We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cozy and elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a room that had two double single beds the beds were large and very comfy,shower and toilet facilities were roomy and the added bonus was the free wi fi.
The decor was nice and of pastel decor the facilities were warm and inviting.
We had a window view which was a bonus.
Great living and good value at the time.

Room Tip: One that has a view is nice double beds if possible.so one higher up is good for this case
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Good Morning Peter,

It is great to read your review, its always nice to share with the team positive feedback on our hotel and the service we provide.

I look forward to one day having the opportunity to welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel,

Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    721
    235
    49
    39
See reviews for
277
819
118
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
494 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here twice April 2014 in rooms 440 and 328. Both were spacious, clean, comfortable, stylishly decorated rooms - but the difference was the bathroom. #440 had a tired looking bathroom with a tub w/ shower. #328 had a beautiful bathroom with a glass, walk-in shower.

The location is very convenient to shopping, sightseeing, restaurants and the harbor. Because it's right underneath the SkyCity Tower which is visible from everywhere, you can always find your hotel!

But Federal Street and the entrance to the hotel, at the base of the tower, is all torn up with some sort of construction. Vehicles cannot pull up to the entrance right now - no idea how long this messy construction will continue.

Breakfast and dinner at the Fortuna Buffet Restaurant were both very good. Another dinner at the Jade Dragon Restaurant was excellent- some of the best dumplings ever.

Check-in both times was slow, although the reception staff seemed to be working hard. Delivery of luggage to the rooms was slow. With both rooms, the key cards worked fine on initial entry to the room and then failed when I returned later in the day. When I went down to reception to get the cards reactivated, I again faced long lines and slow service at reception. Once I asked a gentleman at the concierge desk for some information, he said he'd check and call my room, but he never called as promised.

If service improved, I'd rate this hotel as excellent because of the rooms, location and dining.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Retirada,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I will share your feedback with our front desk team, on occasion due to demand our desk can become quiet busy, we are constantly training and looking at different technologies to speed up the process.

The above commitment will see us utilising check in/ out terminals by the end of the year to further reduce the impact around peak times.

I hope we have the opportunity one day to have you back with us,
Kind Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Skycity is exactly what one would expect - a slick, upmarket, well run hotel in the centre of Auckland.

It is close to lots of restaurants (including several great restaurants and bars on-site), bus routes and a short walk to the ferry terminal. The staff are friendly, the rooms are large and clean with free wifi and all in all it is a pleasant hotel for a couple of days stay. Be aware though that the parking can cost $20 a day at hotel guest rates unless specifically included so factor that in if on a budget. Otherwise - excellent!

Room Tip: The higher the better for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Zimsean,

It is great to read your feedback, the team work really hard to deliver an exceptional level of customer service in New Zealand’s busiest hotel.

Thank you far taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor and I hope you had a truly fantastic time down here in NZ.

Kind Regards,
Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We figured it was going to be amazing but the room was a bit outdated, especially the bathroom. We had a suite with a package which included champagne, chocolates, bath accessories, and breakfast. It turned out to be a bit over priced for what the package was worth. The breakfast was enormous; like, too big any standard person.

The location was great which allowed us to walk all over town easily and to enjoy the sky tower.

The staff were not quite as friendly as we had hoped and our breakfast the day of departure never came and we almost missed our bus!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Janet P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. The do not disturb package is one of our most popular packages; I am disappointed to hear you did not find this value for money.

I will share your feedback with our in room dining team and front desk teams, all feedback we receive is shared with our teams and we use it to train our staff in areas were we have fallen short.

I hope we have the opportunity one day to have you back with us,
Kind Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

SKYCITY Hotel is in a perfect location in Auckland Central. It is close to everything, and you can walk to most places. However, bus transportation is also nearby. The ferry terminal is just a few blocks away. Ferries run frequently throughout the day to beautiful islands like Waiheke. At the hotel, we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite that had a living room, bedroom and full bath with two sinks. The room reminded me of a roundabout because of the bathroom being at one end of the suite, with a door at each end of the bathroom. We had a partial view of the waterfront. It was wonderful! The service was terrific as well! We received a welcome card with chocolates enclosed. The staff was very friendly. Our room package included two tickets to go up to the top of the SKY Tower. You can get a wonderful view of Auckland from there. The only thing that needs improvement is how they handle groups at their Fortuna buffet. A group of people who were going on a cruise with us wanted to eat dinner at the buffet, and the hosts at the buffet wanted one person to pay for the entire group. That was unacceptable. But we worked it out, and paid individually and ate together anyway. There are many choices of places to eat nearby, including Subway, Danny Doolan's, etc. But don't eat at Denny's! The food was mediocre, and the prices were high!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a good view. Get a suite if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Judy G,

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay over here at SKYCITY Hotel, your review is quiet detailed in all the great things we offer in Auckland, I was lucky enough to dine over on Waiheke last week and it was truly amazing.

As for dining options in the city, why travel out side of our amazing Federal Street dining precinct, some of Auckland’s hottest eateries are on our door step. SKYCITY itself now boosts over 20 restaurants that pretty much cater for all tastes.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I hope we get to see you again in Auckland one day.

Kind Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was an awesome visit- service,location,quality and overall friendliness of staff who couldn't have made us feel any more welcome
Room amazing and the breakfast great value,taste and served well.Really felt spoiled

Room Tip: you won't be disappointed but the pamper pack was well worth it we are going to do again looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 138Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear 138Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback on your stay at SKYCITY Hotel, I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY next time your looking to stay in the CBD.

Kind Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed a week in New Zealand. Spent the first and last nights in Auckland. Had a lovely stay both nights in the sky city hotel.
Very central location. Lovely big rooms. 2 double beds. Large underground car park. $20 per night parking if you're staying in the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Ida Uea, Hotel Administrator at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. My team and I are thrilled to receive your positive feedback and pleased you chose to stay with us on arrival and departure from New Zealand.

I trust you have returned safely to Dublin and we hope to welcome you back to SKYCITY during your next visit to New Zealand.

Best wishes,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing