We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practically Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest on Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest on Queen
Ranked #52 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We arrived early and the delightful girl on reception (trainee, wish I'd got her name) couldn't have been more helpful. She got our room ready within half an hour and called me to say we could check in. Great use of space, really useful to be able to wash and dry laundry, amazing views from balcony. One way to the harbour, the other to the tower. Yes you can hear noise at night but you're bang in the centre of the city. Bit a bit weird if you couldn't! Spotlessly clean and liked the way the bedroom could be totally separated from the living area. Only fault was no wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    59
    44
    20
    27
See reviews for
19
89
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite for one night in early March, 2012. The room was clean and quiet and we appreciated having the option of being able to cook and do our laundry. We also appreciated the late check-out and exceptionally professional and friendly staff. Many thanks Rachel. The only negatives would be an inability to connect to the internet and the room was slightly tired and in need or a do-over.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at Quest on Queen for one night during a layover. The Airbus Express stop is maybe a 1 min walk to Quest. Don’t expect a huge hotel entrance since Quest is actually apartments. I had pre-paid using Wotif so check-in was quick. I stayed in 11B. The room was a decent size with a separate bedroom with a sliding door. The room had a dual use washer/dryer but I didn’t use it since it was my last night. The bathroom had a good sized walk in shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. I did not experience any noise issues and did not use the provided ear plugs. The location is within walking distance of the Sky Tower, Viaduct Harbor, and Britomart. The White Lady burger wagon is right around the corner on Fort Street across from Nomad Backpackers. I used the key drop in the morning because I was catching an early Airbus.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Most recently stayed here during a brief trip to Auckland. My wife and I have stayed at Quest on Queen a couple of times. We usually choose this place over others as the room rates are good value and its location is very handy: It's close to the Viaduct, Britomart, and Queen St (heaps of bus stops on Queen St).

From my experience, I can't quite fault the service. They have always been helpful, friendly and professional. We usually arrive at night after the reception is closed and but it's so convenient to check ourselves in. There is a night manager who will let us in via the intercom.

The rooms are well equipped with white-wares, two hot plates, microwave, fridge, and all the usual kitchen knick-knacks. Most rooms have a balcony which makes it convenient for smokers or if you're wanting some fresh air. If you're high enough you might get a nice view of the harbour bridge.

The room we stayed in recently could do with an upgrade in the furniture. The lounge set is really worn and Quest on Queen have yet to upgrade to flatscreen LCDs.

I found it interesting that in this visit, the hotel provided us with 'ear plugs'. Yes, I agree that if you're unlucky enough and get a room which faces East it can be somewhat noisy in the weekend. I think the club have been there for a while...maybe even before the hotel. No excuse for them to be unreasonable and play loudly until 3 or 4 am though.

All in all, this place is really convenient especially if your'e looking for a quick couple's get-away trip. Room rates are good value and service is very friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid East-facing rooms as these are opposite the club and can be noisy in the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F1gar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Firstly the parking. If they do not have parking, which is very common, they will tell you to park in a secure car park next door. DON'T. The charge for the car park is $60 per day but if you stay overnight, as you do, it is regarded as two days and therefore $120 which is more than the cost of the hotel.

Other than the total lack of useful information from the staff, the rooms are fantastic value and the quality of the rooms do not suffer.

Room Tip: Park in a car park until 6pm and then park on the street using a meter. After 6pm the street parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at Quest on Queen on 2 (Fri) and 3 Deccember 2011. The first night was a nightmare with loud music from a bar at street level. We complaint to the duty manager at 11:30 pm and was told it will stop at 12:00pm. We were also told the motel was fully booked and therefore no other room could be offered. The noise get louder after midnight and and the response from the manager was she will check with the bar owner. It is only around 1:30pm she came back and offer another room at a lower level which managed to shielde off some of the loud music. I was really upset why she refused to change the room for us earlier. My friends who stayed at higher floor had to bear with the execessive noise until 4:00pm. I cannot see how they could rent out rooms with such high noise level. Actually,it was alreafy quite strange when we entered the room, they already turned on the room radio and two pairs of ear plugs were on the night table. They kind of anticipating their guests will be disturbed by the the loud music throughout the night. Fortunately, this did not repeat again the following night.

I will not recommend others to stay in this apartment as I was told there is no law to control noise at city centre of Auckland and this bounds to happen again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed at Quest for a week in November on a business trip. You cannot fault the location, a moments walk from PWC, viaduct and britomart - which are both great for restaurants and bars. Super convenient to the bus and train interchange as well, so a bus up to Mission Bay for an evening is easy. I loved that the unit had a laundry and basic kitchen facilities, big time and cost saver. The bed was comfortable and the bedroom and living area could be closed off from one another. The city noise was fairly loud but they provided ear plugs in the room so it wasn't a drama. The decor was a little tired, though it sounds as though some rooms may have been updated and not others. For the convenience and proximity to great restaurants and bars would likely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#49 of 106 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Queen

Property: Quest on Queen
Address: 62 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest on Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Quest on Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Quest On Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing