We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Quest reputation”
Review of Quest on Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Queen
Ranked #54 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not up to Quest reputation”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Quest has a good reputation for valid reason. This 'Quest on Queen,' however, did not live up to that standard because of the external noise level. Located on Queen Street in central Auckland city, it would make so much sense for the windows to be double glazed. It was hard to accept that this hotel was offered under the Quest name without such a basic action by management to minimise the effects of noise from outside.
Sure, earplugs were supplied, but they just do not have the noise reducing effect needed to facilitate a good night's sleep.
We did call the noise control from the Council and they came promptly. By 2am Tuesday night the noise from a nearby hotel was curtailed. We felt let down by Quest as there was no warning about this high level of noise we were going to be subjected to by staying in the apartment.
Apart from noise, the staff were very good. The facilities were fine and things worked well in the hotel. It is very central. Stay here if you don't care about huge amounts of noise at night and want convenience.

Room Tip: Ask about reducing noise at night!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    62
    47
    23
    27
See reviews for
19
93
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

If you love crap commercial music blasted at Mack 10 till the wee hours of the morning from a backpackers hostel/nightclub then this is the place to stay. Now I'm a lover of all types of music and I understand the vibrancy of an inner city must be preserved but mixing Michael Jackson's 'Bad' to Karmins 'Acapella' is not only bad taste it's just poor DJing. After complaining that this was not the hotel experienced we had signed up for we were fobbed off with the comment that 'someone would come up it take a level reading of the noise'. In all reality would does that do? It's now midnight on a school night and most likely there is a drunk Scandinavian women being chatted up by some bloke from Wyoming to the tune of Macklemore. In rapping up do not stay at this hotel it will suck out your soul and you will wake up with the worst sleep you ever had.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and found our accommodation to be an excellent base for exploring Auckland. Our apartment was at the rear of the building and we had a wonderful view over Myers Park and the Sky Tower. The apartment was quiet, immaculate and had brilliant facilities. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts delicious. A very enjoyable relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a rear facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel has everything you want - it is close to the waterfront, casino, train station and shops. The apartments are on the small side - only good for two people - but they have everything - hob, oven, dishwasher, washer, dryer, tv, phone, fridge etc. The supermarket is just across the road and it is surrounded by high class shopping.
The bus from the airport stops right across the road. The bus is the cheapest transport from the airport - $29.00 return.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear of the building because there is a little noise from the nightlife on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevclark3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Third time I have stayed here, was the best price I could get in the CBD for that night because of the Auckland NRL Nines. The lady at reception was great in allowing me to check in my bag at 10am and luckily as check in would be closed before I would return she gave me my key and had my bag taken to the room, thanks this was a great service. The room I had did have a few minor maintenance issues but was clean, the bed was comfortable. The one thing I had forgot was the noise from the adjacent streets that are full of nightclubs, this would explain why there are earplugs next to the bed in the room ! A nice touch, but still the noise did keep my sleep somewhat disturbed. I think it would be best to stay here midweek when the nightclubs are not open. The other issue I had was that I could not get my key out of the lock(on the outside) fortunately the night person was still up and was able to assist. I have only given a very good rating because of the helpful lady at Reception. I would stay here again ony during the week if the rate was good, prefer other's in the CBD.

Room Tip: the higher the better away from the noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at Quest on Queen for 4 nights altogether, when we arrived we had a note left accompanied with some ear plugs "we understand that from time to time when you are in a new environment that new sounds can disturb your sleep, we are happy to offer you a little help". It didn't become clear until that night why.

Our bedroom was 5 floors above a club and it was so loud that you could make out every lyric even with the uncomfortable ear plugs in. Didn't get much sleep for the next 4 nights, I would suggest if they are going to put people in the rooms that overlook the back of this club they warn people in advance or invest in some better ear plugs!! We were given no warning and of course paid the same as other people staying in the front facing rooms. I can see there are other reviewers who have this same experience. Not a very pleasant holiday considering it was spent in a very sleep deprived state.

Also when room service/cleaning came they took away our flannels/towels and didn't replace them! Had to call reception (which was closed) and request more.

Good location in Queen Street though, close to shops, waterfront, transport and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are staying there make sure you have a room overlooking queen street (we were in room 5a).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Located not too fars walk sown hill from auckland's down town this elevated building offers good value for those wanting extra room and kitchen.
Located opposite good and cheap Japanese eating houses.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,964 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#53 of 115 in Auckland
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Queen

Property: Quest on Queen
Address: 62 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest on Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Quest On Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing