We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in the heart of Auckland CBD”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had the wonderful opportunity of staying in the SKY City hotel in Auckland. It is a wonderful hotel right below the iconic Sky towers whose entrance is in the hotel only. It is extremely well connected being in CBD. Rooms are good. Chek in & Chek out is hassle free. Only negative i felt is being in the commercial centre of Auckland, they charge for parking even for the hotel guests, which i feel is a big let down as we would have already paid good money to stay there. Overall a good hotel and breakfast too is OK. Regards. Pradeep.Stayed in April 2014.

Room Tip: If u r planning to use your own vehicle and wouldnt mind to use the HOP ON HOP OFF bus service to s...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pradeep72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Pradeep72,

I was delighted to read your review, the team take great pride in the standards of service we deliver and it is always appreciated when they can see feedback such as yours on Tripadvisor.

Our parking options are priced cheaper than our competitors and I will continue to ensure this is element of our offering remains competitive,

Regards,

Denny Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,931)
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at Skycity for one night in a deluxe king room. The hotel was undergoing renovations at the time so getting in and out of the main lobby was a little difficult. But regardless, the hotel itself is nice and modern. My room was spacious with all the expected amenities - very clean, modern and the king bed was heaven after a long day. Location is central and easy to get around. Valet parking was available which was great considering the renovations happening around the place. All in all a great short stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Saane T,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at SKYCITY Hotel on Tripadvisor, we are on the final count down to road works only having 4 weeks left, we have tried to mitigate any potential service hassle during this time.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back one day in the near future.

Regards,

Denny Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The room was of a good standard, clean and tidy but the bed and pillows were rock hard.
No choice of pillow and left after 3 days with a sore back. The room service food was good but forget about trying to get a restaurant meal in the complex that isn't Asian inspired.
Didn't feel that safe in the car park and overall just an ok experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Alicia18,
I was disappointed to read your feedback on Tripadvisor, we offer over 25 restaurants hear at SKYCITY of which less than 5 offer an Asian cuisine. Our concierge team would have been delighted in helping you find something more to your taste.

I do hope next time you are up here in Auckland you consider staying with us again, I would be more than happy to take you on a tour of our facility.

Regards,

Denny Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is my husband's Hotel of choice when visiting Auckland. He stays here 4 times a year. The rooms are quiet and well appointed. Staff are attentive and George who will most probably meet you on arrival is divine. There are some fantastic restaurants cafes and bars in the immediate vicinity but if they don't have what you're looking for it is a short stroll to the Viaduct.

Room Tip: We have never had a dud.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I love staying here, every time I am happy with the room and service, plus the rates are great!!!
It is also so close to everything, you can walk straight to the middle of town in minutes!!!
The food is great downstairs and I also enjoy the food in the casino too!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XtremeReball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Anna R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor,

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future,

Regards,


Denny Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have tried other Hotels in Auckland - usually driven by location to an event we were attending - but each time we have been disappointed.
Skycity Auckland manages to put the complete stay package together each time for us. We love the decor, the ambient temperature throughout the Hotel, the check in and check out, the attitude of the staff and value for money.
So respectful.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is great on the West
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

James C,

Thank you for your review, it is always nice to share feedback like yours with our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future,

Denny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Recently stayed here during the Sky Tower Stair Challenge..... It was a fantastic stay. Rooms where clean and tidy and very spacious, had your own little lounge area. All rooms had free Wi-Fi and the staff were extremely helpful. The dinner and breakfast buffets are great. Liked the added security that you need your room card to get the lift to go.
Definitely stay here again. Was central and within walking distance of viaduct.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taz-phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Taz -Phoenix,

It was an absolute pleasure looking after you and your collegues, I hope you managed a good time up the tower.

I look forward to seeing you all back here next year for the challenge,

Regards,

Denny Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £102 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing