We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pampered”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pampered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked inside we were made to feel special. The staff were very attentive and everything was laid on. Efficiency is obviously a strength here. The room was huge and decor top notch. Meals were devine. Nothing was missed. Pricey but worth every cent!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leif W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Leif,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. My team and I are thrilled to receive your feedback following a brilliant stay. We have a great team here at SKYCITY who strive to provide an exceptional experience to each and every one of our guests and I am pleased you received this.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another ‘pampered’ experience here at SKYCITY Hotel.

Many thanks,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    723
    235
    49
    39
See reviews for
278
820
118
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a week here. Great service and great location. Valet parking was a little expensive, but expected, for parking in the center of the city. Staff were helpful and the restaurant buffet is highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chicago_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Chicago_aussie,

Thank you for your review following your week long stay here at SKYCITY Hotel. My team and I are delighted you had an enjoyable visit and enjoyed the Fortuna Buffet Restaurant.

As an alternative to Valet Parking, we do offer a $20 one exit parking ticket to our guests. This option is beneficial if you are not planning on using your vehicle frequently during your stay as you only need to pay when you exit the car park. However, our Valet Parking service is a convenient and cost effective option for guests that are using their vehicles on a regular basis.

I trust you have had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We decide to come back and re-stay at the Sky City Hotel once again. On this occasion we had a fantastic stay. We were upgraded and placed in a room right at the far end of the corridor ( which ensured an exceptionally quiet room with NO noise ). We also enjoyed a gorgeous Lunch up at the Orbit revolving restaurant. The included morning breakfast at Fortuna was also a sumptuous feast - a great spread!! My hearty Thanks to the General Manager ( Ida ) for ensuring our stay was simply perfect :)

Room Tip: Ewquest a room far away from the Elevators and passing foot traffic....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Jon,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am thrilled your return visit was fantastic. Being in a room at the end of our corridors is definitely quieter due to minimal foot traffic in passing, we will be sure to allocate you similar rooms in the future.

Enjoying a delicious meal in one of our lovely Sky Tower Restaurants (Orbit or Sugar Club) is definitely a must do when visiting Auckland and I am pleased you had the chance to experience this.

Thank you for your kind words, the team and myself were delighted to receive your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

To be honest, we didn't expect too much of the SkyCity - especially as it's cheaper and less swanky than its sister hotel. We stayed here for one night after a flight from the UK, with an onwards flight to Queenstown the next morning and it's central location gave us just enough time to nip up the Sky Tower, go for a couple of beers and grab some dinner at the excellent Depot restaurant over the road before moving on. Our room was much larger, more comfortable and more recently refurbished than we expected for the price with a lovely bathroom. Having paid more to stay in an inferior room at the Langham at the end of the trip, I'd definitely choose SkyCity again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tom020681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear tom020681,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to SKYCITY Hotel. My team and I are thrilled you chose to stay with us and were impressed with the great product we offer.

I trust you have returned home safely to the UK and we look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY upon your next visit to Auckland, New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
325 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We began our New Zealand tour from this hotel. Smooth check in, excellent rooms with all modern amenities. The room was quiet spacious. The location is very central. The hotel is part of complex which has casino and Sky towers, which is one of Auckland main attractions. Lot of restaurants on walking distance. Some construction activity around the hotel but it does not disturb. The breakfast was good with fairly decent choices. The staff was polite and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Nareshm,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor post. My team and I hope you enjoy your New Zealand tour.

Here at SKYCITY we definitely have one of the best locations in Auckland Central. While the Federal St Construction is not ideal, we are doing our best to ensure the impact it has on our guests is minimised. Upon completion the surrounding areas of SKYCITY will have a fresh new look for all to enjoy.

We hope to welcome you back to SKYCITY during your next visit to New Zealand.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1night in a deluxe harbour view room. Lovely spacious room and great bathroom. Very central to everything, we went to a show in town and really enjoyed sky city restaurants The Depot and The Federal Street Deli. Very helpful and accommodating staff. Definitely will be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NZJaneNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear NZJaneNZ,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your experience here at SKYCITY Hotel. The team and I are very proud of our newly refurbished designer bathrooms which feature European tap-ware and walk-in showers with ‘rain shower’ shower heads.

I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY on your next visit to Auckland.

Many thanks,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel has a great central location. You can pretty much walk to all the main attractions from this hotel. It modern and feels upscale. This was the first stop on our honeymoon tour of New Zealand and Australia. There was no special treatment or acknowledgement that it was our honeymoon, which was a slight bummer. However the location and room style were great.

Note: we drove and valet parking is $35 per day. If you plan on using the car several times a day then this is the better deal. However, if you do what we did and park the car and walk everywhere then the better deal is to park across the street at the Sky City Parking. It says $40 a day but you can buy a pass from the hotel front desk for $20. That $20 covered our two days since we didn't take the car out of the garage.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mankoosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Mankoosha,

Congratulations on your recent marriage and I hope you have had a wonderful honeymoon here in New Zealand. My team and I are pleased you enjoyed your visit to SKYCITY Hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to review your experience.

I am disappointed your special occasion was not acknowledged as we do take the time to recognise these if the occasion is specified as part of a reservation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY in the future and wish you a safe return journey to New York.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing