We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super service and exciting stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super service and exciting stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I wasn't expecting much for some reason, but was pleasantly surprised. Staff were very helpful to rectify the fact that I booked the wrong package deal without costing me much extra, I got breakfast included in my package and they didn't charge any extra for my two children and even got parking for free. I was stoked and definitely will come back and recommend to my friends and family. The bonus was that the kids thought it was SO very cool, they loved the sky tower, I got a big relaxing bath and the bed was super comfortable. Thanks for an awesome stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Jody,

I am delighted our team were able to assist you in correcting your accommodation package to ensure your visit to SKYCITY was an excellent experience.

At 328 metres high, the SKYTOWER is the tallest man-made structure in New Zealand and offers spectacular views of Auckland for up to 80km’s in every direction. I am pleased your children had a memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Many thanks,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    721
    235
    49
    39
See reviews for
276
819
118
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Really loved the Skycity, was thinking about booking the grand hotel but definetly glad we didn't now as I dont think I would be able to justify the extra money as the normal skycity is like a 5 star hotel anyway. Love the location, close to everything and it was great to be able to choose from so many restaurants and cafes not only within the centre but nearby, Loved the Free wifi and was quite fast, Please keep the free wifi!!! The bathroom was quite modern and nice and beds were comfortable. Thanks for a great stay Skycity.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Nick,

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. My team and I are thrilled your expectations of SKYCITY Hotel were met, if not exceeded.

Our complimentary Wi-fi has proved very popular with our guests since it was implemented earlier this year. I am pleased to confirm this service will remain free of charge for the foreseeable future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed the 1st night and last night of holiday. As you would expect it was very good and the staff helpful. As we fly out at 6.30 pm we asked to leave car in secure parking and baggage in storage. We came back at 2.30 pm and picked up car - saved having to find somewhere to park while we were looking around Auckland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I trust you have returned safely to Australia.

I am pleased you took advantage of our discounted parking, allowing you to explore the city after checking out of the hotel.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is very well located for all activities in Auckland. The rooms are in excellent condition with full facilities, including free wifi. Having a casino on the premises is, of course, a great attraction for gamblers but it tended to make the hotel entry continually busy. It was often a challenge getting in and out because of the crowds of people. The foyer area is not relaxing. Service is passable but the staff seemed to be a bit stressed most of the time and somewhat impatient. The main disappointment was the breakfast. It is expensive but the quality is poor. Little in the way of fresh fruit, coffee out of a machine and no one to poach an egg or any other freshly cooked items. A lot of the food laid out seemed to be recycled from the previous day and looked dried up at the edges. Unsurprisingly, very few people seemed to take breakfast. This is not up the standard of a good quality hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Econjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level Contributor
178 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The rooms were big and very comfortable.The bed was extremely comfortable and so are the pillows. We had a OK view of the city. They had a small sofa in the room, nice TV and FREE WiFi, something you don't find too often. The bathroom was nice with a soaking tub and a separate shower. The Hotel is in a great location. It is easy to walk just about any place you want to. They were doing some remodeling and it was a bit noisy outside walking around. Food is close by and with anything else you might want. The staff were nice, but seemed a bit rushed.They did no clean the bathtub that I used--you could see a ring around it. I told the front desk about it and they did seem one bit concerned at all when I was checking out! I also found things on the floor, so they don't vacuum to good either. You must use your room key to get the elevator to take you up to your room, so have it available when you get into the elevator.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up might be better for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Suzannesh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was disappointed to read about your experience with the cleanliness of your room. Please rest assured, this is not up to the high standard of service we pride ourselves on here at SKYCITY. I welcome you to contact me directly with details of your stay to allow me to investigate further.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Ida
ida.uea@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is the 2nd time i have stayed here, I love the size of the beds, 1 thing though is this website says that the amenities here include a swimming pool, shich unfortunately they do not. And I asked if we were allowed to use the grand hotel one and the answer was no.

The otehr thing my husband and I really enjoyed was the pay per view movies, as there was a movie we really wanted to see but was not at movies anymore...it turned out to be more fun watching it here than at the movies...

breakfast at fortuna was included and enjoyed this also.

I think next time I stay I would ask for a room on the 1st floor so that get a door to outside/balcony to enjoy.

Also shower could of been more powerful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Jacqui,

Thank you for your review of SKYCITY Hotel.

I apologise for the confusion you experienced around swimming pool facilities here at SKYCITY. I have alerted our marketing department to look into this as I am unable to locate this information on our website.

However, I am pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. When making a future reservation, please request a ‘courtyard’ room so we can ensure you receive this room type as there are a limited number of courtyard rooms and are subject to availability. Alternatively, please feel free to contact me directly to assist in any way.

Many thanks,
Ida
ida.uea@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Not the best stay we have ever enjoyed staying at the Sky City hotel in Auckland. Check out girl was very 'stiff' and wore no smile! Our room ( 434 ) was right at the start of the corridoor from the lifts and was really noisy ALL NIGHT LONG with other passing guests talkign really loudly and young children running up and down whilst I guess their parents were in the casion!!! Would stya again BUT do request a room at the furthest end of the corriddor with no passing foot traffic!!!

Room Tip: Request a QUIET ROOM far away from the Elevators and foot traffic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Jon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of SKYCITY Hotel. I trust you have returned safely to Thailand.

Here at SKYCITY, we have a very strict policy surrounding child supervision. In New Zealand it is law that children under the age of 14 must be supervised by an adult at all times. SKYCITY employees will report any unsupervised children to our security team who will take the necessary measures to ensure parents are located and the situation dealt with appropriately. SKYCITY takes incidents of this nature extremely seriously.

I welcome you to contact me directly to discuss your stay in detail and allow me to investigate further. Additionally, please feel free to contact me prior to your next stay, where I am confident we can meet, if not exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Ida
ida.uea@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing