We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Room good eat breakfast elsewhere ”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and the hotel room was fine well appointed, clean and quiet We appreciate the parking at Sky city which is convenient, and easy to get to We paid for breakfast having not done this before. The hot food was cold so despite the choice it was not good. Would stay at the hotel again but skip the breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DiB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear DiB5,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor post. I am thrilled you had an enjoyable stay for the most part, with the use of our convenient underground car park and discounted hotel guest rates.

I was disappointed to read about your experience with breakfast, and I welcome you to contact me with further details so I may investigate this. Additionally, here at SKYCITY we have a variety of breakfast options available to our guests. Whether you would prefer one of the very popular and delicious Bacon and Egg Rolls from the Depot, or the Best Ugly Salmon Bagel from the Fed Deli, there is an option to suit every guest.

I hope to hear from you soon and look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY in the future.

Kind regards,
Ida
Hotel Administrator
Ida.uea@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked this at "last minute" rate, so got a brilliant price for what is a very good 4 star hotel.

Room was lovely, staff are great (especially the concierges, really top service) and the location is superb, right in the heart of Auckland, an easy stroll to the harbour and lots of restaurants/bars. The many good restaurants in the hotel/casino complex itself were also very enticing, pity we couldn't try them all. My only criticism was that the breakfast was a bit expensive, but there's a great little cafe right next door to the hotel which does cheap and good breakfasts with excellent coffee.

Will definitely stay here again when visiting Auckland, it represented excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanmerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Vanmerino,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SKYCITY Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very proud of our Hotel and I am pleased you were able to experience the high level of service we pride ourselves on here at SKYCITY.

With over twenty restaurants and bars throughout SKYCITY, from Cafe/Buffet options to Fine Dining at one of our celebrity Chef’s restaurants, there is definitely something to tempt every palette and budget. Feel free to visit our website for more information.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel was excellent. The package brilliant and affordable, room was perfect with lovely views, staff did their best and ensured a top stay through their attentiveness and effort. Wonderful comfort, pleasant, friendly. professional and relaxing. Thank you so much

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Glenys1,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Hotel. Here at SKYCITY our team strive to provide an exceptional guest experience and it is wonderful to receive such positive feedback. I have shared your comments with our team who were pleased to receive it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY in the near future for another excellent stay.

Many thanks,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hotel was booked two months before our stay and I requested through their website that we will be arriving at 1.00am also phoned the hotel to confirm this as was told it would be fine. I spoke to them 5 times via phone conversation prior to our arrival and I have email confirmation of this of our time of arrival and again was told it would be fine. Upon arrival at 1.00am we went to check in and was told there was no room available until 3.00pm . I told the gentleman on reservation that I had spoken to reservation numerous times and mentioned the persons name who made our booking but he said we would have to stay across the road as there were no rooms and he would have to talk to the person in question about our reservation, also we have to pay for the hotel across the road. I explained and showed him my email stating our time of arrival but he did not want to help and his customer service was appalling. We checked in across the road at this stage it was closer to 2.00am. At 8.30AM I returned to Sky City hotel and was told a room was available at 10.30am so we checked out of the hotel we were bumped to to resume out stay at sky city.Let me add an inconvience Reservation person in the morning crew said he would look into our situation further and would get back to me. I went to reception 5 times throughout the day and no help what so ever. Eventually I got to speak to the on duty manager who told me that the reservation person who made my booking had no recollection of any conversation but my email which they received meant nothing, to which I stated that it doesn't take a brain surgeon to figure out that you arrive at 1.00am hmmm maybe they would like a room instead of 3.00pm he also said that being tired from my flight and that time in the early morning may have clouded my judgment. i was so disgusted by the treatment we recieved we promptly checked out to stay at the Langham who were more than accommodating and professional in their service. We have stayed at numerous hotels world wide and never have we been treated in such an appalling manner as were at Sky City.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank grace_villani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Mrs Vallani,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback, I understand from the tone of your response your frustration and disappointment. Factually your reservation was for Friday night, therefore, we had every right to sell Thursday night to other guests as we operate a check-in / check-out structure like every other hotel with a 3pm check-in and an 11am check-out. I acknowledge you made the request to arrive early on Friday and even when the room was offered to you at 10.30am this is significantly earlier than other guests. When booking nights like this in the future I could only encourage you to ensure the night prior is booked. This happens frequently with our international guests arriving in the early hours of the night and is the one way you can guarantee a room is ready for you when you arrive.

I would like to acknowledge significant efforts were made to you by the team including a number of generous goodwill gestures to try and recover the situation.

I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope one day we have the opportunity to welcome you back to SKYCITY.

Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Denny.keane@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I'm not a hotel person but this hotel changed my mind. It's big maybe brash but the rooms are superb (if you have a harbour view. The buffet restaurant was great for lunch, dinner and breakfast, with choices not far away. Above all it was the staff, ever helpful, but not gushing. Yes I will return

Room Tip: H4 harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradders242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Beenthere63,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. My team and I were thrilled to receive your positive feedback and are pleased that your experience has given you a new perspective on hotels. Here at SKYCITY our staff strive to provide an exceptional guest experience and I am delighted you definitely received this.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another brilliant stay.

Best wishes,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our stay at sky city hotel Auckland was fantastic. Very good beds , lovely room breakfast to die for, absolutely everything one would desire. Location is great . Service is second to nome. Nothing else but praise for this hotel Thank you Guys

Room Tip: Did not use swimmingpool or spa. Rooms are spacious Beds are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Maria,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

My team and I are thrilled to receive your lovely feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY in the future.

Best wishes,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed 1 Night 2/4/14. Good sleep quality. Worth a stay here.In centre of town. Building works happening at the moment. All in all can recommend. Make sure you have your toiletries and your extras as they are expensive in the room.

Room Tip: Stayed in 280. No view. but best black out curtains ever. great sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussietracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Aussietracker,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

I am pleased you had a good rest at our hotel and appreciate the availability of ‘blackout’ curtains which we know are vital to ensure our guests are able to get a good night’s sleep in the heart of the city.

Thank you for your patience and understanding with regards to the construction taking place outside our property and rest assured, we are doing our best to minimise the impact this has on our guests. This will be an exciting addition to the SKYCITY complex and a wonderful space to compliment the facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £115 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing