We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, very nice apartments”
Review of Quest on Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Queen
Ranked #54 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Awesome location, very nice apartments”
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Stayed in 2007 for 4 nights. The hotel was just recently refurbished when we stayed and the place was very clean and fresh. There aren't any hotel facilities given they're apartments but we didn't need that which was why we stayed. The room had a separate bedroom with queen sized bed plus a living room with kitchen and nice balcony overlooking Queen Street. Finish was modern and all appliances were new. Has individual air conditioning which was great considering how sticky Auckland can get in summer. Bathroom was modern and fresh and the shower was really great too. The best thing is the location and the modern new finish for the price - very good value..

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    62
    47
    23
    27
See reviews for
19
93
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I was all geared up for an average experience based on the other reviews. And an average experience is what I got. On the up side, the cost is excellent, and the rooms are kept clean. But then comes the buts and lots of them.
But 1: The location is excellent, but the building across the road is still being built (seems like it is being built as snails pace), and there is a nightclub and backpacker places downstairs. You do hear the boom boom noise at night and we were on the top level.
But 2: The car park is VERY tight. I don't know how I can stress this enough. If you hire a car make it a very small one (unless you are a confident driver) otherwise you might be paying excess on the car.
But 3: We had an extra bed put in the room and noticed that the blind was missing. We notified reception, who were very polite, apologized and they said they would have it fixed by the following day. Five days later it still wasn't fixed and as they were all booked out we couldn't move room. I was greeted every morning at around 6 with sun on my face.
But 4: The reception was so hot!!!!! There was no cooling down there and I know you only walk through it to get to the lift, but it was an uncomfortable heat!!
But 5: On a public holidays and sundays they do not service the rooms. As 3 of our days were not serviced, we felt a bit ripped off as we weren't told in advance which left us with dirty towels for use the following day.
I found that at the end of my stay the people in reception had mastered the art of apologizing (must be what they do day in and day out). Overall though these buts wouldn't stop me from staying here as it was excellent value and after seeing what other accommodation is around, you can't beat the location.

  • Liked — Cost
  • Disliked — Apartments not serviced on public holidays and sundays
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank QA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Canterbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We booked for 4 nights and after the 1st night asked to be moved as we were directly opposite a new building being built, so it was very noisy and we couldn't use the balcony or keep curtains open as there was no privacy from the workmen across the road.

The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and moved us to what we thought was a much quieter room.
We didn't find out until around 10pm that we were, what sounded like, next to at least one nightclub so had thumping music and the noise of revellers all night.
Didn't get any sleep the entire time we were there and wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob62Canterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bchapman23
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Booked accomodation for 7 nights, checked out after three. Arrived late and walked into room to find a large pink neon sign ouside my balcony and bedroom. Even with blockout blinds my room was still pick all night!
Staff at front desk was helpful the next morning and I moved to another room which was meant to be the only other one avaliable. This room had been smoked in. The very strong smell and burn holes in the furnature was evidence of this. The Staff advised that i had a choice of the pink room or the smoked room! Being a non smoker this was not ideal, checked out after 3 nights and was charged cancellation fee of one nights accomodation.
The property is in a great location and staff are great. However for a property that is quite new in Auckland, it need to be improved if it expects to keep its 4 Star rating.

BC from Australia

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

We recently stayed three days at this property prior to embarking on a cruise. We enjoyed the convience of staying on Queen Street and the close walking proximity to the Viaduct and Explorer Bus.
The bed was comfortable and we like the fact that the bedroom was separated by a sliding door from the rest of the living space. This was convient when my husband wanted to sleep in and I had work to do on the computer in the living room.
The washer/dryer came in handy, as we were traveling around North Island the previous five days. The water pressure in the shower was the best we have seen. The small kitchen was well stocked with the necessary utensils. The hotel provided us with breakfast packs every morning. We enjoyed the cereal, toast, juice and coffee prior to our day sightseeing.
Previous comments on the noise are correct. While we expected the normal big city noise, a large building is in the process of being consruction across the street. We would only hear construction noise during the day (8-5), which did not bother us as we were out and about the city.
We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay again. We received a great value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scubarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Stayed here in early December 2007.

Didn't get off to a good start because the airport shuttle bus driver dropped me off at the wrong Quest apartments resulting in a 10 minute walk along very busy Queen st, dragging luggage.
However that had nothing to do with the Hotel. Check in was easy and the receptionist was very bright & helpful. My room was exactly what I expected with queen bed, dishwasher, washing machine etc.
and a balcony with a great view of Queen st ( I could see where I'd walked with my luggage lol )

The next morning dawned very, very early with the construction site next door starting at 7.00am. I don't mind this time normally, but not when I'm on holiday.

This combined with the night sounds of a CBD hotel anywhere in the world didn't make for a good sleep.

If you are looking for a convenient place to stay in the heart of Auckland, this is the place for you. If you want peace & quiet, stay somewhere else

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JaayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We stayed at Quest on Queen between June 10-13, 2007 and would highly recommend it!

Having read some mixed reviews earlier on the net, I was prepared for certain things! However, barring the after reception hours check-in process which needs to be better, the stay was really a delightful experience.

The apartments are modern, well put together and well serviced. It was a pleasure to have fresh towels every day, a cleaned room and replenished supplies. The location is excellent and the value is very competitive.

Ngawai Walden, the General Manager, adds her warmth and helpfulness to the experience, making it one we remember with a great deal of fondness!

-Priya Sarkar

  • Liked — The location and amenities
  • Disliked — The after-hours check-in process
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,962 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#53 of 114 in Auckland
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Queen

Property: Quest on Queen
Address: 62 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest on Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Quest On Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing