We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Rooms are excellent and very spacious. Pity that no gym & pool are advertised in the compendium.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidKriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your recommendation of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you taking the time.Should you return to Auckland City our team will be delighted to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel.
Best wishes
Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    709
    232
    47
    39
See reviews for
269
806
115
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

The welcome by Mohit was very happy, and nice, he answered all of our questions and directed us to all the facilities. The room was incredible, by spacious, clean, and the bathroom was amazing! Great stay, totally recommend it, and already have to all my friends!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your recommendation of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you taking the time.Should you return to Auckland City our team will be delighted to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel.
Best wishes
Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed for one night, twin superior room was very nice, spotlessly clean, room service food not that great, staff excellent, did not have time to use resturants or bars, was situated a few streets back from the main Queen Street on a bit of a steep hill

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaovestoholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your recommendation of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you taking the time.Should you return to Auckland City our team will be delighted to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel.
Best wishes
Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed one night at Skycity Hotel and really appreciated it. As we booked the cheapest room, we did not expect much - but we were positively surprised, when we entered the room. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. Also Skycity Hotel is situated very central, so you can reach nearly everything in walking distance. Good Cafés and restaurants are in walking distance. We also visited the nearby Skytower, which was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your recommendation of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you taking the time.Should you return to Auckland City our team will be delighted to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel.
Best wishes
Admir Mullaaliu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Well I would recommend Sky City too everyone that wants a break and fantastic service. From the moment we check in the staff were all very helpful. There is a young man on concierge that was exceptional with all his help. Do not remember his name, but he is tall and very young around 17, 18, if you happen too see him he is very good. He takes the time too make sure you have settled in and if you have any questions he is there too help. All the staff are brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharyn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I called the concierge and asked them to book a restaurant for me. The response I reviewed was that we do not make bookings for restaurants not within our complex. Rooms are dated and def due for an upgrade. I stayed at the rydges once before for half the price and double the value. No free wifi nor can it be purchased on a mobile device, which is pretty poor for a hotel in this day and age.location is great for sure, however don't be fooled, this is not luxurious, far from it. The grand hotel over the road looks much nicer. Bathrooms where below average standard and very basic toiletries provided.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elibellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Value for money. Very easy to locate especially for those not from Auckland. Just need to take reference from the SkyCity Tower and navigate toward the location. You never get lost.

You can get free parking by redeeming coupon or Action points.

Super is easily available at the Casino till 2am.

As for the CasiNO, its your luck that counts.

Room Tip: H2 and above if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Nomad1965,

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at SKYCITY Hotel. Standing at 328 metres the SKY tower is certainly an impressive point of reference for the Hotel.

Our team hopes to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel when you are next in Auckland.

Kind regards,

Tracey Walsh
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing