We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. It is very clean with everything you need. It is either a 10 minute walk to the Viaduct or a short taxi ride. You can walk to Queen Street easily. I always try and get parking but can usually manage to get something on the street if the car parking available it full. The staff are always lovely and helpful. Thoroughly recommend City Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to complete this feedback. We invest in our staff and building to ensure maximum guest satisfaction. So pleased you enjoy staying with us. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    216
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
162
162
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hostel provides reasonably priced accommodation in a very central location. Everything is well catered for and the location really was the clincher. I can recommend them and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi and thanks for sharing your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hostel is clean, full facilities (kitchen, laundry, etc), well-equipped room (although small). Staff is very helpful and friendly. Location is close to city-centre. Best hostel I've stayed so far. A little loud if your room is on the street side and the walls are thin that you hear everything happening beside you.

Room Tip: High floor and quiet side of the hotel for a more peaceful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nieuw_Yorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thanks for sharing your views on City Lodge, we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stay was good. Service staff were awesome. They were willing to go the extra mile for whatever you require.
Only issue I had was the toilet that kept flushing by itself. Staff tried to solve issue but problem remained.
Overall it was a good stay.

Do note that hostel is located on top of a hill, so if you have any elderly with you, it might not be a good idea.

It takes approx 15 minutes to stroll to the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbyquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi and thanks for sharing your feedback. Not sure about the self flushing toilet I will check with our maintenance department to make sure this has been fixed. Could be offered as a great selling feature as a no hands required toilet but a bit wasteful on water... Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Auckland. Regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've spent 4 nights in the City Lodge by the end of May 2014. It's a pretty close to Queens St. and K-Road so you can walk there. We had a superior double room which was small but not too small. The accomodation is designed in a good functional way and was very clean and tidy. It was also nice to have a waterheater for the coffee and tea provided as well as a fridge in the room, which was really comfortable. We have used the very well equipped kitchen for cooking in the basement and the laundry. The staff is very professional and always ready to help. We would come back if we are looking for a place in Auckland. The only thing which was disturbing was the noise from the streets around. In the night it was quite loud. Probably its not easy to finde a place without noise in the middle of town (therefore only 4 stars) Thank you for the pleasant stay!

Room Tip: There are some rooms bigger than the other. Probably the superior rooms (read it on the website). I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Great to hear you will stay with us again and thanks for sharing your feedback. Hope you enjoyed your holiday in Auckland. Regards Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Finding city lodge was easy after getting the bus from the airport after a long flight from the uk.
City lodge is within walking distance from the busy queens road, auckland but is on quite a long steep hill for those who like walking its fine, although you could get a bus.
The hostel it's self is very clean and the staff were always on hand with any questions that you may have.
This place was so pleasant that on our return to auckland we didn't look at any where else to stay and went straight there. I would recommend booking the bigger of the double bedrooms if you're travelling with large suitcases

Room Tip: Choose the bigger of the double rooms, especially if travelling with large suitcases
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilly1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your feedback, I hope you have a great holiday on Auckland. Regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

was impressed with the professional approach the staff took. Being a wheelchair user, finding accommodation can be difficult and applaud the City Lodge for being upfront about their facilities, what they could offer and what may be a challenge. the access was great and the room was comfortable.

would definitely recommend this to anyone that is traveling to Auckland wants somewhere to stay that is close to town but not overly expensive

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Great to hear you had such an enjoyable time staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future, Best regards Glenn Gairdner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a 5-star Qualmark Backpacker rating, City Lodge is outstanding when it comes to convenience, quality, and value-for-money accommodation in Auckland. Located in a quiet tree-lined street and just 5 minutes walk to central Auckland, City Lodge offers a real ‘home away from home’ experience. Every room has a private ensuite, fridge, TV and tea/coffee making facilities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. City Lodge is well appointed and offers a clean and safe environment, 24-hour reception, Security door system and CCTV. The choice of rooms extends to Single, Standard Double, Superior Queen, Twin, Triple and Quad. Additional purpose-built facilities include a spacious guest lounge and well appointed communal kitchen. With on-site parking available (charges apply/bookings recommended), City Lodge is perfect for budget-conscious business travellers, family holiday stays, or world travellers wanting a high quality yet affordable experience. All daily rooms are serviced daily and have features such as large windows and Wi-Fi/broadband access (charges apply). Our communal lounge includes a big screen TV, book exchange, table tennis, and board games for relaxing or socializing with other travellers; we also have full laundry facilities on-site (charges apply). Our helpful, friendly staff can arrange tours, car hire, transfers or simply let you know what’s on in Auckland. Ask about our latest newsletter… What’s more, our clean, green, limited-service philosophy has recently been endorsed with a Qualmark Silver Environmental rating accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing