We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leen,"Disappointing Management"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments
Ranked #10 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leen,"Disappointing Management"”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Meet & Greet managers were extremely rude & abrupt. All the freebies as stated by our rude manager are usually supplied ( tea, coffee, milk & washing powder.) by most complexes.Bottle of wine was a nice touch........considering
One would think that on the confirmation email on the first page info it would state that there is no reception area in BIG BOLD WRITTING. We have never struck in all our travels a complex without a reception area.
The apartment was very noisy until early morning due to bands playing music.
The apartments were positioned close to many restaurants & city centre & transit centre was in walking distance.
Customer service sure has a lot to be disered.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Owner at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
This review is a copy of the one 2 below. It is unfortunate that these guests did not read either of our two emails to them. Our simple procedure is to call us on our free call number on arrival. We have had 1000s of guests arrive with no problem, some have very little English. Unlike a hotel we do not have a 24hr reception which we clearly point out in our confirmation email. We treat our guests in a professional and friendly manner as other reviews will show. It sounds like they think we are ideally located, enjoyed the bubbly, chocolates and their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    45
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
71
111
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We travelled from Aussie after many emails to and fro- and arrived in a Taxi to the address Shed 24 listed on the first page of the Booking Sheet. We were staying 3 Nights in a two bedroom apartment with another couple. On arrival there was no one there-all doors locked and no Reception ? No One to ask ? ( It was mid afternoon on a Friday) After walking the entire length of the building twice with luggage, we found a small sign on the door, saying Security. Luckily one of the four of us had a phone that worked in NZ, and I rang and got Security, who informed me - He had no information on anyone coming in that day?? He offered to ring the Managers? Somewhere? A short time later , a lady arrived, very abrupt, not at all apologetic about us being greatly inconvenienced, for over an hour, and promptly informed us ," we should of read the fine print on page two about ringing from the airport." We have travelled extensively , world wide and generally only print Page one, ( to much paper work for all the different locations we were staying at) of all the information-with details of where we are staying, address, and Booking number- At no time in the emails had we been advised about phoning from the airport. We had planned to see Reception on arrival to arrange a Hire Car the following day, and arrange an additional booking for our return to Auckland 10 days later. We had also hoped to talk to reception about transport to and from the V8 Racing the next day - As there was no reception- we were left High and Dry!!! That Night ! The Apartment was very nice, very clean and apply fitted out - it was noisy two nights- (Obviously bands playing close by till after 3am ) The position was very good, close to unlimited restaurant, shops etc. The customer service leaves a lot to be desired!!

Room Tip: Make sure you read the fine print !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Owner at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
It is unfortunate that these guests did not read either of our two emails to them. Our simple procedure is to call us on our free call number on arrival. We have had 1000s of guests arrive with no problem, some have very little English. Unlike a hotel we do not have a 24hr reception which we clearly point out in our confirmation email. We treat our guests in a professional and friendly manner as other reviews will show. It sounds like they think we are ideally located, enjoyed the bubbly, chocolates and their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was fantastic accommodation from start to finish.

A quick call en-route from the airport ensured Graham and Alison knew we were due to arrive. After which they showed us around the apartments and answered any questions we had.

We were in Shed 24 for 4 nights (Tuesday to Friday inclusive) and experienced no noise or disturbance at all. The apartments were extremely well maintained, large and had a fantastic balcony. As others have said there was tea, coffee, milk and cereal – not forgetting the bottle of bubbles that went down really well :-)

Really good to have a washer (powder provided!) and a drier, along with proper satellite TV rather than the fuzzy mess you get in hotels.

In terms of location it was equally superb. Easy walking to restaurants and bars and a fantastic view across the harbour basin - 2 weeks later and we’d have had a perfect view of Wills and Kate sailing in the harbour!

We were boarding a cruise ship and it was just a matter of wheeling the cases a few yards across the wharf and hand them to the baggage handlers – couldn’t be easier.

Unless you’re on a tight budget I can’t think why anyone would stay anywhere other than here when in Auckland.

One point – not all rooms have air conditioning. If that’s important to you (it wasn’t to us being March) mention it when booking.

Room Tip: Shed 24 is the furthest from any bars in terms of noise. Not all rooms have aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nijh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Owner at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review and glad you were very happy guests. We waved to Wills and Kate from our apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Three girls recently rented a three bed apartment for three nights for the Big Day Out. What a super find! Extremely spacious and very luxurious. Huge balcony, swiping views of the harbour and 5 min walk to the viaduct. 8 mins to the Wynyard Quarter (which by the way, has amazing restaurants to stroll through).
Host were very friendly on arrival.
Would not hesitate to recommend these apartments to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMarriedWtgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Owner at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi there, glad you enjoyed things here. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently stayed in a 2 bed, 1 bath apartment with 2 young children and had a most enjoyable Easter break. As far as location goes you couldn't ask for anything better, stunning views of the harbour and surrounding Viaduct, fantastic nightscapes. We dined out on the Wynyard Quarter which was a short stroll on the viaduct but out of the way of the usual weekend hubbub. The Wynyard Quarter also had a great playground for the kids to enjoy which is quite a find in the CBD. Supermarket a 10 minute walk down the road with everything else a stone's throw from Princes Wharf. The apartment was impeccably presented with neutral modern decor, bathroom on the smaller side but would rather scrimp on space there and have it in the living area which was more than enough for a family of 4. There was a bit of noise from the bars and restaurants directly below our rooms later in the evenings but we just shut the bedroom windows and drew the blackout drapes which prevented us from being disturbed. The only thing that might put some people off was the lack of airconditioning. It was quite humid over Easter but we just kept the doors and windows open for as long as we could to circulate air. Not sure how it would be though in the heat of summer. Thanks Graeme and Allison for a great weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Owner at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. Sounds like you would be back and glad we exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was perfect for us. We were there for just over 2 weeks and it provided a great base, in a superb location.

The apartment was spotlessly clean and well decorated in a light and modern way. The bed was very comfortable and despite the close proximity to restaurants and bars, it was really quiet and despite jet lag, we slept very well there. There are good facilities in the apartment so we were able to have a couple of meals there.

We will definitely try to stay at the Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments next time we visit our friends and family in Auckland. We were really sad to leave!

Room Tip: We were in Apartment 3 on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Owner at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that your two week stay felt like a 'home away from home'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent 4 nights in May 2010. The apartment was very nice - very well equipped, clean, lovely view. Very central location. The hosts made our experience very pleasant. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF&PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Owner at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are grateful for your comments. We are hope you can return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments

Property: Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments
Address: Shed 24, Prince's Wharf | 143 Quay Street, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self contained apartment accommodation with fabulous harbour views at Prince's Wharf, right on Auckland's waterfront - the perfect hotel alternative. Minimum 3 night stay.All apartments have fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge/freezer, oven, microwave, toaster and tea/coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi Internet, telephone, television, CD player/radio, cooling fan, heater, auto washer, clothes drier, iron and balcony with outdoor furniture. Secure on site car parking available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing