We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I brought a "Sky City Experience" package for my husbands birthday. It included a one night stay, plus dinner for 2 in the Orbit Restaurant, breakfast either room service or at the Fortuna Restaurant, valet parking, late check out, and complimentary champagne and chocolates.

Well we were not disappointed in anyway. On check in we were advised we had been upgraded to a One bedroom suite which was a lovely surprise. As soon as we checked into our room, our champagne and chocolates arrived.

Could not fault our dinner at the Orbit Restaurant, food and service outstanding.

The next day we have room service breakfast, and late check out just completed a wonderful overnight stay.

Will be back !

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiwis_that_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Kiwis_that_fly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on TripAdvisor. My team and I are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope your husband had a memorable birthday celebration.

We look forward to your return to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Many thanks,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were given a 'City experience package' as a gift which we used at the beginning of January. Nice spacious, clean room, great bathroom. Wonderful superking bed which was so comfortable. We received a bottle of bubbly and a platter of chococates which was fantastic. Included was a 3 course dinner at Orbit Restaurant. The food was excellent, very high standard. Compliments to the Chefs. Waiting staff were good, not exceptionally friendly. Also buffet breakfast at Fortuna, which was great so much to choose from. Late checkout at 1pm which was very nice, and valet parking. Excellent package deal, we thoroughly enjoyed our short visit but will definitely be back. Great location in the City and is a very busy hotel. If there was a negative I I would say they never had enough staff on, upon checkout the line was extremely long and they only had two staff on. The same was when we requested our car they had two guys that were working non stop bringing everyone's cars around to the drop off, perhaps ring down and request your car be brought around prior to checking out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyoffour_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear familyoffour,

Thank you for your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I are thrilled you enjoyed our very popular ‘City Experience’ package and all that it includes.

I am very pleased to read that you will be back to visit, however, I was disappointed to read about the delays you experienced at hotel reception. We do have some very busy periods here at SKYCITY Hotel and I welcome you to contact me with further details of your stay so I may follow up with the Front Office Manager and Chief Concierge to ensure this situation is prevented in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
Ida.uea@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon and our first night in NZ - we had planned it just to be somewhere to crash out and catch up on sleep before the start of our trip. We just wanted somewhere central, clean and comfortable.

We got that but it was so much better than we had expected, especially considering the price we paid, which we considered pretty cheap. The bed was massive and divine, room was modern and clean and it granted us excellent access to everything we wanted to see in central Auckland - harbour, Sky Tower etc - all within walking distance.

On our last night of our trip, we stayed at the Langham, which we had pre-booked and cost more, and we both wished we had stayed at Sky City again. It would definitely be my top recommendation for Auckland city centre accommodation to anyone else going.

If you want somewhere to eat outside the hotel, I highly recommend Depot on Federal Street - just opposite the hotel. We stumbled across it and had one of the most delicious meals of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear skibunny,

Congratulations on your recent marriage, I trust you had a wonderful honeymoon here in New Zealand and have returned safely to England.

I am thrilled you were pleased with your stay here at SKYCITY Hotel and received much more than you expected. Perhaps, during your next visit to Auckland, New Zealand, you might like to reserve one of our popular hotel packages which allow you to explore SKYCITY and enjoy all we have to offer. Our ‘City Experience’ package features a lovely dinner for two in the revolving Orbit restaurant 192 metres above Auckland City and much more. See our website for details.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY should you return to Auckland, New Zealand.

Best wishes,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we stayed for 4 night in Premium Harbor view room for our honeymoon. Firstly, good room service. the room was made clean and was so delighted to see the complimentary chocolates and greetings for us. the room was spacious enough and was well organized with presence of ironing boards, electric kettles,TV and bath accessories. We did have trouble with unlocking the safe vault, which was helped by the staff there immediately. the staff were cordial enough to inform us, about the whereabouts of the tour bus we booked. We went right before christmas and the hotel was well decorated with the festivities. Crowded a bit . We did try the skyjump, unfortunately, couldn't try the skywalk due to bad winds. The hotel is located centrally and nearby most attractions . Would visit again.

Room Tip: Room facing harbor view and ones towards the end of corridor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AishwaryaOnAStroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Aishwarya,

Congratulations on your recent marriage, we hope you had a wonderful honeymoon here in New Zealand and trust you have returned safely to India.

Thank you for taking the time to review SKYCITY Hotel on Trip Advisor. Perhaps during your next visit you can experience the Sky Walk, a great way to see Auckland at 192 metres above the City.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Skycity customer was excellent. The room was cleaned to a very high standed. The room was spacious and decorated to a high standed. We will be back again. We stayed on hotel 1 witch was easy access to the open forecourt. Thanks sky city we will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit on TripAdvisor. I have shared your positive feedback with our team, who were pleased to receive it.

I am thrilled you were happy with the location of your room near the courtyard. In future, please feel free to request a ‘Courtyard’ room which gives you direct access to the courtyard from your hotel room (subject to availability).

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, stayed in December. Not much in the hotel, small bar that had run out of beer, small reception area, didn't see any staff apart from reception. Good restaurants near hotel and great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor.

Here at SKYCITY Hotel, being part of the SKYCITY complex, we have over 20 Bars & Restaurants available for guests use, right on the hotel doorstep. With a wide variety of Bars & Restaurants, there is something to cater to each and every guest at SKYCITY Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY in the future.

Kind regards,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in a one bedroom suite. Nice decor, clean and well maintained,. Loved the super king size bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room service was quick and tasty. We had a view of the tower and it was fun watching people do the sky jump from our lounge. Overall a lovely hotel to spend a few nights. Would have given it a 5 but there was a used pillow slip left in the bathroom sink when we first checked in!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aneleh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear aneleh11,

Thank you for your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was disappointed to read about the pillow slip found in your bathroom sink. I have shared your experience with our Executive Housekeeper who will address this with her team. Please rest assured, this is not in line with the high standard of service and cleanliness we pride ourselves on here at SKYCITY Hotel and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

I am pleased you enjoyed the location of your suite. Perhaps during your next visit you might like to be the one jumping off the Sky Tower. The rush is unbeatable! Leap off the Tower and fall 192 metres straight down. An unforgettable experience for true daredevils. If you are looking for a different view of Auckland City, you may like to try the SkyWalk. Take in the spectacular views of Auckland while walking around a 1.2 metre wide platform 192 metres above the city.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel during your next visit to Auckland.

Kind regards,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £133 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing