We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Everything You Need”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Value, Everything You Need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ill keep it simple, if you are looking for a good value hotel in Auckland CBD then book here now....

The rooms are nice and relaxing, the location is great, service is excellent and the Casino is just downstairs!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBawse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, General Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Good Morning Kiwibawse,

It is great to read your feedback, the team work really hard to deliver an exceptional level of customer service in New Zealand’s busiest hotel.

Thank you far taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor and I hope you had a truly fantastic time down here in NZ.

Kind Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    723
    235
    49
    39
See reviews for
278
820
118
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for business - accomodation booked by the corporate - amazing. Huge room, beautiful facilities, bathroom was massive, hotel was quiet and everything perfect down to a tee.
Staying again and again and again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Good Afternoon Mike,

It is great to read your Trip Advisor review; we look forward to hosting your accommodation for many business trips to come.

Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

value for money, Excellent cleanliness, service and bed. Breakfast was excellent. The room was big, the king size bed really comfortable, and I really appreciated the free wifi. We definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Noel,

It is great to read your Trip Advisor review; the team take great pride in the service and product we have and offer here at SKYCITY Hotel, I am glad we met your expectations on this stay.


Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice hotel with a city center location right by the skycity tower, found the the room to be large and comfortable with all the usual facilities, including direct access (from reception area) to a large casino if thats of interest, Shower curtain in need of replacement and leave out a notice if you require the room to be serviced. Once again concierge very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Steve,

It is great to read your Trip Advisor review; the team take great pride in the service and product we have and offer here at SKYCITY Hotel, I am glad we met your expectations on this stay.


Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I spent 5 nights at the Skycity Hotel while attending business meetings and a conference at the hotel.

The room was large, the bed really comfortable, and I really appreciated the free wifi.

The room servicing was to a high standard, and the room was kept clean. I never had much interaction with staff as I was at the conference all day and then at evening social functions. The checkin and checkout staff were friendly and efficient, and the concierge staff helpful with getting taxis.

I enjoyed my stay at the SkyCity. They are upgrading the lifts at the moment with one out of service, and this was the only frustration, as a result I often ended up waiting a while for the lift

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Ross,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I will share your feedback with the team as they really take a lot of pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations.

In relation to the lift feedback I can confirm that the lift in question has 2 weeks left before its upgrade is complete. We have tried to allocate times that would least impact our guests but on a few periods of demand the work has increased the waiting time.

Kind Regards,
Denny Keane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We find this hotel very comfortable, i.e. the beds are exceptionally good, the air conditioning is efficient and easy to adjust and ensures comfort day and night. We like the great choice of bars, restaurants and cafes ,and the entertainment, the very friendly helpful staff everywhere and the easy accessible car parking. The location is perfect. We have stayed there many times and would not consider looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: higher up away from ongoing road works in outside hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemnitz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Good Morning chemnitz44,

It is great to read your feedback, the team work really hard to deliver an exceptional level of customer service in New Zealand’s busiest hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Auckland.

Kind Regards,
Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great hotel for business travel in Auckland.
The hotel is located near Queen Street.
They hotel has a great bar, the 2 nights we ate at the resturant they service was let down by slowness of services, however breakfast buffet was excellent and the coffee was good

The staff are friendly and very helpful

Perfect place to stay with world class service.
The Concierge was amazing and had great knowledge of the place. The Front desk were very friendly and one of the most helpful staff i have ever come across.
They made my stay awesome.
Rooms were nice and clean

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirav_584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny K, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Nirav P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I will share your feedback with the team as they really take a lot of pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations.

In relation to the Restaurant feedback I have forwarded over to our F&B team to provide feedback on.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to New Zealand and we have the opportunity one day to have you back with us one day,

Kind Regards,

Denny Keane
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Hotel
Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing