We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing start to wedding weekend”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing start to wedding weekend”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

THANK YOU SO MUCH SKY CITY...
Our friends brought us a room at Sky City as a present in the lead up to our wedding and we were absolutely blown away by the service we received.
Welcomed by friendly professional staff at check in and valet promptly collecting our bags and taking them direct to our room. Our room was gorgeous and welcomed us with bubbles and a rose petal heart on the bed (what a above and beyond service - really made us feel special and excited for our upcoming celebrations). Room service was also fantastic service and the breakfast menu had everything we wanted and more.
The amount of entertainment within Sky City meant we stayed out a little later than we meant too however the super comfy bed that welcomed us at the end of the evening and an extra long sleep in helped set us up for the best weekend of our lives.
Would recommend to anyone - thank you for a brilliant stay :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Sonia S,

Firstly, congratulations on your recent marriage. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to deliver an exceptional guest experience and I was delighted to read your wonderful feedback. I have shared your comments with our In-room Dining Manager and the rest of our team.

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    760
    243
    50
    42
See reviews for
295
848
126
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay for one night here as it was the cheapest of all other hotels I had considered that were at least a 4*. For a 4.5* though, I would've expected rates below $200 but maybe I'm asking for too much. The room had a view of the outside roof, the room was clean and the furnishings up to date. I had a joint bath+shower combination in the bathroom. The room was fine for one night but even though it is half a star less than its brother SkyCity Grand Hotel, it felt like it was at least 1.5* less and the Grand Hotel was about $30-$40 more for more so if it came down to price only paying a little more, I'd pay the little more.

Nice hotel but if you've experienced a 5* or SkyCity Grand before, go for them over this.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enelenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Enelenz,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor post.

SKYCITY Hotel offers dynamic pricing and is always competitive in charging guests the market rate this means that some days of the week we will have lower prices and other day the price may be higher. Please be assured SKYCITY Hotel offers best available rates.

Should you wish to discuss your visit in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
Admir
Admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

A grand hotel right in the heart of Auckland right under the tallest tower in the Southern Hemisphere. The hotel was very crowded (as were most hotels in Auckland that week) and this one in particular on account of visitors going in/out of the Sky Tower tours right through the lobby. The bay facing rooms (Hobson St) on the higher floors (3 or 4) were good (I stayed in 430 for 2 nights) but the inside facing rooms (stayed in 429 for 2 nights) were rather dreary. I think the two rooms that I stayed in were for handicapped people and the shower was a huge space with a weird shower curtain that really didn't protect the space on the outside of the shower area and got completely wet but at least the floors were not slippery. The room was spacious with two large double beds, coffee/tea making facilities, wardrobes, iron+board, table and free wifi. There was no breakfast included on our rate but there were a couple of cafes literally around the corner and I used the Coffee Club and Dennys for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for Bay rooms (Hobson St)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJ_London2World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear VJ_London2World.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read you had the opportunity to sample a range of our different room offerings. Our accessible room is always the last room type to be sold. It is our standard practice to inform our guests the room type booked when making the reservations. I apologise if this was not clearly communicated to her.

The team and I look forward to your next visit to SKYCITY Hotel.

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Overall the hotel delivered what you would expect from this Class of Hotel. There was certainly nothing spectacular. The TV froze and it took 2 attempts to have it looked at. The Compendium was not up to date which resulted in another phone call to reception

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Ctbates,

Here at SKYCITY we strive to provide an exceptional experience to all our guests. I welcome you to contact me with your details to allow me to fully investigate the points you have raised.

Many thanks,
Admir
admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

When we arrived the lobby area was very busy with Chinese New Year celebrations, we were checked in quickly though. The room was quiet no noise from downstairs or from the casino which is part of the hotel.

The room was very comfortable and there was plenty of room for all of us (2 adults, 2 children) . Staff were helpful and made some good recommendations for restaurants near by. You are of course right next to the sky tower and you can walk to the marina area in 10-15mins.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Adam World,

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor. I hope you have returned safely with your family to London.

Best wishes,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Having stayed at Sky City many times by far this was the best! The room make overs have lifted this hotel from beautiful to elegant and like no other. The shower coming straight from the roof felt like I was in a tropical paradise. Could not get out! The staff always so willing to help and always with a friendly smile. Chinese New Year made the hotel come to life with lots happening and gorgeous decorations. Always recommend this hotel as a place to stay. Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bexmacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Bexmacp,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at SKYCITY Hotel. The team and I are incredibly proud of our newly refurbished designer bathrooms which feature European tap ware and walk-in showers with ‘rain shower’ shower heads. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with my team.

I look forward to your next stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

Many thanks,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Skycity is a great hotel which we have visited numerous times due to its central location and easy access to entertainment and restaurants in the area. We arrived for two nights on the 14th of feb, and were greeted by friendly staff at the valet who happily arranged to have our baggage taken to our room and pointed us in the direction of the front desk. The room was great apart from a lightbulb which had blown, but that was not a major hassle in the end as we made our way to the city/casino. Great stay, would happily recommend, sleep was easy, great value for the package we purchased, and the breakfast at fortuna restaurant was again amazing. Thanks SkyCity!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Admir Mullaaliu, Hotel Operations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Barney M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I have shared your wonderful feedback with my team. Please keep an eye on our website and facebook page for updates regarding latest hotel package offerings.

The team and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Best,
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing