We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skycity Hotel”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a week in August, a mix of business and holiday. Very nice, comfortable, with friendly accomodating staff throughout. Location is great, close to shopping, 15 minute walk to ferry. Our room had a very large window with a great view. Breakfast buffet was excellent though a bit pricey. There is a casino, if that is of interest, and the Sky Tower which is fun to visit.
I had manicure in the spa - the women working there were absolutely lovely and the spa is beautiful. It was very expensive, but worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Rajalance,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to deliver an exceptional guest experience and I am delighted to hear your wonderful feedback.

We would love to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel should you return to Auckland City.

Kind Regards,
Tracey Walsh
Guest Relations Manager SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,931)
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had a minor problem when we arrived for which they comp'ed us a meal which was evidence of the excellent service which followed throughout our stay (save for breakfast).
The rooms are large, well appointed and comfortable, the restaurants are good and therefore not cheap but if you are short of cash try Denny's across the road.
The casino is an excellent attraction as is the Tower and the shopping is only 100 yards away.
The only problem is the breakfast buffet staff who everyday hide behind their counter playing with thejr mobile phones whilst plates pile up and dishes run out.
Otherwise a great stay

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FishingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Dear FishingTraveller,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read you had a great stay and your comments regarding our service levels. I was disappointed to read of your experience at breakfast. Please be assured this is not the high level of service we take pride in at SKYCITY. I welcome you to contact me with your details in order for me to fully investigate this matter.

I hope to hear from you shortly.

Kind regards,
Tracey Walsh tracey.walsh@skycity.co.nz
Guest Relations Manager SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed here for a work Conference, there was 500 of us and the staff were incredible. They handled the check in and luggage perfectly. Clean Hotel, confusing to navigate around though. Casino in the hotel is great. Concierge is great. Great Location just short walk to the main area of shopping. Highly recommend this hotel. The service was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Dear Cassie7789,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to deliver an exceptional guest experience and I am delighted to hear your positive feedback. Please be assured I have feedback your wonderful comments to our team.

We would love to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel should you return to Auckland City.

Kind Regards,
Tracey Walsh
Guest Relations Manager SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My partner and I stayed in the Harbour view premium room for a birthday weekend for my boyfriend :). At checkin I was greeted by a gorgeous girl called Sandra, she was very helpful and are checkin as smooth n easy as possible even tho we arrived just over 30 mins early. Room was spacious and clean but feel they need more channels on the tv. We ordered room service that night and was very impressed by the quite handsome guy who made two trips to bring our food/drinks, didn't catch his name but his customer service was impecable. That morning we awoke to very loud bass music coming from next door and as we left about our day saw it was the cleaners playing their music on the stereo in the room while they cleaned as if no one was there, which I found very rude and disrespectful. Came back to find the room wasnt cleaned properly, a cleaning cloth was left beside the bed and not all towels were replaced. The next day however whoever cleaned our room did an amazing job and was very happy. Apart from the little downfalls here n there the rest of our stay was quite nice and our checkout was quick and easy. We hope to stay again soon x

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Bexbub,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Firstly, happy belated birthday, I am thrilled our team assisted in making your day special. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to deliver an exceptional level of service and I am delighted to read your wonderful comments regarding Sandra and your experience at check in. Please be assured I have feedback your comments to our team.

I was disappointed to read your feedback regarding the noise disturbance you experienced during your stay with us. I welcome you to contact me with your details to allow me to fully investigate this matter.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks and kind regards,
Tracey Walsh
Guest Relations Manager SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I was little wary on arrival at how integrated into the casino the hotel was, but after a friendly check-in, I was very impressed with my room. It was a king-size bed, with very clean and new features / facilities. Because i was there for business and didn't have much time, I ordered room-service and it was one of the highest quality room service meals I've had anywhere.

I actually can't find anything to criticise about the room or service - was a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Jane4546,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to deliver an exceptional guest experience. I am delighted to read your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We would love to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel should you return to Auckland City.

Kind regards,
Tracey Walsh
Guest Relations Manager SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

First point of contact was Anuma she was extremely professional and answered my questions respectfully also highlighting dining options. I am a smoker so she ensured we had a room with a door to the outside courtyard I had an appointment the next day in town and Anuma organised a late checkout without making it seem like a inconvenient. I organised breakfast and it was delicious . All the staff were very professional and looked very smart definitely a huge asset. If time would of permitted i would of stayed another day. The courtyard did leaving me feeling like nemo in the movie.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenevieveVanEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear GenevieveVanEden,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding Anuma. Please be assured I will pass your feedback onto Anuma and our team.

We take pride in delivering excellent customer service and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Tracey Walsh
Guest Relations Manager SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Rented a premium king suite at SKYCITY hotel for my partners birthday at the end of July! Although it made a dent in my student wallet it was well worth it to see the look on his face :) the room was absolutely amazing!! Spotless clean. Had two rooms large rooms (living area and bedroom) which could be shut off from each other. The bed was huge and super comfortable and all the furniture was really modern. The bath was pretty small but amazing shower with two shower heads! We enjoyed relaxing in the room, had dinner in the city and spent a bit of time in the casino which was also enjoyable and absolutely packed with people. All the staff were really friendly, when I had a few inquiries about parking and the internet the reception staff were easily able to answer everything I needed to know

Would definitely recommend this hotel to people coming to Auckland and those in Auckland looking for a weekend of luxury!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Julia O,

I was delighted to read your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to hear our team assisted in making your partner’s birthday special. Please be assured I have feedback your positive comments to our team who will be delighted to hear this.

We take pride in delivering excellent customer service and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Tracey Walsh
Guest Relations Manager SKYCITY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £102 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing