We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a backpackers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“More than just a backpackers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Very central to CBD with lots of information available. Its most outstanding feature is the staff who round the clock provide friendly helpful service. Would definitely be back again. Brilliant facilities extremely clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thanks for your comments about the staff, they try really hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We hope to see you again on your next travels to Auckland. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    213
    53
    11
    6
See reviews for
44
158
160
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wonderfully professional and friendly staff who will go the extra mile. Have stayed on several occasions and I believe you wouldn't get better value for money anywhere else in Central Auckland. Handy to CBD and a mere 50 cent bus ride to the city hub. Shared kitchen facilities in the basement area fantastic. Beds really comfortable and sanitised.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several different floors and no complaints at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyGPalmerstonNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we post all comments on our staff notice board and I'm sure the staff will be very proud of this one. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed 2 months in City Lodge and I have never seen the bad things, location ( just 5 minutes from sky tower by walking) , staff , kitchen everything was very well. But tv size is very too small and old technology but if you want you can watch in the kitchen .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cankutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback, in regards to the TV's all Double, Queen, Twin, Triple and Quad rooms have been upgraded to a new 32' Flat Screen TV. The single rooms are scheduled to be upgraded in October 2013. Best regards Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Not sure why it is listed as backpacker accommodation, more like a hotel....great staff, spotless rooms, walking distance to CBD. More like mini apartments ! Shared kitchen is huge, and laundry facilities great. Internet ridiculously expensive, but that is a NZ wide problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adsceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback, we hope to see you again when next in Auckland. Regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at City Lodge. The staff are really friendly and helpful and it is really clean. The kitchen area is a really good size so even if it's really busy there is plenty of space to cook. The rooms are a good size and are cleaned really well.

Really good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated and I will ensure they are posted on the staff notice board. We also believe City Lodge is great value for money, once guests stay with us they often become regular customers because of the comments you also refer too. Best regards and thanks again for posting your feedback. Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed only a night here but wouldn't mind staying longer. We stayed in 2 bunk bed room which accommodates 4 persons. They have fresh white linen which was a first sign of cleanliness. It has the basic necessities but the bonus was having a TV in your room which most hostel type accommodations don't have.

Staff were friendly especially Krishna who was very helpful and informative.

If you want to save money and be close to Queen Street, this place is highly recommended. The convenience store right across the road was also a plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for your comments about Krishna, he works hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. I will ensure he gets a pat on the back and a small token of appreciation for your comments. We hope to see you again at City Lodge, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I booked a single room with a private ensuite. They upgraded me to a double for free, which was cool. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. Room was small, but it was exactly what I saw in the picture so I expected it, and for the price it was perfect. Will be back... at the weekly rate it's a really really good place to hang out for a bit while searching for a job in Auckland if you want some privacy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank yeahiknow1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our house keeping team work really hard to ensure the rooms are always well presented and cleaned to the highest standard, best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a 5-star Qualmark Backpacker rating, City Lodge is outstanding when it comes to convenience, quality, and value-for-money accommodation in Auckland. Located in a quiet tree-lined street and just 5 minutes walk to central Auckland, City Lodge offers a real ‘home away from home’ experience. Every room has a private ensuite, fridge, TV and tea/coffee making facilities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. City Lodge is well appointed and offers a clean and safe environment, 24-hour reception, Security door system and CCTV. The choice of rooms extends to Single, Standard Double, Superior Queen, Twin, Triple and Quad. Additional purpose-built facilities include a spacious guest lounge and well appointed communal kitchen. With on-site parking available (charges apply/bookings recommended), City Lodge is perfect for budget-conscious business travellers, family holiday stays, or world travellers wanting a high quality yet affordable experience. All daily rooms are serviced daily and have features such as large windows and Wi-Fi/broadband access (charges apply). Our communal lounge includes a big screen TV, book exchange, table tennis, and board games for relaxing or socializing with other travellers; we also have full laundry facilities on-site (charges apply). Our helpful, friendly staff can arrange tours, car hire, transfers or simply let you know what’s on in Auckland. Ask about our latest newsletter… What’s more, our clean, green, limited-service philosophy has recently been endorsed with a Qualmark Silver Environmental rating accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing