We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in central auckland”
Review of Quest on Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Queen
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Stayed in this hotel before flying home after touring round New Zealand

Central location, comfortable room with small kitchen, washing maschine & tumble dryer. Complimentary continental breakfast in room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandraandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Quest on Queen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2009

This hotel is right next to the infamous White House Gentleman's Club on Queen St and I was expecting it to be a bit tawdry and rundown. The interior of the rooms won't win any awards but it was pretty good. I was on the 14th floor facing west so had a nice view, Comfortable bed. Good sized bathroom though the fluoro light sounded like it might explode when it was warming up. Shower was a plastic corner unit without much water pressure. The best thing was the two individually wrapped Tim Tam cookies that were provided free of charge - the way mini bars operate these days a normal hotel would charge $3,00 a cookie. So they get extra marks for making an effort. It's a good choice if you've got meetings at the top end of Queen St or are attending something at the Town Hall.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Me and my mum were suposed to stay there for 3 days, checked out afta 2! From square 1, it is hard to get 2, especially if u hav a car and arrive afta 5pm. The carpark had no lights at all, and is soooo tight. As i was traveling to the states, i had alot of bags, as did my Mum. We were not impressed when we found out the elevator didnt work and we were on the 6 floor! Had to walk down the whole building in pitch black. Parking at $20 a nyt, is rediculous. Ther was mould all through the bathroom and the noise at night makes for a bad sleep. We asked to move to another car park as my flight was early morning and wuda of been difffcult without any light at all. The business said there was no other car parks, even though ther was 1 acros from their car park. So we asked for our last nights money back moved to a much more accomodating business. All up - Neva stay with this organisation!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicedew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

VERY IMPRESSED. I had a 2 week stay in Auckland and found QoQ to be excellent. Excellent Location at waterside end of Queen St, but NOT noisey and easy to close windows use the the very quiet and efficient aircon. (Not sure why other ppl reporting noise and light problems, my room was overlooking queen st was right next door to the red neon "mercure" sign, but no problems at all. Good facilities neat kitchenette with neat mini dishwaher, wash mc and dryer etc - all you could need. Free Internet (wired connection, no wifi). Staff helpful re taxis and travel etc.
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Stayed in 2007 for 4 nights. The hotel was just recently refurbished when we stayed and the place was very clean and fresh. There aren't any hotel facilities given they're apartments but we didn't need that which was why we stayed. The room had a separate bedroom with queen sized bed plus a living room with kitchen and nice balcony overlooking Queen Street. Finish was modern and all appliances were new. Has individual air conditioning which was great considering how sticky Auckland can get in summer. Bathroom was modern and fresh and the shower was really great too. The best thing is the location and the modern new finish for the price - very good value..

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seamus_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I was all geared up for an average experience based on the other reviews. And an average experience is what I got. On the up side, the cost is excellent, and the rooms are kept clean. But then comes the buts and lots of them.
But 1: The location is excellent, but the building across the road is still being built (seems like it is being built as snails pace), and there is a nightclub and backpacker places downstairs. You do hear the boom boom noise at night and we were on the top level.
But 2: The car park is VERY tight. I don't know how I can stress this enough. If you hire a car make it a very small one (unless you are a confident driver) otherwise you might be paying excess on the car.
But 3: We had an extra bed put in the room and noticed that the blind was missing. We notified reception, who were very polite, apologized and they said they would have it fixed by the following day. Five days later it still wasn't fixed and as they were all booked out we couldn't move room. I was greeted every morning at around 6 with sun on my face.
But 4: The reception was so hot!!!!! There was no cooling down there and I know you only walk through it to get to the lift, but it was an uncomfortable heat!!
But 5: On a public holidays and sundays they do not service the rooms. As 3 of our days were not serviced, we felt a bit ripped off as we weren't told in advance which left us with dirty towels for use the following day.
I found that at the end of my stay the people in reception had mastered the art of apologizing (must be what they do day in and day out). Overall though these buts wouldn't stop me from staying here as it was excellent value and after seeing what other accommodation is around, you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank QA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We booked for 4 nights and after the 1st night asked to be moved as we were directly opposite a new building being built, so it was very noisy and we couldn't use the balcony or keep curtains open as there was no privacy from the workmen across the road.

The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and moved us to what we thought was a much quieter room.
We didn't find out until around 10pm that we were, what sounded like, next to at least one nightclub so had thumping music and the noise of revellers all night.
Didn't get any sleep the entire time we were there and wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank Bob62Canterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
#43 of 67 in Auckland Central
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland Central
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
#20 of 67 in Auckland Central
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#16 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 128 in Auckland Central
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Queen

Address: 62 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £82 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest on Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Quest On Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing