We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ate until we popped”

POKPOK Thai Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #441 of 2,235 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
589 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ate until we popped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We came in a group of 10 for a celebration dinner.
Although it looks small it can fit quite a few people as there were other patrons over the night including us.
Unlike most places, the menu here is quite small with a few items to choose from. However everything on the menu sounded really good that choices were still hard to make.
Our corner of the table decided to order food to share. Between the three of us we ordered 3 entrees, 4 mains and 3 desserts, and all for around $40 each.
All the dishes were made well. You could taste the different flavours of each dish and tasted like what you would expect after reading it fro the menu. Everything was delicious but the best item was the coconut ice cream that came with the sticky rice dessert. They do BYO at $3 pp.

The only downside was the time it took to get our food. Because we were a big group, they sent out the entrees first and catered for the newer customers as we enjoyed those. They did send all the mains out at the same time, which was no mean feat due to the variations in the food we ordered.

Would really like to come back to try and taste everything on the menu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acineto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
295 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“We returned the next night.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The title to this review says everything. Further, the meal on our second night was even better - we enjoyed the Coconut Chilli Crab and Green Curry Chicken and they complemented each other perfectly. Alex the owner went out of his way to make us feel welcome and to ensure that we enjoyed our meal. We compare this to some of the best Thai we have eaten at and it is our favourite food option.

An important note too....... this is a BYO restaurant so that you can enjoy you favourite wines with the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicknSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Raced home to write the review...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I generally avoid Thai food in NZ.

Over the years our conservative palate has changed the sort of tastes you would normally experience on the streets of Bangkok. It seems all you can get on some menus is a variety of coconut based sauces, liberally laced with sugar.

Not so at PokPok. Tucked away down K'Rd, this is an absolute gem and I loathe having to share it with the world.

We visited yesterday, walking in early from a bleak, wet night to be welcomed by the friendliest waiter we have encountered in a long time. Smiles, humour and most importantly our wine appeared a few minutes later. We felt pretty special and this before the food had even arrived.

And so onto the food. We opted for the small plates, sharing some stunning tastes all beautifully presented with very fresh, clean flavours. Our bill of a mere $51 covered 2 glasses of wine, caramelised pork belly, crisy duck spring rolls with tamarind, Asian greens wok-fried with garlic oyster sauce and coconut soft-shell crab.

What can I say? We booked to return in a couple of nights time with friends...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PippaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't pass this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I can understand anyone passing this little gem on the K road. The opaque glass doors and the canteen like decor could put you off. Don't be. The food and the service inside are fabulous. Definitely not the normal Thai experience it uses those glorious flavours in a medley of tastes. Every dish had its distinct character. Go in a party of four and order four different dishes for a banquet that is hard to surpass. If you can do the same with the four desserts on offer and you will leave with your tastebuds tingling with delight. What a find.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gibbs_newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed POKPOK Thai Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to POKPOK Thai Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing