We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,184)
Filter reviews
2,184 results
Traveller rating
989
838
261
50
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
838
261
50
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky city hotelfortuna restaurantbusy hotelfederal streetupgraded to a suitevalet parkingcentral locationnew zealandroom was spaciouschecking outthe heart of the citygreat roommini barbuffet breakfaststayed one nightqueen streetdicky
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 2,184 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Proficient check in for numerous coach tours. The lifts are a bit confusing and meals are on a time slot basis but dinner included wide selection of food. Need to walk down to main shopping street and harbour and immediate area to hotel isn’t very smart.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Solitair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Solitair,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

We certainly appreciate all feedback we get from our guests and use this to help better the guest experience. The dinner is on a booking basis to avoid disappointment by having long waits or not being able to get a table. In regards to the lifts being confusing, I will work with the team to make this easier for our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We loved skycity. Something is always happening in the lobby. Great casino upstairs. The skytower is amazing. This is the heart of the CBD, on the corner of Federal and Victoria. Intercity bus terminal off the Wellesley side of the building. Also hop on and hop off bus stops here, dress mart shuttle stops in the front too. I would highly recommend this place to anyone in Auckland. Only thing missing is a pool but you can use facilities at the Grand Hotel if there aren't too many people.

Room Tip: high floors for a view
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Architha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Architha R,

Thank you so much for posting this lovely review about your recent stay with us at SKYCITY Hotel.

We are certainly very conveniently located being right in the heart of the city which makes it easy to get around. We are so pleased that you loved your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Atrium: The entrance into this hotel is via a grand entrance, atrium. The atrium gives you access to two sets of elevators, to the casinos or hotel rooms. There’s also the escalators down towards the sky tower entrance or to the casino & restaurants. The other side is the reception & concierge area. Check-in was quick and painless. They have an area for luggage storage too, very helpful.

Rooms: the room was clean, spacious & modern. Amenities included: desk, sofa, fridge, safe, iron & ironing board. Our thermostat wasn’t really working but the room was cool enough, 422. The bathroom design isn’t too smart. While in the shower, there’s only glass half the way, leaving plenty of room for the floor to get wet.

Breakfast: The weekend breakfast was held in Fortuna, buffet style. It offered the usual assortment: fake scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, pancakes/waffles, baked beans, roasted tomatos, undercooked bacon, hash browns, fruit, cereal & super strong coffee. During the week, breakfast is held at Andy’s Burger Bar, delicious as well.

Sky tower: After taking the escalator down, in the atrium, you can buy tickets in the souvenir shop. The price is $39 AD, this gives you access to the main observation deck (51st floor/622ft), Cafe & Sky Deck (60th floor, 722ft). The 53rd floor is were adrenaline junkies can bungee jump or walk around the platform.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Fonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Fonda W,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us at SKYCITY Hotel.

We certainly appreciate such detailed feedback and we are pleased that overall you had a good stay. Thank you also for the feedback about the air conditioning and glass in the shower, this will be passed on to our team to look into.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

What an Awesome night we enjoyed the city experience package and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting some time out. Dinner at orbit, room service breakfast valet parking. It made us very relaxed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Jimmy S,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at SKYCITY Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your night away with the City Experience package and that we could help you feel relaxed. It is great having a night away from home and letting us do the work for you!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The room was comfortable and very roomy. However, the bathroom supplies were very basic and there were no extra blankets in the cupboard. While I could adjust the room air conditioning that just makes sleeping uncomfortable. In saying that the hotel is very clean, well maintained and met expectations

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Sandra J,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

I am glad to hear that the room met expectations and you had a comfortable stay. We do have extra amenities and blankets available on request which can be delivered to your room. I apologise about the issues you experienced with the air conditioning.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews