnut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear 'Hardnut59'

Thank you for your detailed TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel, I am sure other travellers would appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and we will be delighted to continue delivering to your expectations.

Kind Regards

Admir Mullaaliu | admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Hotel Operations Manager | SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Efficient , well trained staff. Large room with great view. We found it rather a strange place as there were always people there taking photos of the tower. It was a bit like staying in a railway station. The hotel is well placed for restaurants and shopping , and is walking distance to the waterfront. Nice big safe . Very comfy beds.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear "maxandrosie"

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel. I trust you had an enjoyable trip back home to Spain.

I was pleased to read you found our staff efficient and well trained. Also thank you for recommending to other travellers our large rooms and comfortable beds.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and we will be delighted to look after you on your next holiday to Auckland.

Kind Regards

Admir Mullaaliu | admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Hotel Operations Manager | SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a fairly large hotel with a casino on the property. It is located in central downtown Auckland giving easy access to transportation, including ferries to the various islands. The room was a good size but pretty standard for a large hotel. The breakfast buffet was the most impressive I've ever seen...truly something for everyone and very fresh.

One item of note: the harbor view rooms are a "distant" harbor view over industrial buildings. The view wasn't horrible but you are actually pretty far away from the harbor although you can see it in the distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear "egliz"

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel. I trust you had an enjoyable trip back home to New York.

I was pleased to read you found our property centrally located with easy access to transport, it certainly. Also thank you for recommending our Fortuna breakfast buffet restaurant to other travellers, I agree it is truly impressive and has a range of wide choices.

I would like add as you rightly point out that we do not advertise as waterfront property and as such our harbour view rooms do indeed offer views of the harbour, albeit you may find this distant.


We look forward to welcoming you back again and we will be delighted to look after you on your next holiday to Auckland.

Kind Regards

Admir Mullaaliu | admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Hotel Operations Manager | SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Great hotel in the centre of Auckland we had the chance of staying a few times over the past couple of months and ideal for both those business trips and leisure stays. The hotel team is definately a real asset to the property offering great professional attentive services, rooms are well layed out with all of what you need for a comfortable stay. Great choice of restaurants inside but also now on the side street with a strong recommendation for the Oyster Bar. High recommendation for a central hotel

Room Tip: Definately go for a Harbour View King Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear "F & A"

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to look after you during your stays in Auckland, thank you for choosing SKYCITY and for recommending our property to other travellers.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon and we will be delighted to host you at our very own Depot by Al Brown.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Hotel Operations Manager | SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights everything was great. The rooms are nice and tidy beds are comfy staff are welcoming and there is plenty to especially when the casino is only an elevator lift away and a skytower tour!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiwi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear "skiwi2012"

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel.

It is great to read you found everything, from staff to rooms and comfortable beds, to your satisfaction during your two nights stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Hotel Operations Manager | SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This place is great
Whilst you are just a number to the staff I did find them very helpful when I required assistance with luggage or for them to bring something to my room.
The property is located right in the heart of the city & is just a short walk from the viaduct.
Starbucks right out the front as well as a great little Italian restaurant which is super cheap & offers lovely food. The restaurants within the hotel/casino are a little expensive but I never expected any less from this maze.
The room/bathroom was a good size & the bed was very comfy.
When night hits the casino & bars really get moving & it's all just a short elevator ride away from the comfort of your room which I loved.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear "MSCBribane"

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable experience at SKYCITY and found our staff helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and we will be delighted to look after you on your next trip to Auckland.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us.

Kind Regards

Admir Mullaaliu | admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Hotel Operations Manager | SKYCITY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing