We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could it be any more Central?”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could it be any more Central?”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

An overnight stay before heading North gave us a chance to kick back and relax for the night.
The Hotel is perfectly placed for a whistle stop tour of Auckland, the rooms are very comfortable and of course there is the benefit of the casino for the latter part of the evening (Yes we did come out ahead!)
My only disappointment this trip is that the absolutely fantastic Depot Eatery in Federal Street (right outside the Hotel entrance) was closed for the Xmas Holidays (as were a few others). It's Al Browns Place and is a good enough reason alone to visit! (Come on TA -get it on here)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Norman,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on TripAdvisor.

I am thrilled you were able to relax and recharge here at SKYCITY Hotel prior to your travels further north. I do apologise for the fact that Depot was closed during your visit due to the ongoing Federal St construction, however, I am pleased to confirm the Depot, Fed Deli & MASU have since opened their doors for business. We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    760
    242
    50
    42
See reviews for
295
847
126
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A very large "experience" hotel in Auckland, situated in the Sky Tower complex. We were given a very comfortable suite, with large sitting room and bathroom. Clean and quiet, great views, and very handy for the SkyTower (extra charges apply). The local area didn't seem too promising, but we found a decent Italian restaurant just a block away and it's ten minutes' walk to Viaduct Harbour.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear UKtraveller2014,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you were impressed with your SKYCITY Hotel suite and location.

Here at SKYCITY, with over 20 restaurants and bars, there is something to tempt every palette and budget without having to leave the complex. Whether you fancy chic and elegant dining or a full buffet, there is a restaurant or bar to suit every occasion at SKYCITY.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the future.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It's been my favorite hotel and I have stayed a few times and I enjoyed every time.
This hotel has everything and right in the heart of Auckland. You can walk every where and you can feel the life 24/7. What more you can ask for while you are on a holiday?
Rooms spacious and well furnished. At times the service is a wee bit slack and food.....so..so... otherwise this hotel has everything and worth the money I pay.
I would certainly stay when ever I visit Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear amoga,

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to receive your feedback as a returning guest to SKYCITY Hotel.

I was disappointed to read about the service you have received at times. Please rest assured, here at SKYCITY our staff strive to provide an exceptional experience to each and every one of our guests. I welcome you to contact me directly with further details so I may investigate your experience to prevent this occurring in the future.

I am pleased you will be returning to SKYCITY Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
Ida.uea@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I brought a "Sky City Experience" package for my husbands birthday. It included a one night stay, plus dinner for 2 in the Orbit Restaurant, breakfast either room service or at the Fortuna Restaurant, valet parking, late check out, and complimentary champagne and chocolates.

Well we were not disappointed in anyway. On check in we were advised we had been upgraded to a One bedroom suite which was a lovely surprise. As soon as we checked into our room, our champagne and chocolates arrived.

Could not fault our dinner at the Orbit Restaurant, food and service outstanding.

The next day we have room service breakfast, and late check out just completed a wonderful overnight stay.

Will be back !

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis_that_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Kiwis_that_fly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on TripAdvisor. My team and I are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope your husband had a memorable birthday celebration.

We look forward to your return to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Many thanks,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were given a 'City experience package' as a gift which we used at the beginning of January. Nice spacious, clean room, great bathroom. Wonderful superking bed which was so comfortable. We received a bottle of bubbly and a platter of chococates which was fantastic. Included was a 3 course dinner at Orbit Restaurant. The food was excellent, very high standard. Compliments to the Chefs. Waiting staff were good, not exceptionally friendly. Also buffet breakfast at Fortuna, which was great so much to choose from. Late checkout at 1pm which was very nice, and valet parking. Excellent package deal, we thoroughly enjoyed our short visit but will definitely be back. Great location in the City and is a very busy hotel. If there was a negative I I would say they never had enough staff on, upon checkout the line was extremely long and they only had two staff on. The same was when we requested our car they had two guys that were working non stop bringing everyone's cars around to the drop off, perhaps ring down and request your car be brought around prior to checking out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyoffour_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear familyoffour,

Thank you for your review of SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I are thrilled you enjoyed our very popular ‘City Experience’ package and all that it includes.

I am very pleased to read that you will be back to visit, however, I was disappointed to read about the delays you experienced at hotel reception. We do have some very busy periods here at SKYCITY Hotel and I welcome you to contact me with further details of your stay so I may follow up with the Front Office Manager and Chief Concierge to ensure this situation is prevented in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
Ida.uea@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon and our first night in NZ - we had planned it just to be somewhere to crash out and catch up on sleep before the start of our trip. We just wanted somewhere central, clean and comfortable.

We got that but it was so much better than we had expected, especially considering the price we paid, which we considered pretty cheap. The bed was massive and divine, room was modern and clean and it granted us excellent access to everything we wanted to see in central Auckland - harbour, Sky Tower etc - all within walking distance.

On our last night of our trip, we stayed at the Langham, which we had pre-booked and cost more, and we both wished we had stayed at Sky City again. It would definitely be my top recommendation for Auckland city centre accommodation to anyone else going.

If you want somewhere to eat outside the hotel, I highly recommend Depot on Federal Street - just opposite the hotel. We stumbled across it and had one of the most delicious meals of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear skibunny,

Congratulations on your recent marriage, I trust you had a wonderful honeymoon here in New Zealand and have returned safely to England.

I am thrilled you were pleased with your stay here at SKYCITY Hotel and received much more than you expected. Perhaps, during your next visit to Auckland, New Zealand, you might like to reserve one of our popular hotel packages which allow you to explore SKYCITY and enjoy all we have to offer. Our ‘City Experience’ package features a lovely dinner for two in the revolving Orbit restaurant 192 metres above Auckland City and much more. See our website for details.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY should you return to Auckland, New Zealand.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we stayed for 4 night in Premium Harbor view room for our honeymoon. Firstly, good room service. the room was made clean and was so delighted to see the complimentary chocolates and greetings for us. the room was spacious enough and was well organized with presence of ironing boards, electric kettles,TV and bath accessories. We did have trouble with unlocking the safe vault, which was helped by the staff there immediately. the staff were cordial enough to inform us, about the whereabouts of the tour bus we booked. We went right before christmas and the hotel was well decorated with the festivities. Crowded a bit . We did try the skyjump, unfortunately, couldn't try the skywalk due to bad winds. The hotel is located centrally and nearby most attractions . Would visit again.

Room Tip: Room facing harbor view and ones towards the end of corridor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AishwaryaOnAStroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Aishwarya,

Congratulations on your recent marriage, we hope you had a wonderful honeymoon here in New Zealand and trust you have returned safely to India.

Thank you for taking the time to review SKYCITY Hotel on Trip Advisor. Perhaps during your next visit you can experience the Sky Walk, a great way to see Auckland at 192 metres above the City.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing