We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel but very noisy at the weekend”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 March 2014


We had 2 stays here a week apart. This is a big hotel attached to the casino and part of the Sky Tower complex. Our 2 arrivals (both late at night) were a bit harrowing, through the building works, the security, the people wandering in and out getting axis etc and and then walking in to the deafening music from the nightclub on 1st floor. The Receptionist was hoarse after working 2 nights with this noise and could barely speak.

The room was lovely with a nice bathroom, 2 beds and a sofa. You could not hear the above mentioned noise from there. We had a view overlooking the courtyard.

The buffet breakfast was not that special and not worth the price so only had it once. We had breakfast in the Rebo once and the food was fine. The cheese and mushrooms on toast were very nice but the service was extremely slow. Not sure how long it takes to put a tea bag in a pot of hot water but we waited 20 minutes for it and we had to remind them twice. It arrived as we were finishing eating and we wanted to have it with breakfast.

The best thing was the service from the Concierge desk. Despite it being a very large hotel, they were all so friendly and helpful from valet parking, transporting/storing luggage, helping with our GPS, finding us restaurants, printing emails etc. Nothing was too much trouble and all done in such a friendly way. A fantastic team. We don't usually use valet parking but with all the road works it made it so much easier and the car was brought up to us within minutes of us asking.

We went back again after 5 days and unfortunately were there on a Friday and Saturday so were deafened by the noise again. My husband has a touch of tinnitus and it gave him some pain at times. We were going to eat at Rebo one night as the menu looked nice but did not because of the really loud music that we were told would be heard inside the restaurant.

The second room we had was equally nice and had a very large comfortable bed. Again the concierge team were brilliant and helped us with our luggage that they had stored for us whilst we were away.

We did not use the casino at all so if you want a more relaxed environment don't choose this hotel. And if you want some quiet don't come on a Friday or Saturday. I would return because of the high quality service but may not if I couldn't avoid the weekend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hevsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Hevsy,

Thank you for your review following your two visits to SKYCITY Hotel. I have shared your positive comments with our brilliant Concierge team who provided you with the friendly, helpful service they are well-known for.

I was disappointed to read about your experience with breakfast at Fortuna & Rebo Restaurants. I have shared your feedback with the restaurant managers for review and please rest assured here at SKYCITY our staff strive to provide an exceptional guest experience to all of our guests.

With regards to the live music you could hear in the lobby during each stay (Friday & Saturday nights), I have advised our entertainment manager of your feedback who assure me this is being reviewed and regular sound checks are being done. I apologise for the inconvenience this caused during your visit.

I trust you have returned home safely to Egham and I hope to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel during your next visit to Auckland, New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I am right now sitting at the desk in our room, number 219, posting a live report, 3 days into our 8 day stay and super happy that we chose Skycity Hotel versus the competition. If you have read the other reviews from the past year or so, you have a pretty good idea of what to expect, just as we did, when we booked Skycity, so no need to be repetitive, as we agree with all the positive remarks, and experienced none of the negative, so here's some new stuff, hopefully.
Skycity achieved the the holy grail of the hotelier's creed: When we checked into room 219, we felt as though we were the first guests to use the room: Crisp, clean, fresh, fully stocked, not a scuff, not a mar, everything in perfect working order. And as the days pass, housekeeping is keeping it that way. Outstanding job well done.
Things we noticed and liked: Complimentary Auckland Daily Newspaper available each day on each floor; Complimentary computer terminals (full desktop) on each floor by the lifts; 42" 1080 HD Panasonic TV with ample channel selection and great reception; in room wi-fi that woks without a hitch that I am using right now to post on our IPad; and black out curtains that truly live up to their name!
Quiet, comfortable and spacious accommodations, at a price more reasonable than similar lodging in Auckland.
Great location, as most everyone has posted; attentive staff, delicious dining. On our way up to Orbit for dinner as soon as I hit "Submit". The All Day Breakfast at Sammy's Place on the Casino floor is the best breakfast I have had anywhere for $12, and Sammy's Place Bar Manager Vijay really runs a well serviced operation, with great drinks and food! He is to be commended for his attention to quality, detail, and customer service!
Skycity hosts a For Charity Bingo game once a day at 10:30 AM, for a very important and much needed and worthwhile charity that Skycity has adopted, which provides service for Special Needs Children And Adults. The Skycity employees who work it, as well as the Charity Representative who hosts it, and Skycity itself as Sponsor, are all to be commended for their Aloha Spirit. My wife and I played Bingo, met many local ladies who play daily, and without "winning", are much richer for the experience. You will be too.
We have 4 days left to enjoy ourselves, and not even a brief appearance by Cyclone Lusi could put a damper on it. Thank you Skycity, and the residents of Auckland!
Sincerely,
Jonathan and Gloria Kaufman

Stayed: March 2014
Thank kaukau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs Kaufman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review during your stay with us. It is so wonderful to receive such a glowing reference and I have shared your positive feedback with our team.

I can see you have explored our complex well within the first few days of your extended stay. With over twenty restaurants and bars here at SKYCITY, there is definitely something to suit every occasion. I have shared your lovely comments with Vijay from Sammy’s Place who do offer one of many popular breakfast options at SKYCITY.

As a good corporate citizen, SKYCITY is proud to work alongside five charitable partners (Leukaemia and Blood Cancer New Zealand, Prostate Cancer, Kidz First Children’s Hospital, Variety – the Children’s Charity) and the ‘Poppy Partnership’ in support of the Auckland Returned and Services Association. I am pleased you were able to enjoy one of the many events SKYCITY hosts to help support these brilliant causes.

Once again, thank you for your review and I trust you will have an enjoyable final few days here at SKYCITY Hotel.

Best wishes,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Arrived about 1pm, swift check in and then to our room. Lovely room with massive bed but unfortunately the mattresses just dipped in the middle, as I see previous visitors also mentioned. This was the only thing I could find fault with. Rooms were cleaned well every day, plenty of towels and toiletries, tea and coffee. Major plus point we were given free tickets to the sky tower! Well worth a visit. Free wifi in the room was also was a bonus as I had been unable to use it in Hong Kong. Rebo pronto in the lobby was excellent also as you could get a cake and coffee for 5NZ$ Which was all we wanted for breakfast, coffee delicious. Good location also, would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Kathryn,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful you were able to visit the iconic Sky Tower with breathtaking 360º views of Auckland City, it is a must see. As a guest at SKYCITY Hotel we also offer a ‘2 for 1’ discount pass if tickets are not included with your hotel package. Simply inquire at hotel reception.

Furthermore, I am pleased to confirm we are soon to commence a replacement of mattresses throughout the hotel. I apologise for the uncomfortable sleep you had and I welcome you to contact me with your room number so I can ensure this bed is replaced immediately (via email below).

Thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
Ida.uea@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I chose this hotel to celebrate my partners birthday. We got the City Experience Package - it was great! Absolutely loved it. For the first time I never left the hotel grounds which was nice for a change. The food is delicious. Room is excellent. Service is great. The facilities of the hotel also are great - there is enough to keep you busy all weekend and more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riccardo2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Riccardo,

I am thrilled you chose to stay at SKYCITY Hotel to celebrate your partners birthday and clearly had a wonderful time. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Our City Experience package is certainly great value for money and brilliant for any special occasion. Dining above Auckland city at Orbit restaurant with 360º views and spectacular food, is definitely a special experience unique to SKYCITY.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hopefully for that next special occasion.

Many thanks,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at SkyCity. It's a perfect location, walking distance to everything. The room was very big, clean, and comfy. We had a lovely view of the harbor and sunset each night. Downside: worst Wi-Fi ever. Kept disconnecting every few minutes, if you got a signal at all. Wired connection just didn't work. The concierges, housekeeping and room service staff were SO friendly (especially Dicky!), but the reception staff was a little stuffy. Overall, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Harbor view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear malimac,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. Congratulations on your recent marriage and we hope you are having a wonderful honeymoon with some lovely memories here in New Zealand.

I have shared your positive comments with our Concierge, Housekeeping, and Room Service staff, with special mention of Dicky. We have a fantastic team here at SKYCITY Hotel and I am pleased you were well looked after.

I am disappointed you had issues with our complimentary Wi-Fi service. I welcome you to contact me via email (below) with the details of your stay so I may investigate and address this issue in addition to the service you received from our reception staff.

I wish you all the best for the remainder of your honeymoon and a safe journey home. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
Ida.uea@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We were only in Auckland one night and so didn't get to experience the full range of this hotel, but what we did experience was great. Nice easy check in and big spacious hotel with spacious and well appointed room. Had a great nights sleep, so I'd recommend it to others looking for somewhere in Auckland!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Craigsoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Craig,

Thank you for your review of SKYCITY Hotel. My team and I are thrilled you had a great experience during your short visit.

It’s going to be EPIC at SKYCITY Auckland this March! With exciting Premier Rewards promotions and some great New Zealand artists performing live and free in the casino. Visit our website for more information. www.skycity.co.nz

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY in the near future, and perhaps for a slightly longer stay.

Best wishes,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights over aucklands busiest weekend. Due to overbooking on their behalf we were not given the room we had booked which was a little disappointing. The rooms were okay nice and dark when curtains pulled so got a good nights sleep but felt the bathroom needed abit of a revamp. Concierge was very helpful but reception could be a bit more friendly.
Nice and central.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Loda28,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you were well taken care of by our Concierge and I have shared your positive feedback with the team.

I am disappointed you did not receive the room you had reserved and welcome you to contact me directly via email (below) to discuss the details of your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
Ida.uea@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £119 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing