We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2008

My husband stayed two nights at Sky City Hotel, when we were in town to see"The Phantom of the Opera'

We were impressed with the rooms, cleanliness was good, and there was absolutely no noise from outside, which had been a bit of a worry when you book downtown.

The location was ideal for us, as my husband was not too keen on city traffic, we just parked the car, and didn't use it again until we were leaving.$20 parking fee.

The areas that I found disappointing were,
1] there was no compendium in the room, advising of facilities in the hotel and menus of the restaurants. It was tiresome to have to go around all the dining areas, to check out their menus and prices.

2] We were offered a smoking room, as hubby hasn't managed to quit the habit yet, but we did not find an ashtray, and also no milk. So we reported to reception as we went out at 4.30pm, and they said it would be sorted. But when we returned to our room at 9pm, still no ashtray or milk, So made phone call to desk, and it was sorted, but in a hotel of this level, one should not have to ask twice.

3] The nastiest shock though ,was when I checked out, my bill came to just over $50 more than I had been quoted, so I queried the clerk, and he quoted the prices I had been quoted when booking, so queried how he came to that total, And it is a fact that the prices they quote for rooms do not contain the GST content. I would have stayed elsewhere if I had known this, as it was beyond our budget, but once you have stayed, you are trapped. I have worked in the industry myself for the last 28 years and I believed that to not have GST on your quoted prices was actually so prehistoric, that it no longer existed.

But apart from these things, we enjoyed our stay, we found the staff to be polite and helpful.

We have another concert to attend in a couple of months, but will be staying elsewhere next time.

  • Liked — No city noise
  • Disliked — lack of information, the GST factor
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinlover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    709
    233
    48
    39
See reviews for
269
809
115
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Glos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

We stayed at Skycity last September as part of a world tour. The hotel was very good, but we later discovered that our credit card details had been used by this hotel a month after we had left New Zealand! This was to pay for someone else`s dry cleaning! Be very careful and check your card statements.

  • Liked — Lovely big rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

We spent 2 nights here at the start of our honeymoon after a very long flight from the UK - so we were really pleased to find a very comfortable room waiting for us on our arrival. We have no complaints at all about the hotel - it was modern, conveniently located, bright and had great parking facilities. There's plenty going on in the hotel as it's part of a leisure complex including various bars, restaurants, casino and the famous Skytower - but this is away from the hotel area so there's no noise or disturbance at all. The location is great as it's only a few minutes walk to the busy waterfront restaurants and the main shopping area. Overall, a decent hotel for a few nights stopover/sightseeing.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2008

We stayed (Mar 2004) in an executive suite for US$96/nite and we felt that was a great price for what we received. The room was decorated in bright blues with some other colorful highlights that made the room enjoyable. The bathroom was blue tile and a big solid glass shower door. I thought the 2 buttons on the toilet were kind of neat. (1/2 flush and a full flush). The maid kept the shampoo, soap and bath gel replenished everyday. The only drawback was there was some heavy soap scum or buildup on the shower floor.

They also offer a business center with 2 internet ready PC's, phones and a laser printer (free of charge)

Other than that I would have no problem staying there again in an executive suite.

**Note: I had this posted under the wrong Skycity in NZ. I stayed there back in march of 2004.

Stayed March 2004
Helpful?
Thank travel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2008

This was our first hotel having flown LHR > Sydney > Auckland in just under 30 hours. Although tired, we were pleased to see that the room appeared very spacious, with good quality fixtures and fittings and a King sized bed.

It also offered tea and coffee facilities, a fridge / mini bar, aircon, a hairdryer and a good sized bathroom with a bath and shower.

Although on a lower floor we also had a decent view over the rooftops out towards the harbour bridge.

The hotel boasts a number of restaurants, a rooftop pool and of course, the Sky Tower. Our reservation included free tickets to the tower, but even if it costs you, it really is worth it. (Oh, and pay the little extra to go up to the higher viewing platform).

The staff were efficient and friendly.

The hotel is very centrally based - it was easy to walk to the harbour (for ferries - I can recommend Devenport), Victoria Park Market, the Domain and all of the major shopping areas. It is also on the bus routes - pick up the free Auckland tourist brochure available at the airport.

I know that parking is available at the hotel but they charge.

There are a large number of restaurants in the area - there's even a Denny's one block down for any homesick Americans!

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here and have nothing but postive recollections of the hotel.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Nottinghamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2008

As previous reviewers have mentioned, The Sky City Hotel is not to be confused with the newer Sky City Grand. The reason i chose the Sky City is that they had a great 'Hot rate' of NZD 145 per night on the hotel's own website and it is one of very few hotels in Auckland with an outdoor pool area /sun deck.
Reception for the hotel is in the lobby area of the whole Sky City Complex and can get rather busy, however once you've checked in and arrived at the 'Hotel' floors there is a far calmer atmosphere and surprisingly and airy and spacious feel to the place. Rooms are fairly standard, but large in size with safe, minibar, plasma tv's etc and although they feel a little dated are more than adequate. As mentioned previously, the 'trump card' for this hotel is the roof-top sundeck. Even it's newer, more expensive sibling The Sky Grand can't provide one of these and in my view it's the key selling point of the hotel. The pool is beautifully heated and long enough to do laps in. There are quite a few sun beds and tables and chairs and also a small bar/cafe. The deck affords pretty good views of Auckland harbour along with the extraordinary sight every now and again of a bungee jumper plunging off the Sky Tower which is right next door!
The whole sun deck area is a lovely place to chill out and relax away from the hubub below and if you've got a long haul flight departing in the evening i highly recommend booking an extra night so you can top up your tan and enjoy a nice relaxing swim before being couped up in a plane for 24 hours!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank alderneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2007

Massive complex centered around the Skytower. It feels a little like Reno. A place designed to have a lot of money flowing through it, but not quite enough to do everything Vegas style, and lightly fraying around the edges.

Check-in was smooth and although our room was looking a little tired, it was clean and acceptable. This was a good place to stay for a quick night before flying out. You can catch the Airport bus by the entrance and there is food available 24/7. The upkeep on the place is not perfect. We found glass scattered around the entrance and graffiti in some of the elevators (that stuff would be picked up/cleaned instantly in a better hotel/casino) I would not let my kids roam the place as I question everything about a place this size (including security) that can not do simple updates with worn carpet etc...

For now if you are using this hotel as a transit spot and get a good internet rate this is still a deal.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Derrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing